Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Slithering

by Coal - Compo Entry

A game created for Ludum Dare 35.

Move with WASD and attack with Left Mouse Button.

==========

This is my first time competing in a Ludum Dare. I was originally intending to have several different arm types that you would shape shift between depending on the circumstance, but I didn't end up having the time. I am fairly disappointed in how little I got done, but hopefully I will be able to do better next time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#91Graphics3.96
#102Humor3.33
#183Mood3.38
#320Innovation3.36
#358Theme3.52
#502Overall3.18
#535Fun3.02

Comments

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:03am

Both funny and sad at the same time. Great artwork.

ougrouk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:03am

Spooky, very spooky.
But good job nonetheless the idea is fun at first!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:07am

When I started playing I thought it would be impossible to win just punching snakes. Loved what you did there.
However, I couldn't kill the final boss :(

Brice says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:07am

Very funny and sad when this cute little anime girl's body just falls to the ground, and then continues to be attacked by the snakes. Made me laugh. :-)

Great atmosphere, artwork and happy music go well together. Would have loved to keep transforming. Maybe you run into humans who want to "heal you" and so you need to avoid them to keep it up.

Great job on your first LD!

Dasginger says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:08am

The graphics are lovely! I really like the characters expression combined with the little question mark when you get up, but I can't put my finger on why.
Quite difficult too, I was thinking "Hmm, this is a bit too easy," then I found the boss and it wiped the floor with me for a while.
Nice entry, shame you couldn't add more content!

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:09am

Not bad for a first time. It didn't seem to fit the theme at first, but then the girl woke up with the snake arm so that was surprising. Nice art

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:22am

The graphics are really pretty :). I like the shading on the big snake a lot, and the shadows add to the scene's mood.

I was able to beat the final boss after about 4 tries. Is it possible to kill the final boss without dying? Every time I tried to get close to the boss in order to deal damage, I was killed by the boss. Also, I think the game could have used a little more feedback as well. The game didn't feel like it was approaching an end until I stumbled across the final boss. It would have been nice if there was some kind of indication that this game had an ending (that it isn't just an infinite runner type of game, which is what I had thought before I encountered the final boss).
Good job on your first Ludum Dare :D

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Man, those are some brutal snakes. The concept was nice, and has potential, good job!

wtfrara says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Very cute execution, but would've loved to see more in the way of mechanics.

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Left me wanting more. Great little game, even unfinished.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:56pm

How sad, and beautiful. A great shape shift idea - very original

SkullPixel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Really not bad for a first game at all. Nice job! The animations are cool, with unconventional animation techniques.

pkenney says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:44pm

Nice job finishing on your first Ludum Dare! A shame you didn't get the multiple arm types idea in time, but impressive that you had art with animations, sound effects, and music... plus a final boss fight!

Two tiny points I'll mention about small design choices: Consider going for more color contrast between enemy and background, here you have green on green. It wasn't a real problem though. Second, the regenerating health seems to "encourage boring" because it rewards me for standing and waiting to fill back up before I move forward.

treegemmer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:16am

When I came back to life with a snake arm... that was MAGIC!

zugende says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Dude, I love these graphics and snake animation. Nicely done!!

uvwar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:46am

Love the animations, love the snakes, love it all http://imgur.com/uZ2epMX

zillix says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:59am

cute art, and nice simple gameplay! that's a creepy concept, though :P

samlo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:01am

i beat it

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:51am

The right to bear arms, I mean snake arms! :-)

siryakko says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:22am

Cute and very emotional, nice game and take on the theme

crisp says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:28am

Weeell...

Decentsauce says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:03am

Such a weird idea. xD I like it!

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:33pm

orichimaru begins ? ;) nice character

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]