Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Makeshift

by NickMakesGames - Compo Entry

Moments before a big fashion show, you discover that the collection you were going to present has gone missing!
To save the show, you'll have to decorate shift dresses on the fly and send them out to the audience. Luckily, you've got a whole bunch of fabric shapes lying around that you can use to design your very own shape-shifts.
There are lots of VIPs and tastemakers in the crowds, so you'll need to design carefully to meet their preferences. Disappoint the audience, and your show will be a complete disaster.

Controls:
+Click and drag shapes from the left side of the screen onto a shift and release to sew it on.
+Hold space to get shapes more quickly.
+Click near the top-left of the screen to send back your model early for bonus points.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Innovation4.38
#42Overall3.95
#48Theme4.14
#51Humor3.65
#55Mood3.80
#92Fun3.76
#294Graphics3.43
#571Audio2.25
#1808Coolness32%

Comments

Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:33pm

This is possibly the most creative application of theme I've seen yet ;) Pretty funny, too.

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:36pm

This. This is awesome. and it goes great with the Treadmillasaurus Rex theme, just for the record.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Super innovative! And pretty well polished to! I congratulate you with a job well done!

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:43pm

The most funny take on the theme I've seen yet, and the gameplay is pretty engaging too, well done!

amymist says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:47pm

This was tons of fun! I had a little bit of trouble picking up shapes when the conveyor sped up and I think I might have misunderstood the "every X overlaps with Y" prompt, but I had enough fun that I don't terribly mind either of those things.

BigBrother says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:48am

I didn't think this would be as fun as it is! I also didn't expect it to be so innovated... This is prolly the best game using theme I've seen today. Keep up the good dev work!

celia14 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:01am

I love this. Hilarious application of the theme - I love the panicking designer figures - but instead of just being a novelty, the game is quite challenging and fun! My only complaint was it was hard to pick up the shapes near the end, which was frustrating.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Very impressive work! Although I dint' get the name at first, I had to google shift dresses (not a native speaker) ;-).

applejam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:30pm

It became pretty hard at the end, but was fun. Magazine in the end was a very nice touch. And seeing your dress on the podium was pretty cool too.

ragnarolis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Interesting game. The graphics could use a bit of an upgrade but the feel of the game and it's mechanics are fun to play with. Good job!

Upwily says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:26pm

One of the best entries I've tried so far!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Liked it a lot! Had to really experiment with what creates the most amount of applause, but eventually I managed to hit the 30000 mark. A little more transparency in the scoring system would have been nice, e.g. having a number pop-up every time a shape was pasted onto the dress. I do like the interpretation of the theme, so well done with that!

medidog says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:22am

This is actually quite fun! Good pace in increasing difficult as the game progresses. I also liked the option to pick the goals in each level. Not too fond of the sounds but other than that, loved it!

hazzahazzam says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:20am

Nice take on the theme and I always love puns for titles! The UI needs some cleaning.

May 8, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Awesome! And much harder than I would have expected.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]