Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SLAHP

by FistBumpGames - Jam Entry

Hey, listen!

23.04 - Checkpoints!
25.04 - POST JAM VERSION v1
(a lot of fixes, jumping, respawn, stars, rain, aso.)


thanks for playing (:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#268Graphics(Jam)3.82
#432Audio(Jam)3.08
#466Humor(Jam)2.59
#579Mood(Jam)3.06
#606Innovation(Jam)2.97
#776Theme(Jam)3.00
#817Overall(Jam)2.95
#1071Fun(Jam)2.29

Comments

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:18am

Nice one!

OrangePop says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:19am

Got frustrated when I jumped into the "water" and had to start over. Having to walk slowly back to the ship is a little annoying, but the atmosphere and graphical polish is great!

norseware says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Great art, nice music, painful design. I really like the idea, it's really creative and a bit crude - my favorite! It's just starting completely over that's rough. But other than that, I really liked it. Good work :)

Ellian says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:59pm

This is deliciously creepy and crude.
The sluggishness of the character is an issue I think, but really it's a nice thing you made!

ryjcio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:15pm

Great art and concept, but there are no checkpoints. Starting over and over again is frustrating, specially if there are some minor bugs that affect gameplay.

legavroche says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:18pm

I played the webplayer version. I like the art style and your use of the theme, but there needs to be some checkpoint system since the beginning of getting the feet is tedious to go through after each loss. The jumping was also a bit slow to process and I fell on my first attempt when trying to jump right at the edge

djfariel says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:43am

Played the download version. Couldn't do anything but move left and right. Tried both controller and keyboard.
I liked the art though.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:00am

Really sweet graphics, love the parallax effect - definitely agree with the others' suggestion though of adding a simple checkpoint system in there.

medidog says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:28pm

Really nice graphics but very hard game! Overall you did a good job.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Really interesting graphics and great animation, I agree with everyone else on the need for a checkpoint system though.

CasualCat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:45pm

The music is amazeballs and the art is incredible. Love the parallax, animations are nice. But I think the game pace was a little sluggish for having a perma-death. I really wanted to progress but restarting completely over was kinda... meh. The jumping was a little weird, I could only jump while moving. And the game was not very good at making sure the player knows the controls. So the game is really good but just needs polish!

CasualCat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:46pm

The music is amazeballs and the art is incredible. Love the parallax, animations are nice. But I think the game pace was a little sluggish for having a perma-death. I really wanted to progress but restarting completely over was kinda... meh. The jumping was a little weird, I could only jump while moving. And the game was not very good at making sure the player knows the controls. So the game is really good but just needs polish! Also, was the one thing in the beginning a reference to Gaster from Undertale?

apalade says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Creepy...

Good job!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:33pm

Very cool and polished game. A bit hard for me though. Loved the overall mood and graphics, I tried to do something similar (dark and grim).

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Pretty cool!

monetai says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Interesting game.

sikosis says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:29am

Great parallax scrolling and audio with this one. I was confused with the blood collection but otherwise, a good entry.

ConorOD says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:43pm

Woah, that art style - amazing. As others have said though, a bit slow and could benefit from checkpoints.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:25pm

wponderfull graphism and ambiance, its working, i spend many to be able to fly and then i felt directly under a foot... smash !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]