Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Sub Dragon

by deepnight - Compo Entry

VERY IMPORTANT: use the shape freezing mechanic (hold SPACEBAR)!!! It's essential :)

Using a XBOX controller is recommended.
------

SUBDRAGON is a shooter inspired by Saint Dragon on Atari ST. Your ship has 2 sides: the white one (left) is invulnerable and can stop enemy bullets. The red one is heavily armed but very fragile!

Move around like a snake, change shape and use both sides wisely to eradicate every opponents! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Graphics4.61
#14Overall4.16
#27Audio4.02
#44Fun3.93
#47Mood3.83
#94Innovation3.85
#460Theme3.37
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:41am

Very good! I really like the games you make, this is no exception!

alvaromartin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:38am

Once again great game!

01101101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:00am

Nice work, I didn't know Saint Dragon but the concept works pretty well :)
Cool graphics and impressive result as usual!

Diman says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:11am

Awesome game!

Bemmu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:40am

As always, a fantastic game. Gameplay is more fun than last year. The water transition is just beautiful, as is the palette with Amigaish gradients. Very juicy! 5/5

Marcellus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:37am

This is not your best entry, but this is not the worse.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:30pm

just a black screen :(

deepnight says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:33pm

It takes some time to load (3.5mb), it should start after a few seconds :) If not, try using Chrome, it should work fine!

remiv says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Very good game...

Sublustris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Great, as always :)

grayhaze says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Amazing as always Sébastien! One day you'll have to give me the secret to how you produce such polished graphics, music and gameplay in such a short time. I suspect that you might be a machine. ;)

I found this entry to be a lot more difficult than your past ones, but had no less fun trying. Good luck!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Always flashy with your particles :)

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Wow. Really love the graphics and everything!

Xaychru says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:34pm

I really dig the atmosphere, the gameplay was interesting as well!

Boatfan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Very nice graphics, cool game!

Idorrac says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:29pm

The graphics, sounds, and music are simply amazing! I wonder how you can create such beautiful sprites in such a short amount of time! The gameplay is incredibly fun as well! If I may make a small criticism, the collision detection of the snake is a bit glitchy, I managed to go inside walls, and even shoot enemies on the other side, a few times. :)

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:16am

How.. how did you make a game so perfect in 48h!!?? Easily the best entry I've played so far, so well polished in every aspect!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:55am

Incredible graphics and sound. My xbox y-axis seemed to be inverted, so I had more luck with the keyboard, but a deceptively difficult yet still fun game. Nice job.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:43am

Incredible as always. Very cool idea and very satisfying. Great graphics. It was a little hard though.

sanojian says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:28am

Unreal visuals and sound as always. It was almost too hard though.

xclementx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:36am

Great game ! Very fun to play.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:49pm

This is surprisingly challenging, the concept is really clever and requires a lot of strategy. The graphics look exceptional as well. Great job!

YinYin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Unfortunately the vertical axis for my xbox controller is inverted in this game :(

Ramayana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:40pm

Very cool game! Great concept, great execution. Just great!

Husky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:21pm

A great game like always :)

This is full of challenging to me, I like the idea of freezing shape, it's fun when changing the strategy from attacking to defending.

Good job!

RyanMan56 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:25pm

One of the best ones I've played!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Excellent game! I really like the design of this one, perfectly balanced risk reward! Well done.

tentacode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Nearly perfect grats

MurderPunch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:33pm

I love the pixel art in this game! And the game mechanic itself is really clever. Great job! 4 thumbs up from my fiancee and I!

Angry_cyboot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Coffee is friend !!

Afendar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Very good game as always ! Very good work !

rahulparihar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Exceptional game design, had a lot of fun playing this. Kudos ! :)

markusfisch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Very impressive, as always. Definitely another league :) I really like the idea with the two sides!

dustyroom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Great as always. Go robosnail!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Amazing artwork ... I'm happy that I played it. 5/5 graphics!!!!!!

Roland M says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:31pm

It was a challenging and hard on pc, but I think it will be easier with a game pad

TravisChen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:25am

DEEPNIGHT NEVER FAILS. YOU ARE MY HERO. Brilliant. Best game.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:00am

Very addictive, awesome game! :)

howardcs says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:20am

Nice graphics. Fun.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:15am

Amazing as always! Beautiful graphics and particle effects. Love the variety of bullet patterns. I like how the gameplay balances between careful thought and quick reflexes. My main strategy is to do strafing circles for most enemies, and freeze my shape for the tough entrenched enemies. Love the easter egg at the end also :p

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:16am

Top marks as usual. I dig the way the dragon links move together, it looks so natural. The core mechanics are very original and well executed (I had some problems manoeuvring with the gamepad, though, so I went back to mouse and keyboard), and graphics and music could almost pass for final assets on a full-fledged indie game.

Considering that we're talking about a compo game, that's impressive (it could easily rival with the bet entries on the jam, too).

I'm terrible at it, but I've had a lot of fun so far.

Brilliant job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:01am

Absolutely beautiful! I expected nothing less :) Always look forward to playing your games.

starpixie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:17am

Beautiful!

