Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Super Shift-Shaper

by Jacksendary - Jam Entry

UPDATE 19-4-2016:

Hey all I wanna say sorry to all you who have performance issues, I'm assuming you're playing it in the browser which indeed have issues due to WebGL still not working optimal with the spectrum data and a few other things.

I really wanna recommend downloading the desktop version as it does NOT have the lag people talk about :)

Thanks a lot in regard and happy gaming/voting :)


This game is inspired by 140 and super hexagon.

the main goal of the game is to avoid the circles, and get through them with the right shapes.

The controls are the left and right keys, and space to change shape.

There might be unexpected bugs but... those are features!

Warning!!!!
This game might contain photosensitive light.
If you suffer from epilepsy, then be aware!

This game also contains spectrum feature. Therefore it does not work correctly in the webplayer. We strongly recommend to play the desktop version of it.

Made by Jackie Engberg Christensen and Hamun Munikiki

All music is made by Antoni Rush (check credits).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#157Audio(Jam)3.66
#574Theme(Jam)3.32
#738Mood(Jam)2.84
#771Humor(Jam)1.84
#804Innovation(Jam)2.73
#827Graphics(Jam)2.84
#845Fun(Jam)2.74
#858Overall(Jam)2.91

Comments

Mikaza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Funny :)

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:41pm

Like the idea, but the FPS was too low for me on this game? (I'm usually fine with Unity games as well)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:40pm

Dying feels strange as it instantly pauses. Would look and feel better if the player dies in a smoother manner

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:45pm

nice music and concept but the controls are slightly delayed for me and the graphics could have been a bit smoother (:

Peringo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:03pm

It looks and seems pretty great, but as others have said it definetely needs some optimization. I really want to like it; if you fix that it would be a lot greater!

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Hey all I wanna say sorry to all you who have performance issues, I'm assuming you're playing it in the browser which indeed have issues due to WebGL still not working optimal.

I really wanna recommend downloading the desktop version as it does NOT have the lag people talk about :)

Thanks a lot in regard and happy gaming/voting :)

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:03pm

yay! This game has more or less the same idea than ours!
It's really cool and challenging!
Good job!
Come to see ours and give us your feedback! ^^

jk5000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Grundlæggende er spillet rigtigt godt. Jeres valg af musik er efter min mening ret genialt, da det passe super godt til det spil I har lavet, og så er musikken bare fantastisk. Spillets visuelle udtryk er rimelig flot og det passer super godt til musikken. Styringen af spilfiguren kan helt sikkert blive bedre, men er okay. Så alt i alt et rigtig godt spil i har lavet.

Well done.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Controls are really difficult, but I really love the concept! Reminds me a lot of super hexagon, in a good way! I wish you could use say, buttons to instantly change shapes, that'd remove some of the frustration of rapidly tapping space, then slightly overshooting

AceyT says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:38pm

I like the concept, but there were too many time were it was frustrating as fuck, especially when I have to restart for the N times just because a little push on my keyboard put me on the side of the dead zone, or when I press space but it still kill me because "Ha, too late"

The graphics & music were good, but super hexagon is still better in my heart

Ryusui says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:09pm

It's a solid attempt to replicate the feel of Super Hexagon, but the collision detection is a bit finicky - the holes in the circles should flare outward so it's less likely you'll kill yourself moving to align yourself for the next circle.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Solid attempt at replicating the feel of Super Hexagon, but the collision detection is a little wonky. The way the holes are cut in the circles, it's too easy to accidentally kill yourself while moving to pass through the next circle.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Pretty intensive game.. too bad I suck at these.. :p

jofra says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:17am

nice concept!
the controls felt a little hard and the death screen, as it instatly pops up,fells a bit wierd.
Nevertheless, gj!

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:24am

Great music!

MementoGames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:54am

Cool concept, too bad I suck at this kind of games.
Very trippy with the music and flashes.
Good job!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:40am

To get this working on OS X after unzipping, you need to run something like:

chmod +x "Downloads/Super Shift-Shaper (OSXx86)/SuperShiftShaper.app/Contents/MacOS/SuperShiftShaper"

To get the execute bit set on the binary of the app.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:48am

I really enjoyed this. I feel like the controls could probably be tweaked slightly, it felt a little off to me. I love the visual style and the feeling it creates.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:51am

This game is super difficult and I am not totally sure how to get past any circle, and I don't know if its just too hard for me or if I am not doing it right.


Note to OP and others:
To get this working on OS X after unzipping, you need to run something like:

chmod +x "Downloads/Super Shift-Shaper (OSXx86)/SuperShiftShaper.app/Contents/MacOS/SuperShiftShaper"

To get the execute bit set on the binary of the app.

luckyy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:20pm

The idea of combining the shape thingy with super hexagon is awesome!
In my opinion its a bit hard to control though (+ the settings menu doesnt work)

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:30pm

I often died. Maybe i dont get it but after some time i learned that space are the conrtols. I simply could not change the shape fast enough if it would be like 1=square, 2=Circle

Pontifex says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Not bad, surprisingly good music, but too difficult or even unfair. Some people might like it this way, but I would prefer a little bit of cheating in favor of player. As a ragequit proofing ;)

AntoniRush says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:46am

Thanks for the support on the music :) it is true the game is difficult xD But I agree the idea is great, and so far it works.

Gyfis says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Thumbs up for flashing warning :) pretty well done, but the webgl version is so laggy it's almost impossible to play.

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:04am

this does really remind me of super hexagon, but with your own twist on it. i loved the style and colors, just wish dying wasn't so abrupt when it happened.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:12pm

AFTER A HARD DAY OF WORK I NEED SOMETHING MINIMAL TO LOOK AT AND THIS GAME HAS DONE THAT FOR ME

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:57am

In a game like this, you really need to add a keyboard restart, because you die a lot, and I don't want to have to maneuver the mouse every time.
The controls seemed a little too sensitive as well. It led to a lot of pecking at the keys to get the right position.
Aside from that, it was an interesting mash up.
The music was very fitting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]