Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SLAM_SHIFT

by Udell Games - Jam Entry

​Pilot the prototype SLAM_SHIFT rocket through devilish tunnels and waves of enemies. Shift between rocket mode for maximum speed and manoeuvrability and the SLAMMER - an uncontrollable ball of bouncing destruction - to wipe out your enemies!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#272Fun(Jam)3.43
#320Innovation(Jam)3.31
#469Overall(Jam)3.31
#530Theme(Jam)3.37
#548Graphics(Jam)3.31
#565Mood(Jam)3.08

Comments

BrianSChung says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:33am

It's quite difficult, but I like it!

Anikki says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:28am

I never felt I had adequate control. The instadeath was no fun... could use some juice. Physics felt unnatural/arbitrary and made it hard to get into any form of "flow".

roman9 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:50am

Awesome game! nice concept. Audio needs to keep playing through death but once getting the hang of it I enjoyed it.

WeirdMind says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:44am

Very Difficult but its very funny :)

WitchBoys says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:37am

hard game! But nice graphics and sound. The idea is good too!
Maybe you can show more that the game is a 2D side camera. At the begining I thought it was top-down camera and I didn't get it why you get attraction.

wumpus says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:19pm

It feels like a complete game (not something made in a weekend) which is great. I like the switching between craft and ball modes. However I really struggled with the control of the craft and was constantly restarting. I think a few tweaks to handling and camera could make all the difference.

kariamoss says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Good concept but it's too difficult

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Wow... good mechanic and good controls. I like the music combinated with the gameplay. Nice!

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Difficult, twitchy, frantic.... fantastic!

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:14am

Very challenging game, mainly due to the controls. The zoom and blur effects got to my eyes after a while. Great concept though.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:00pm

It would be great with a little bit more drifting physics added to it

TiByte says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Very nice game! The rocket looks like a pencil^^ The music isn't working in the "GAME OVER" Screen. It's just cracking on my headphones.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:39am

This is interesting, the tank controls took a bit to get used to but i enjoyed the challenge they presented. Turning into a ball and keeping the momentum is quite clever, too. I didn't notice there was a timer and was a bit disappointed when it went off though, maybe a separate mode without it could be fun. Nice work!

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:19pm

This is a nice one. The controls feel very intiutive and direct. The core mechanics (like physics, movement and collision detection) work very well. Music and graphics are also very nice. Keep on

flummox3d says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Difficult, but fun. Nice work! :)

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:01pm

It's a bit difficult but possible. I like how intuitive is the game. Levels are made to show concepts and then it's very hard...

I like the differents killers you made, black and white walls. I really like white walls like mini golf.

Level design is good! (shortcuts, black way, etc.).

Good job!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Really cool game. Difficult as hell, and I really don't think I needed the added pressure of the time limit. It confused me when I spontaneously died immediately after restarting the checkpoint. Could also use an indicator of which way you're "facing" when in ball mode so that you can get ready to accelerate or not when reverting to ship mode. Probably don't need to restart the music on every death. I feel like I heard the first 2 seconds about 50 times. :-) Love the minimalistic graphics (the trail in particular). Great job with the theme: both modes are required and play differently. Overall, I had a good amount of fun and really like this entry.

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Hard to beat, fun to play!

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:14pm

It took me a long time, but I eventually was able to beat it. I love the idea and all of the mechanics were really awesome. The wall bouncing ball was fun to use! My only complaint is that the game was super hard to beat. It became frustrating to repeatedly die at the same part of the level. If you made the game a little easier I think it would be more enjoyable to play!
Well done!

Ardy says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Really nice little game. Some things that could be improved:
- Maybe the ship is turning too fast, I don't know. Sometimes it was too hard to control
- The music really need to keep playing thought death, this way not only we get to listen to the whole song and not the same start over and over again as it doesn't "break" too much the flow.
- The checkpoint could save the direction you're going when saving, this way you don't respawn in the default position. This is specially annoying in any parts that you need to go backwards as it adds unecessary turning.

But I really liked the idea and how you used the different shapes. The music is nice even if I couldn't listen to all of it. The graphs are really simple and neat. Nice game!

gelisam says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:48pm

The brutal difficulty wouldn't be so bad if I felt in control of the character.

neilcorre2k6 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:50pm

challenging, nice game! :D

May 1, 2016 @ 3:20pm

I like the mechanics, could use some polishing though

luckyy says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:25pm

I really liked the game-concept but it's too hard to control in my opinion.

May 1, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Well, I got to a point where I would die immediately after respawning, but until then it was pretty fun. Hard, but fun, and clever. Nice work, and congrats on finishing!

rodobodolfo says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:19am

I really liked it, it was challenging! The camera was too far sometimes and the bright background made me stop playing after a while, but maybe because my weak eyes...

ciaodavinci says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:27am

Hey this was pretty cool. It would be nice if the music would continue to play when you die instead of starting over.

jofra says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:02pm

Very challeging game! awesome work!

geekguy100 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 9:12pm

I really like the graphics. Pretty challening, but overall nice job!

DeltaNegative says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Really hard to control, but quite a nice idea, and I adore the design and music ;)

May 4, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Brilliant, I love the physics you used and the zoomey velocity camwera

Gamepopper says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:22pm

This was quite fun yet really difficult, the ship is turns really quickly so it's easy to crash into the walls. I do like how the ball has no control yet is indestructible while the ship has full control but gets destroyed from one hit, I can see speed run strategies from this kind of game!

May 7, 2016 @ 11:27am

The difficulty is what makes this game fun, on of my favorites. Good job.

thebrainfuse says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:07am

Great graphics and music!... i think i encountered a bug in level 2 (or in general) where i restarted from a checkpoint multiple times, and the timer kept decreasing to 0, due to which i couldn't replay the game anymore.

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Like the concept and how hard it is. It's pretty polished so congrats! Really solid entry :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]