Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries


by Jin47 - Compo Entry

Hey everyone!
This is my entry for my first Ludum Dare.
The result is not really good but I did my best to provide a playable game.

The aim is to get all the items and to go to the end of the level with them.

Controls : W,A,S,D for move
Mouse to aim and left click to shoot.

Hope you will enjoy playing it !

EDIT : Technology used :
- Unity and C#
- Only Mesh drawing and simple geometry for graphics
- Audio Sauna for music composing
- BXFR for the sound effects

PS : I uploaded a new WebGL link as I created my page. This is the original game without any modification.

Downloads and Links




Kifuga says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Really cool idea and game! I liked it a lot until I encountered the collision problem:
It is frustrating, that the collision is not pixel-perfect. The red area kills me before I even touch it when I approach it with a flat side first (edge first works find though)
This is the only thing that made me stopping playing it... would've played much longer otherwise :) keep up the good work.

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Your "Unity Web Player" link is broken, it just takes me to download the html file without any of the data files.

But playing the Windows download everything's good, well done :)

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Hey, fellow first-timer :)

Your "Unity Web Player" link is broken, it just takes me to download the html file without any of the data files.

But playing the Windows download everything's good, well done :) It's a fun core mechanic, but damn those hitboxes are unforgiving :)

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Fun little game!
It took me like 5 tries to get past the first part :p

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Nice soundtrack and clean graphics. Congratulations!

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Great. A clean user interface, and a nice behaviour. It remind me of but it's diferent. Really nice one.

ohi12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Really cool, love the play you made with the vertices!

Mordokay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Nice short game! In the end I was sad because it was so short. Overall simple graphics and good mechanics. +1

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Short game, but to oh so long to beat lol. Very unique idea, fits the theme pretty well. Excellent work!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:31am

First of all, welcome to Ludum Dare! Hope you're enjoying it!
Nice mechanics! I really liked your concept, though a bit short!

Congrats on your first entry!

ramza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:55am

I enjoyed your take on the theme. Interesting interpretation and mechanic. Overall enjoyable game.

DcrDro says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:28am

Interesting idea! Fun and some hard to play! :) and nice music

Jin47 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Thanks everyone for your comments!
The game is indeed very short (I was hoping to do more but I needed to develop some game mechnics to do it..)
It was also my first attempt at level design and music composition so your comments really cheer me up thank you all !

der_wisch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Nice game, interesting mechanic even thought a bit to easy if you shoot the dots through the red Areas (not sure if this was intended). I really like the audio part of this game really makes a great deal for the atmosphere (even if it's only shapes Shooting shapes to get through other shapes)

Fierceshadow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:37pm

This game made me realize just how much i suck at videogames, amazing

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:20am

You developed in Unity, no reason not to have an OSX build up here as well!

Jin47 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:58am

Sorry brinkhousegames I had not installed the module at the time (its too late now unfortunately)

Ramayana says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Nice Game and cool idea.

Pontifex says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Short, but interesting. Actually my only complaint is the game being too short.

knason says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:01pm

cool idea and an interesting take on the theme. I got killed a lot, but it was fun. Good job!

MikeTheWayne says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:02pm

That was a tough level! Very enjoyable though, loved the music!

timeshapers says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Interesting idea. Could use some better level design.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Very interesting use of the theme

APantaloni says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Very cool idea! My main complaint is that collision detection seems a little off, I often die before touching the red area. The music is nice and the graphics are not too fancy but functional and clear. I'd love to see this developed further!

TheCams says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Nice idea, the music is really cool too. Maybe nicer graphics would make it even better! Good job :)

justacookie says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:30pm

we enjoyed the game a lot, but too bad that there was only one level (due to the time constraint of the compo), but we thought it was a lot of fun, the graphics were oki and the gameplay was innovative (that you had to shoot the pickups to a place where you can pick them up again later on).
thanks for making this nice little game :)

ps: we added a bonus star to humor for thanking your food and motivation manager! :)

PinkIndian says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Really cool mechanic. You should do a longer puzzle game based on it. The graphics were simple but suited well. Also the music was good. Improvement idea: the hitboxes could be the shape of the current player object, not round like now.
But impressive entry as a first LD game!

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]