Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Shapes of the Druid

by BluShine - Compo Entry

The Shapes of the Druid is a puzzle game about a shapeshifting druid who can turn into animals. One day, the druid loses his ability to shift shapes. He must enter the forest and seek the shapes of balance to restore his original form.

Controls:
Move: WASD or arrow keys.
Shift shapes: shift or spacebar.
Reset level: R or X.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Innovation4.25
#27Theme4.25
#71Mood3.73
#93Graphics3.95
#155Overall3.65
#157Audio3.40
#313Fun3.35
#1902Coolness28%

Comments

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:33am

Thoroughly enjoyed the puzzles. The graphics is simple and I like the level end animations. Loved how things got interesting at Level 6. I have one issues with the controls where they cause me to sometimes overshoot my movement. Was slightly frustrating but the interesting puzzles kept me going.

Madball says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:49am

As simple as this game is, it was fun to play. I liked the graphics, too: even though there aren't a lot of drawings, there are cool looking effects of blocks shaking and shuffling.

The game was short, but it's a common thing for puzzle games in LD. I think later, bigger shapes wouldn't be useful, I completed most of the game as mouse. Also, looks like the wolf shape didn't make it into the final product, did it?

I found a bug in level 5: The top-left corner tile is actually(?) a solid block.

Garris says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:26pm

I really hate puzzles, but this game was super fun! It was challenging, but in a good way, and the music was really nice. The graphics were also really great! Cool game!

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:05am

Very interesting game.

deathray says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:24am

Ack! I got stuck on level 3. I don't really understand why I transform next to certain blocks or what I need to do to get to the next level. It's sad because I really enjoy the aesthetics and peacefulness of the game.

LeReveur says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:06pm

I really like the approach of this puzzle game. I would like to see levels after 7th, but I can't pass this one, it seems missing something - or I'm just really bad. ^^

BluShine says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:47am

Level 7 is quite tough, but it's definitely beatable. Don't worry, you aren't missing too much, there's only one more level after it :)

TheCain says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:16am

Very original. I like the puzzles.
I do think you should add a 'go back one turn' button, 'cause it's frustrating to have to restart the whole thing just for one move.
I did beat it though.

Phaix says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:28am

Great Game. Nicely done the theme with a different approach.

medidog says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:10am

Hard to learn the game at first levels but then really got used to it and loved to play it! Really nice use of the theme, well done!

dunin says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:52am

interesting concept and art
controls are a little strange (and hard because we don't have a "one step back" button, and often do too steps)...

jeroenwimmers says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:13pm

This was surprisingly fun, I'm surprised you didn't get more votes/comments. The graphics were the first thing I noticed and it's pretty unique. it also works nicely with the shifting of animals, which a lot of LD games did, but it feels artificial for most of them.

it doesn't look as good as a whole though. some colors seem off and gameplay-wise it's hard distinct interactive from non-interactive.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]