Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Her Home

by Lancelot Gao - Compo Entry

A short story about a lady's home and how it shapeshift over time.

Lv.1 = Herself
Lv.2 = Her + Him
Lv.3 = Her + Him + Baby

Move: ASDW
Jump: Space
Fly (Lv.1): Collect pink orbs to gain the abilities to 2nd, 3rd, 4th... jumps
Throw box (Lv.2): Press [Space] while jumping

Fully support gamepad

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#69Graphics4.06
#155Mood3.43
#162Audio3.38
#266Humor2.78
#322Overall3.37
#372Innovation3.25
#592Fun2.94
#723Theme2.93

Comments

Tanton-H2X says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:56am

really really Hard! but Really Really Fun! Level Design so genius and perfection,Almost equal time spend in each levels,level-1's gameplay have just have some similar moral with"thousand journey takes every step"(the energy ball always not enough ლ(゚д゚ლ) )and really love the motion when she is jump...
in addition,these spare boxes and the first challange of level3 really amazing me~ impressive!
wonderful game and worth to play.

nopogo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:09am

Lovely artstyle. It really fits the games theme. Interesting jump mechanics, at times reaaaally frustrating to jump up a ledge. But that's not necessarily a bad thing :)

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:09am

Best graphic ever! Well done

Saladon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:11am

Very fun. The graphics are beautiful. Great work!

Yarg says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:15am

Was too hard for me. I got that pink balls increasing jump count only form 8-th try.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:16am

This is very cute! Cute music, cute graphics, cute concept :) Controls feel good.

It's very difficult to tell where orbs are over gaps, though, without the shadow that you get on platforms. We can learn through trial and error, but it's tough to gauge the jumps that way. I keep missing later orbs on the long sequence in the first level, which is a shame as I really like this and would love to continue. I just can't tell where anything is, at least on the web app.

Still, it is a very nice entry! Good work :)

ccglp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:18am

Good, but really hard. It's a little bit frustrating when dying have to restart the level. The model is very good!

siryakko says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:19am

Love the art, love the fun, LOVE IT!

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:33am

This game looked great with a really nice style. I found the third sphere on the first level hard to get because it was hard to know its location without a shadow. It is very impressive how much you put into the game in such a short time. I liked how the music changed on the second level when you got angry. But I got right to the end of the second level and found it too hard to stack the blocks in time so I didn’t get to see the third level.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:47am

Sorry but this is really difficult to play because nothing is shown to the user. It took me a long time to realise those random pink spheres give you an extra jump, which turned out to be nice.

I still can't figure out how to drop a crate after I picked it up so therefore can't continue.

v frustrating

Cute though!

Sanguine says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:50am

The platformer movement was a bit frustrating - and I couldn't get past the end of level 2. I liked the models though

Sporeczek says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:46am

Wow the graphics is amazing. Wow, moving house :) I like it.

draq22 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Amazing game.

draq22 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Amazing game O_O

AlejoAC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Difficult and polished.
But hey! It kept me playing.
Level 3 is some kind of statement about not being able to progress in life because of tyding up the toys and feeding the baby?
I miss not seeing the end but it got quite frustrating. And I was using a gamepad which helps a lot with the control.

Trickman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:44am

Good ideas, good graphics, good concept, frustrating gameplay. It kinda puts you off because it becomes too harsh, and you get an "ah, screw this!" feeling every two minutes.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:54am

A beautiful and clever game. I love the way the gameplay is introduced to the player by letting them figure it out one step at a time!

kleinzach says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:42am

Those block stacking puzzles are really hard! I keep accidentally picking up ones stacked on top of the others or end up scattering the whole thing when my heart meter depletes. Not sure if I really understand the whole narrative through gameplay thing, but I really like how its presented!

norseware says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:22am

Barely got to level 2! It was hard to judge distance from the orbs. I enjoyed the music, the art was delightful, and the idea was unique. Nice work! :)

humble_ray says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:34am

hard but fun, it would be the best gift!

jerryzhao says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:42am

I wonder what the feedback of you wife:)

tppr2046 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:51am

Great graphics!! Fun game!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:59am

One of the best, seriously.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:00am

Pretty fun puzzle platformer. The artwork is very good as well.

jofra says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:40pm

Great graphics! The jump mechanics were pretty hard to get the hang of.
awesome job

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Really nice visuals, it reminds me of Besiege! I don't really understand what I was doing but I enjoyed doing it :) The camera angles are sometimes genius, other times we don't really see where we're going to jump. Fortunately there are lots of aerial jumps xD
A fresh and solid entry!

REIN1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:03pm

Too hard for me , it 's difficult to judge the position of orbs before I really close to them. Great graphics and nice sound effects! Good job !

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Very challenging but very cool! A very clever mechanic that's easy to figure out. Well done!

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:44pm

To be honest. I don't really get it. I kind of see the metaphor you point out. But it wasn't very clear. Sadly, this is also true of gameplay. I kinda got it, but didn't fully grasp it enough to finish Lvl. 2. What is it that happens after I run out of hearts? And throwing the boxes was a bit of a pain. The music was pretty good though a little repetitive. But the collection sound is SO annoying. My siblings came in to tell me to turn it off. Anyway, interesting idea. If you added to the level design to teach the mechanics a bit better and changed the collection noise, it'd be great. Anyway, I really don't want this review to seem too negative. I enjoyed the first level and with a bit more training I'm sure I'd enjoy the rest. So, well done overall.

reckhou says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:50am

Hi, 很早就关注你关于LD的演讲和知乎专栏了,这次LD35我也有参与,我们的游戏在这里:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=55414
请指教:)

PS: 如果可以的话能加一下微信吗~我的微信是reck_hou

Uson Chen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:41pm

画面好舒服,难度好高啊,有点打断了流畅感。
关卡设计铺排很赞~
游戏概念很有趣啊哈哈哈

HenryQiu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:11pm

画面很温馨(*^__^*),可惜自己手残还没过。准备安利给朋友试试。

ragnta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Nice graphics and mechanics, but this game is a little bit hard for me :)

tobia88 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:35am

完成度一般,但是想法和氛围相当赞!也感谢你给我们的留言啦

Feng says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Great graphics and artwork, though the gameplay is really hard to me.

madmarcel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:06am

Lovely graphics, but so hard!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:19am

Loved the art style, cool game! :)

josemorval says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Awesome graphics but a little hard! Good job guy! :)

scorched says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:04pm

The first level is awesome, the only complaint is that it's not always obvious where orbs are positioned in 3D, so from time to time I jump around them, but can't get.
In the second level in the end I was frustrated by the controls: when I want to jump on the box - hero picks it up, when I want to throw - hero jumps (I think one key for jump, and second key - for pickup and for throw would be better).
In the third I wasn't able to place the first crate properly due to time outs, and had to quit.
Overall, great job!

Skaz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:14pm

Charming game! There is some camera issues, specially when you have to make the first long jump, placing it above removes perception of depths. Couldn't go beyond level 3, having to move the crate was impossible due to the small delay you have before picking another flower thing.

Good job overall!

medidog says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:08am

Really innovative concept. However, really bad camera and permadeath annoys after some tries.. based on the graphics, I was really looking forward to play this game, but I could not get past after the first big leap. I would love to give it another go, if the camera issues are fixed and some checkpoints are added.

guoboism says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:19am

Eh... Too hard for me. But the game looks really nice. But the game has a really beautiful world.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]