Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Space Junk

by Wekaj - Compo Entry

With the Earth's surface being overcrowded and expensive, you have decided to take your company to the stars; well, Earth's junk-infested outer atmosphere at least. Though the real-estate here is cheap, your next challenge is to develop your facility without allowing it to be ravaged by space junk, all while paying off your ever-increasing space rent.

Help:
-----
~ Press keys 1 - 4 to buy modules of their key's size.
~ Place modules using the left click button. Modules must be placed to existing modules, all branching from your initial source module.
~ Pick up existing modules using the left click button.
~ Modules will be destroyed immediately upon contact with space junk, apart from size 2 modules, which are scaffolding.
~ Press shift to pause the game.
~ Every ten seconds you will have to pay a rental fee.
~ If you are in over more than $100b of debt, you will lose immediately.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#48Graphics4.16
#57Mood3.78
#92Innovation3.86
#103Audio3.58
#168Overall3.62
#264Fun3.41
#369Theme3.51

Comments

Mithreindeir says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:39am

Amazing art

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:40am

I always seem to lose at 30 seconds. That space junk is intense! I like the graphical style, background music is simple but appropriate. It's fast paced music for a fast paced game :) Nice work.

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:57am

Wow, that was a lot more challenging and addictive than I expected. Looks great too. Maybe a bit too difficult though - after 30 seconds it seems impossible!

Ethan Allwood says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:06am

Fun game! not sure how i'm supposed to survive the space junk though :(... I got to 50 seconds.

darksshades says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:09am

Very nice.

Halleflux says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:12am

Great art, neat gameplay. I lasted for a bit over two minutes before I gave up.
The pause function allows you to reshape a little too much, which, if someone were willing, would allow a player to survive for a really long time just by shifting stuff around a lot.
I might recommend that it be a short-term pause, so you can't reorganize everything. Would make the game really interesting and intense. (Well, more so.)
Very well done!

manabreak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:12am

Pretty cool idea! I had trouble going through the first time since I didn't bother reading the instructions, but I did get the hang of it. Nice overall. :)

tauntButtered says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:31am

This is really cool, I'm bookmarking this one to keep playing later.

I had a problem once while playing, I picked up a large section right before it was going to get hit from multiple angles and couldn't place it back down anywhere or undo my action so the game wouldn't continue. Other than that, awesome work.

timeshapers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:45am

Really pretty and very interesting game. I feel like it really needs something extra, some defenses or something.

SwedishCheese says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:52am

Sort of reminds me of Rymdkapsel in some odd way. I like it :)

ccglp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:08am

Cool and simple, but with more time I would make it more simple to understand.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Great graphics and set up.

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:53am

The graphics fit together so well! Neat game.

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:55am

music and style - pleasant. the game is ruthless

JJJANEE says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:57am

Awesome art and music! I love the style. Everything comes together so nicely! The game was really challenging for me... I couldn't really figure out what configuration would be best and I keep dying. The controls were simple and smooth, and the rules were easy to grasp.
Overall it was a really creative and fun game! Great work!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:58am

Love the visual design. Very interesting gameplay, but I agree with others that it was hard to get the hang of because of how quickly the difficulty ramped up. I could see it working well with a story and multiple levels if expanded!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:59am

This is great! TOUGH but great! (Although I just realized I didn't end up doing much rearranging.) I did find that the #2 pieces let junk through, so that's clearly useful. Nifty simple game and great execution. Congrats on finishing!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:04am

This is the most fun I've had yet

I love the concept-- a great twist on a game like tetris (where you make use of space) and arcade style games where you are just trying to survive. The money and timer was a nice touch.

My only suggestion; the single blocks are clearly tactically superior yet they cost the least. I get th You should flip this. Unless I'm really misunderstanding something, the 25$ pieces are 100% the way to go. UNLESS the pay off you get when the timer ticks down is a multiplier of the more complex pieces. Maybe I'm missing something but my best runs were a few big blocks in the middle and then pretty much all single blocks.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:06am

tetris in space?! I had to. :) really interesting concept!

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:06am

tetris in space?! I had to. :) really interesting concept! Great style.

starpixie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:12am

Interesting puzzle game. Strong mechanic. A bit too random at times; rate of gain for the different parts was difficult to glean.

Music was good... and then became annoying over time. Something more background-y and less do DO do DO do DO might have been nicer. But very impressive piece of music nonetheless.

Moving debris/star field was distracting. Also, pacing of the game felt too fast.

Overall, the game was good and seemed tres polished.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:38am

Cool game! great Gameboy style graphics

timtipgames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:41am

My favorite game so far, nothing to add to the good suggestions in the comments so far :)

teamross says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:43am

I enjoyed a lot.
These graphics are sooo good and polished.
Solid entry!

dsmeathers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Loved it

Geti says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:03am

Great! Really quite fun, but very hard! Would have been nice if most of the space junk was destroyed on collision or similar, it was pretty easy to miss a piece and get half your ship destroyed :) The scaffolding modules were very useful though.

Horsed says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:45am

Wow, I like the idea. Tetris with economics. You've got to watch a lot of stuff on the screen but once I got familiar with it, I had a lot of fun maximizing my profit. Two complaints: Either the junks hit boxes or the blocks hit boxes are to large and the music is terrible ;-) Aside from that, really good entry!

May 10, 2016 @ 12:02am

Loved the way everything looked and felt. The art was pretty fantastic and the feel was top notch.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]