Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shwift : The Maratron

by Kerdelos - Jam Entry

France, 3.am, the five students know their mid-terms are coming. Oh yeah. They know it well. Too well. But the truth is...they don't care. For three days and three night, they've been working proudly, with only one goal. Create. Create a game that would change for ever our conception of Life, the Universe and Everything. This game. This is....THIS IS JOHN CENA.

...

Well, guess what guys. I'm tired.
Seriously, we are proud to introduce to you our game Shwift !


---------------------------------------------


Shwift is a cooperative or competitive puzzle game. For 2 to 4 players! The goal is to reach the finish line, we've been brainstorming quiet a lot on the theme and guess what? WE MADE A GAME ABOUT SQUARES CIRCLES AND TRIANGLES. HOW ORIGINAL. (Please don't stop reading yet).

Shwift is a three actions based game, you can move left and right, switch shape, and use the special ability of a shape. As I said before, there are 3 shapes, squares can dash, circles can jump, and triangles can invert gravity! But wait ! There is more. Each time you switch from a shape to another, so does other players ! And when you trigger your special ability, this ability is also triggered on other players after a small delay ! So ... be smart. Play with or against your mates, but reach the end!

We hope you'll like it.

Cheers.

KerDelos, Shadocalex, Tyrannas, Valerian and Winnilis.


---------------------------------------------


GAME MODES

Coop Mode : All players must reach the finish line, if one dies, everyone gets back to the beginning of the level.

Versus Mode : The first one to reach the finish line wins.


---------------------------------------------


CONTROLS

Left and Right to move.
Up to trigger shape skill.
Down to shift shape.

Circle skill : jumping.
Square Skill : dashing through some types of blocks
Triangle Skill : inverting gravity.

Player 1 : arrows

Player 2 : zqsd (sorry for qwerty keyboard owners, WASD keys are also enabled in the postjam version)

Player 3 : ijkl

Player 4 : tfgh

Some keyboard may not allow that many input at once and we plan to add gamepads support later.


---------------------------------------------


CREDITS

KerDelos : game design & programming
Schadocalex : level design & programming
Tyrannas : art & level design
Valérian : music & sounds
Winnilis : level editor & level design


---------------------------------------------


POST JAM VERSION CHANGELOG

-Gamepad support ( A to trigger action, X to shift shape )
-Solo Mode

-New levels
-Level Editor

-GamePlay Tweaks (shape shifting does not affect other players anymore)
-Bug fixes ( there still are some wild ones left out there for now =/ )
-Ingame UI ( the bottom bar indicates the upcoming actions )

-Neon trail

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#190Innovation(Jam)3.58
#261Theme(Jam)3.70
#301Audio(Jam)3.33
#304Overall(Jam)3.50
#325Mood(Jam)3.38
#338Fun(Jam)3.36
#386Graphics(Jam)3.61
#526Humor(Jam)2.48

Comments

PickledBrain says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:26am

Nice particle effects. Graphical theme is well done.

Kashank says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:06pm

This game would definitely benefit from the use of game pads (which I know you said you're planning on adding). I think this is a super clever idea and could see this as being more than a game jam game. The 2 player feature is great, but it would also be nice to be able to play 1 player mode.

Changing the shape's color when changing the shape feels (to me) like you're substituting characters instead of shape shifting, I think it would be good to show the shape morph from one type to the next.

I really like the name Shwift in general, but I don't see how it connects to the game itself.

Great job (now go study)!

Sloof says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Graphics are great. The gameplay was somewhat slow and controls occasionally stopped working. Otherwise, the game is well done.

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:56am

Hey!

Midterms exams are now over and we spent few hours to improve Shwift!

We've listened to you and implement gamepads. Solo mode is also there but we recommend you playing Versus mode with 2 players! New levels are made for it.

You can also create your own level with the level editor: Microsoft Excel (yes, you read it). Just read the README in the folder.

Enjoy playing!

ciaodavinci says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:49am

I was playing coop with my friend and it was challenging to beat a later mission, we had fun. I'm glad the gamepad support was there :)

Steven Pinto says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:35am

hmm not a bad concept :) i like how the actions of one player effects the other... the controls don't work well for the seconds player (WASD) overall i wish the game was more fast phased..
Anyway all the best :D

Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Good and fun game !
Go vote mine ! :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90478

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:59pm

I actually love the game (haven't finished it yet because I ended up killing my coop partner in real life XD) it is not as simple as it looks and keeps you entertained for quite some time. Graphics fit just fine and they help to identify what has to be done, it is fun, innovative and matches the theme.

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Nice game to play with friends! Well done.

ConorOD says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Loved this. Took me a while to get the hang of it, but gorgeous graphics and great mechanics once you get into it. Liked the music too.

josemorval says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Nice concept and quite fun :) Good job guy!

JonathanG says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Although the graphics are quite simple, the game's fun and humor come from the wacky versus mechanic and interactions between the competitors, which I found really nice.

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Really innovative game. Wish there was a way to play without other players.

paquinn says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Nice art style

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:50pm

I like the multiplayer, had fun playing it with my gf. graphic style is cool but a bit dark - a couple of brighter colours and lights would create a nice mood!

nihilaleph says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Great concept! Nice artwork and sounds too! Too bad I don't have a second player to play with me ^^; But I still played (awfully, with a QWERTY keyboard...) alone! Great entry!

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Amazing concept! Some of the puzzles were so complex, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]