Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

GeoRun

by zwrawr - Compo Entry

My first LD entry , the quality of this is probably what you'd expect for a first go.
I've made many small test games in unity but i've never really finished them , this isnt an exception. I did spend as much time on this as i would of liked to , hopefully i have more free time next ludumdare. Ive seen screen shots of people pulling this type of game off much better in LD35.

There are three 'shapes' you can play as in the game and you can 'shift' between them. each one has some unique abilities.

Blue shape can jump 1 block and moves very fast but cannot push objects.
Pink/Purple shape can jump 2 blocks but it's tall and cannot fit in a lot of places.
Red shape cannot jump but can push blocks

A/D : Move left and right
space : Makes the player jump
up/down : Make the player 'shapeshift'
F : toggles fps

Edit:
Yes this "game" is super short , the room at the end is the end

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#320Theme3.58
#496Audio2.60
#563Humor1.91
#586Mood2.74
#661Graphics2.66
#773Innovation2.58
#773Fun2.64
#775Overall2.81

Comments

grayhaze says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:12am

Well done for getting as far as you did, and welcome to LD. :)

With a bit more work this could be a fun little platformer. The controls didn't feel terribly responsive, but the basic mechanics of the three different abilities worked well. Good work!

Souperstrawer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:15am

Cool idea. I just feel that the physics-based movement is a bit too wonky and i tend to get stuck as a result of that. Graphics are nice and simple and particle effects look beautiful.

thomz12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Cool game! like mentioned before, the controls don't feel responsive. I like the simple graphics, and particle effects. Well done!

GameQuester says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Good first entry. I somehow ended up in this lighted room on the right. Did I missed something or is this the end?

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Cool idea here, I liked the feeling of jumping and midair shapeshifting to get into a spot or through a gap. That felt pretty good. I wasnt sure if I had "finished" when I got the room, some UI feedback would've been awesome. Great job for your first LD entry! It's mine too, I'd love for you to check out my game, Tito's Revenge!

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:14am

Welcome to LD. Next time, make the loop longer, I had to turn it of! Haha

orukinawa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:14pm

Reminded me of Thomas Was Alone cept all the characters were mashed into one. The physics and platforming controls are a bit unrefined (I got pushed out of the stage after shapeshifting in mid air) and overall it's a fun game.

P.S: I fixed the bug you found in my game. Thx for helping :D

zwrawr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:24pm

@orukinawa i did consider naming it "Thomas Was Clone"

I know its buggy , i would of needed to make sure there was room for the new shape before i let you transform into it.

egos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:06pm

well realized and fit the theme
the control arent really smooth

uprightpath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:11pm

The game itself was alright; a bit clunky. I felt like I was supposed to be able to pick up the coins but couldn't. Also got stuck in some places due to the platform physics, especially with the jumping thing. I got caught in that spot between the half blocks up top and I couldn't get out of that little space.

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Nice concept and use of the theme. Controls were a bit off for me and the collision was probably a little to perfect for this game, maybe circle collider would have worked better on the blocks, I actually managed to get blocks stuck in such a way that I could get through and had to start over. But over all, not bad. Sound was good too. Nice job on first entry!

aeai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Nice idea, and I really liked the minimalist art style.

Arnage says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:16pm

You shouldn't undersell your own game so much, it's not bad at all. Almost everyone intents to make something bigger and better than what they manage to build before time runs out. (If they even manage to finish something to begin with...)

Just learn from the process and use that to your advantage next time :)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:18pm

Very nice idea, and good use of the theme- The controls however are a bit frustrating, but nothing a bit of polish can't fix.
Good job.

AngerFork says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Well done. It took me a little off guard when I would wind up unintentionally going through blocks in the world (bug perhaps?), but all in all well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]