Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Stoopid Robats

by Gravedrinker - Jam Entry

You're a shape-shifting robot who got thrown out of a window by his boss - "Stoopid robats!" he yelled. "He took a shift on my desk!"



Fall for as long as you can, to show your boss where he can stick his opinion! It's time for one last hurrah.

Features:

Brain-twisting shapeshifting mechanic! Shift into the right shape to pass barriers!
Skull-obliterating powerup! Collect the "Skull Breaker" to turn into a massive murder-dispensing death machine!
Break your highscore and your neck!
Face-thumping electro soundtrack will pump spinal fluid out your eyes in no-time!


Controls:

Move left and right with arrow keys. Shift into different shapes with the 1 (square), 2 (triangle) and 3 (rectangle) keys.

Twitter: @Gravedrinker

Made for Ludum Dare 35 by Jonathan Reiss

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Graphics(Jam)4.63
#44Overall(Jam)4.00
#44Audio(Jam)4.00
#56Theme(Jam)4.10
#64Fun(Jam)3.87
#140Mood(Jam)3.72
#171Humor(Jam)3.35
#606Innovation(Jam)2.97
#1808Coolness32%

Comments

bluszcz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:18pm

I love everything :) Playability, idea, audio, gfx. Great great job, well done! Thanks for the web version! Nice sound motive :P Gonna hum ;)

blinry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Score: 30 :) Well-rounded game! It's a little hard to remember which button does which shape. Nice sound effects and graphics! Thanks for making this! SKULL BREAKER!!!

Willsr71 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Awesome, well rounded game. The only thing that was an issue was already mentioned, remembering what key was what shape.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Very smooth and beautiful :) nice work !

Ethan Allwood says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:44am

I love it! It is very similar to many others, however, out of all the games like this, I think this is the best. It has very good natural-feeling controls, shape keys were easy to remember, the graphics are very good and the game looks and feels well polished, and I like the sound too. Overall, great job! I got a score of 34.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:34am

Fun game with good visuals and sound. Good work :)

shane1090 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:35am

Really good use of the theme and an enjoyable game! Nice work!

WitchBoys says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:00am

Good work! Very nice music, graphics and animations.

For me you can improve small thing like:
- Add the control key with visual shape at the botton of the screen
- Add a visual shape near the plateform

Very nice job =)

Gravedrinker says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:43am

@WitchBoys Thanks, I'll try and make it more clear in the future iterations! :)

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:43am

That skull breaker feels goooooood xD (but I didn't know if it was an obstacle or powerup, maybe put a small "pick up" over it or something?)

Music stopped after a little while as well.

Great graphics, nice idea, and cool use of the theme.

Good luck!

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:27am

Ey, nice game. Well done, the music and graphics are pretty neat. The thing I would change is adding a colour code for the different barriers and using icons instead of text (this way it's more quickly to recognise what shape do you need). The power ups are awesome, great job!!

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Nice!!!

randomhuman says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:36pm

I have to say I have played basically this game a few times already this jam, but this one adds a few elements which make it stand out - that you are a character rather than just a shape, obstacles other than the ones you must shape-shift through, and the "Skull Breaker", which is quite satisfying and adds a bit of variety. Good job!

Molpe says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:36am

Great game, nice, simple, I really like the graphics =)

I've made a short let's play: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ixN_HDYUp-o

terryg says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:51am

nice take on the theme. very fun. great music and beautiful graphics.

MintArcade says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:27pm

10 stars for music! Absolutely fantastic everything.

Rscar says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Unfortunately the "a square is a rectangle" argument wasn't enough to get through the gate with the wrong shape. Overall enjoyable entry! The music and sound transitions were great

APantaloni says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Very nice looking and cool music. Maybe a little too easy, I'm more of a fan of the Super Hexagon difficulty in this kind of games, but it's fun. The Skull Breaker is awesome!

bogdan.tana says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Well-polished, simple to understand and fun!

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:37pm

The concept is really nice, clever and kinda humorous! :P Can become quite challenging after some time.

Love the work you've done on the graphics and the soundtrack is really great! Also, great choice for sound effects! :)

Sometimes, though, I thought that the pace was a bit slow. Maybe it's just me, though :P. But I've enjoyed playing it, controls were really responsive and it has a nice mood!

Congrats! :D

bazkur98 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Brilliant! Loved it!

avinashd says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:29pm

I wouldn't rate it high on innovation (I've seen many other iterations of this idea this jam), but everything else was fun!

The simple mechanic was surprisingly replayable and the skull breaker was very satisfying :). I would have suggested color-coding the shapes or having indicators instead of text, but I recognized the shape to press quite quickly, so that seems fine to me. I also like how the difficulty (the time between barriers) steps up over time as well.

Feels like the kind of game you could package, push to the App Store and nobody would guess it was made in 72 hours! Well polished is what I mean to say :P

DrillerDev says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:25pm

Great art!

As other have mentioned, doors would be more clear with icons intead of text

Sabina Lis says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:04am

56min to go! Great game in every sense, i didn't find any problems, thanks!

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:07am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]