Saiodin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:06am

Awesome gameplay and amazing graphics, I really love it! I wished the music would be more action-y ;)

Jin47 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Awesome entry. Super concept and mastered and dynamic gameplay.
The sound design is perfect too. Congrats !!

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:47pm

smilie rocks at the end ;) good job! one of the few games i really enjoyed

LeReveur says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:18pm

I always wait for your entries, and again, I'm not disappointed ! Very good job !

mitkus says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:22am

Great idea and amazing implementation, good job!

oxysoft says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:15am

just excellent, all I can say

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Heyho, that's a very cool game. I like how the snake moves and shoots, really cool game for such a short time!

Four Quarters says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Another great game, you rock!
Water art is beautiful, gameplay very polish, music nice too
5\5 stars in all

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Lots of fun. Frustrating at times, but in a good way.

Leon Möhring says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:41pm

I love the graphics, the contrast between water and orange sky is great and erverything looks so nice, but its hard and the shape freeze was not very helpful for me...

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Genius! So impressed with your ability to come up with a innovative mechanic every time - props.

Mixer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:36am

Amazing! (Of course, it's by deepnight :D) Huge amount of polish, great theme interpretation, stunning graphics, brilliant gameplay.

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:00pm

When I blocked bullets and planned a route through the stunning graphics and active music, I felt amazed! If you continue to design this, I died early and often. Sometimes I wanted to make a cocoon, and wanted to rotate relatively to my current facing, instead of pick an absolute direction by the arrow keys.

I played on Windows FireFox. On Chrome, the black window appeared but the rest of the game did not load.

dj_pale says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Great execution - as always. Nice mechanics, nice details with the level progression. A tad hard in the beginning.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:44pm

amazing, completely amazing. how do you do it!?

AtomicPair says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:49pm

One of the most beautiful looking games I've seen in LD35 to date. Very well done!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:03pm

One of the best looking entries I've played so far, such great graphics. Only issue I had was the walls you can't go through should probably stand out a bit more. Another LD though and another amazing polished entry, nice job.

knason says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Great game! I liked the graphics a lot, the game was a bit hard but fun as always. Good job!

derr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:06am

Incredible game from controls, to graphics to audio. Well done!

Digitalduck says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:14am

Game looks cool as always, but I feel you should be disqualified, since you did not release the source.

In fact, the last 2 ludumdares you didn't release source, which is part of the rules..

Ludumdare 34: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=2982
Ludumdare 33: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=2982

deepnight says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:40pm

@DigitalDuck> I'm really sorry that not disclosing the source in time to be such big issue. I mean, there are so many other entries where people don't do it. Anyway, I just posted the SubDragon source code, feel free to download/check it :) Didn't have time earlier and I just totally forgot about the source code of my previous LD game.

General says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Video: https://youtu.be/OC2Isnqi0nY
Creative approach to shape shifting! Good combination with shooter game

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:29am

impressive stuff !

domrein says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Awesome game. Best one I've played so far. It'd be cool if you had mouse controls too.

Zyow says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:26am

Excellent graphics and sound! Good job!

May 4, 2016 @ 3:52am

very cool game You are very very talented. :D

May 4, 2016 @ 10:34am

First game of yours that doesn't work for me. Just a black screen. Checked my flash is working... all your old games still work. So something has changed...

May 4, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Just to provide more info. I've checked the network tab in chrome and the .swf is loading successfuly. It just doesn't start once it's loaded. The console doesn't report any errors. No idea what's happening.

Riftpoint says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:34pm

Very nice gameplay mechanic, really creative. The graphics are amazing too. Congratulations!

May 4, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Loved it! Excellent music and the death sound is soooo good. It also plays so smoothly! Congratulations.

tanis says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Awesome as usual! :)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:10am

Not working on linux.

davidB says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Super!

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Great game with a frenetic gameplay and a beautiful aesthetic. Well done ++

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:29pm

That was fucking awesome. Not to mention beautiful. Thank you for supporting the gamepad, btw. :-)

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:07am

subdragon very awesome~! detail so rich! rhythm very balance!and the music also that, very smooth and genki,let me immerse it so easy and also so charmful..
the final challenge's second part(upward area to island) ,i found that i could runsh direclty up-ward, and then clear the part-1 area enemies! (very exiciting!) although this final part really hard but also give me so deep impression ! well done and this entry worth high vote!
(btw, flying like a snake feels very great!)

Weeping Rupee says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Awesome.

Very well executed without being too high concept. Thats the nice thing about video games being associated with a style of 8 or 16 bit art-- all the early games needed to have recognizable characters with such a limited resolution... so you can tell me "ok you're a snake whose red side shoots lasers and whose white side absorbs rockets and bullets" and I'll be like "yeah, ok lets do this."

Nice tutorial too.

Very very well executed from conception to implementation.

Acuity says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:45pm

This is a really cool concept! It's hard for me to control the dragon the way I want it to though - I think my head wants to operate in tangential coordinates instead of absolute (as in W always moves forwards and A and D would "turn")

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]