Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Geometry Ninja

by anissen - Compo Entry

Slice geometry in evenly sized pieces in an ever-increasing rush against time.

Gameplay gif:
http://gfycat.com/RegularHonestFallowdeer

How to play:
· Slice shapes in HALF
· Click + drag mouse to slice
· You lose a life if an uncut shape leaves the screen

Technologies used:
· Language: Haxe
· Game engine: Luxe + Nape
· Code Editor: Atom
· Graphics: Affinity Designer
· Music: Bosca Ceoil
· Sounds: Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#117Fun3.68
#129Mood3.53
#243Overall3.47
#250Audio3.17
#269Graphics3.47
#566Innovation2.94
#592Theme3.17
#1902Coolness28%

Comments

Andy_Voz says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Cool! I like it!:)

ziege says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:15pm

This is great.

The cutting feels so good :-)

LeReveur says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Ha ha, cuting shapes is good for thoose who don't like geometry ! :D

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:22am

This game is really fun, loved the gameplay of slicing shapes :D

kuhnerdm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:47pm

I like the concept, and I think it's done pretty well from a programming level. It's a tad annoying that the little white cursor ball doesn't exactly follow your mouse cursor on the dot, and the sfx are a bit grating. Good job on the gameplay, though! The controls feel satisfying.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Super cool! I like how the cut leave traces on the background, the ghosting effect on the cursor and the slow down on the shapes when they get in the middle of the screen. Well done!

grayhaze says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:14pm

A fun twist on the Fruit Ninja idea. I found the controls a little unresponsive to start with, until I realised I could hold down the mouse to make a line and wait for the shape to reach me before letting go. I didn't really see much of the theme in this entry, other than that it included shapes, but the game itself was solid and enjoyable. Good work! :)

AtomicPair says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:56am

Neat idea, and definitely more challenging than it probably looks at first. Reminds me of something I would see on my Amiga 500 back in the day. :-)

The only problem I have is you accidentally drag the mouse cursor outside the screen bounds, the cursor line "sticks" and requires an extra click or two to reset it.

Other than that, nicely done!

dj_pale says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Nice mechanic. As other have noted - sometimes feel a slight lag. Would have loved another iteration on this.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Really good, geometry slicing works really well.

damrem says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:49am

Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]