Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Ooze

by Danman9914 - Compo Entry

In an ageless temple at the corner of the earth, a primordial Ooze sits waiting... Shift its shape to (gleefully) eliminate all trespassers.

The game should take around 5-15 minutes to complete. There is an ending so hang in there!

The controls of The Ooze are intended to be self evident when playing. If they aren't:
* Mouse - Select ooze sections
* WASD/Arrow Keys - Expand ooze section
* R - Reset level

Tools Used:
* Unity3D
* Photoshop
* Audacity
* Garage Band
* BFXR

vv All platform download links on itch.io vv

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood4.50
Overall4.63
Fun4.40
Coolness73%
#14Innovation4.29
#17Theme4.33
#20Audio4.10
#35Graphics4.26

Comments

AnotherZero says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:38am

11/10 IGN
5/7 PC Gamer
10/10 my Mom

It's good

Crown Games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:19am

Great game!

Broxxar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:21am

That spooky laugh is too spooky. I gave you a 1 on audio because it spooked me so good.

rosden shadow says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:24am

awesome game! good job!

Vantaug says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:50am

That was a lot of fun. Love how gleeful the monster is, the puzzle solving was fun.
The ending was really cool.
Good stuff man! :D

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:16am

Really really well done. Not only did you motivate me to stick with it til the end, but you also threw in a story, incorporated it in the game design and finished with a nice ending. One of the best entries I've seen so far.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:31am

Nice game, that black smoke reminds me of the black smoke from lost.

candlesan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:42am

Original gameplay! Well done.

tauntButtered says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:33am

It's perfect. My only complaint is that I have nothing to complain about. That was fun.

stephenhaney says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:57am

Whoa – totally blown away. This should top the leaderboards for sure. 5 stars across the board. It's all great, but I particularly enjoyed:
- the difficulty level was perfect (so hard to get right)
- awesome polish, graphics, audio all fit together
- fresh take and skin on a fun puzzle

Nailed it!

Robber says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:02pm

The Ooze takes all..dreadfully good game! new mechanics constantly introduced, great idea and execution (pun intended)!

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:03pm

This game is too good for words. Fortunately I'm so verbose I *transcend* mere words. Sound stopped working at one point but that could have been my PC's fault. This is an absolute genius puzzle mechanic and deserves to be on everybody's smart phone, laptop, iwatch, etc. I'm always in awe of people who invent original puzzle mechanics in LD entries but to do that and then go on and manage to design as many levels as you did is even more impressive. This is a potential winner for me.

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:02pm

wt.... xDDDD ok it's funny. Nice one. good idea, and good artwork.

sbeif says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Definitely the best so far. Well done!

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Great game! I loved the graphics and the art style in general.

TLansdale says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Great work - succeeding on all fronts. Really good entry, well done!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Very nice idea. Good LD puzzle games always amaze me. Well done!!

OU GDA says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:26am

FEAR ME MORTALS! FOR I AM THE OOZE!!!

dvdfu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:18am

DEFINITELY a favourite! The concept and puzzle design is very good, and it's immensely satisfying to complete levels. Plus, the ending and theme incorporation are fantastic. Good job!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:05am

Awesome entry! You made a great job with the puzzles on each level, and the sound effects were really creepy, they did a great job setting the mood.

Well done! :)

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Really good entry! The puzzles are maybe a little on the easy side, but still interesting. Showing the ooze conquering the world through the ages is a cool idea.

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:51am

Boom. Solid gameplay. Great setting/mood. Challenging puzzles. Rewarding kills. Fantastic. Thats how its done, great job

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:03am

10/10. Nice art style, well-designed mechanic.

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:24am

I gotta say, this is an excellent entry in every areas. Innovative and fun, and the graphics and audio are pretty adequate. Good job!

dunin says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:18am

Wow.
First, I didn't understand that it was turn-based but after I played a really cool puzzle game!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:31pm

I beat it ! Thanks for fulfilling my old dream of becoming the black mist in Lost :)
I loved the simple puzzle/turn based strategy. The difficulty ramps up just enough to keep the player interested. The audio kept me in the mood and focused till the end of the game. Good job !

Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Really neat game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/ZcRqGTT86gc

Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Easily ma favorite Compo Entry, dat Polish ! Theme-related in an awesome way, clever puzzles mechanics with nice level design and good innovation. Graphics, mood, sound design and aesthetics adds also a lot to the engagement. Well done.

Wan says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:31am

One of the best games I've played from this jam. Amazing 48 hours entry with interesting puzzles, solid graphics and animations, fitting audio, and an actual ending on top of that. Humbling!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:10pm

Very cool concept, the shadow made me think to Aku in samurai jack cartoon

Logun says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:22pm

More subtle than I though at start ! nice one :)

Acuity says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:32am

This was a really cool puzzle concept! I liked the different mechanics that were put in.

My screen turned white at the end, I think that might mean I beat the game? Overall really good!

Tex Killer says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:24pm

This game is amazing! I can't believe it was done by a single person in 48 hours! Congratulations!

The only comment I have is that I don't get if there are differences in behaviour between different enemy types. All of them seem to behave the same. That is not necessarily a problem, though! Great puzzles, very well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]