Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Roller Rink Rampage

by LTPATS - Jam Entry

Scare people by attaching different body parts to yourself.

Controls (Keyboard):
move - wasd or arrows
look - mouse
jump - space
crouch - control
use - e or left click
inventory - i
pause - p or esc

Controls (Game Pad):
move - left stick
look - right stick
jump - A button
crouch - B button
use - X button
inventory - Y button
pause - start button

* Note: the game doesn't currently have a way to restart after winning so you have to refresh your browser if you want to play again.

* Known Issues: using "esc" to pause may cause issues with the mouse not being locked properly. You have to click back into the playable area to relock the mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#56Mood(Jam)4.03
#175Audio(Jam)3.60
#207Humor(Jam)3.23
#283Innovation(Jam)3.39
#394Fun(Jam)3.30
#410Graphics(Jam)3.57
#492Overall(Jam)3.29
#530Theme(Jam)3.37

Comments

BitDare says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:19am

This game was pretty horrifying I loved the overall fell. Great sounds as well, they set a great mood.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:21am

Hey it was fun :) Scaring people and then watching myself in a mirror: priceless !

fullmontis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Wow, this is a game right out of the uncanny valley! Very uneasy atmosphere, really enjoyed that. Gameplay is interesting too, tryin got find the most horrifying combination. You did an amazing job on the graphics and the sound, really like those.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:19am

this was a very interesting game, though i couldnt figure out what to do to win because i only saw 2 kids and they were running around screaming.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:33am

It was creepy at first, until I realized I was the scary one, then it was just fun running around scaring people. Great style!

Ironhead says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:34am

I won. I scared the children. This game was weird but is it even more weird that I kinda liked it? haha good job.

fenwick says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:38am

Really good audio, the rollerskate noises were oddly grating. I really liked the whole atmosphere, it was really eerie. The props were fun too, I really liked the shark oven mitt, very spooky lol.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Creepy and fun.

Henry00 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:11pm

For some reason most of the sound was in my left ear (headset) hehe, fun game.

davor10105 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:04pm

loved it!

thebrainfuse says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:32am

No matter how many times you see yourself in the mirror, you still let out a silent scream...

May 1, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Good feel, sounds were fun, the mirror was a great touch. My only complaint was it was a little tough to figure out what your goal was at first.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]