Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Disquieting Excerpts from My Diary

by ViliX64 - Compo Entry

Confront the reality of loss in this little adventure. For more detailed description and plot explanation, visit my blog (the explanation link). Also should you get stuck, there's a detailed walkthrough in the link mentioned before.

NOTE: The gameplay lasts about 10-15 minutes. The theme is not in the mechanics, but in the story - it may take a while before you figure out the meaning.

Downloads and Links




swellbastion says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:14am

This is the longest I've spent on a game so far. The story/mood are really intruiging

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:21am

Love the story and graphics are pretty interesting for this style of game. It plays better than any other game of this type I've played. Good job!

ougrouk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:26am

Well thanks for this game it was a nice experience!
Very moody

mf1214 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:27am

Interesting idea for the theme! Great job!

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:28am

Really cool. I spent a while on it, just enjoying the atmosphere.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:28am

this is a pretty good game. i like these types.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:29am

Very well done. Played through to the end. The mechanics and sparse environments worked very well with the theme. Great use of silhouettes to allow the player to project there own ghosts onto.

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:35am

Nice job. Draws you in and makes you want to solve the puzzles.

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:49am

i spent a bit too long looking for the book at the beginning lol

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:50am

Oh Wow, I was not expecting to feel playing all these games.

I played it all the way through. Though the puzzles were interesting they weren't mind-blowing, though the adventure setting was ominous and intriguing it wasn't anything terribly new or exciting and didn't terribly capture the theme in my opinion.

Instead the element I liked the most was the way the narrative was weaved into the game and I felt like I was exploring a tiny fraction of a very complicated situation.

It was a very well rounded experience, it did what it set out to do and did it well! A bite-sized morsel of adventure with a satisfying ending.

A couple of things I noticed a little awry though: in the anger level the note at the end says "trust si such a fragile thing". Certain objects/characters don't logically change their responses after you fulfil certain criteria, such as locks on the anger level and the logic puzzle level still saying they're locked even though I just unlocked them and can move freely through them, as well as the depression man still wanting a poem even after I gave him one.

Those small things however did nothing to detract from this heartfelt, honest and moving piece of work. I really enjoyed it, well done!

_beta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:57am

Nive game, like the intrige

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Graphics were cool, and a really interesting game. Great job!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:21pm

Very nice story, even despite the lack of sound, which is generally a large component in the mood aspect, you did create a very nice sense of atmosphere. As for the story, it kept me engaged all along. Puzzles at first seemed a bit odd, but then it all clicked and made perfect sense. Great job!

ezombort says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Great game well done!

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:13am

this game had a whole bunch of atmosphere, i really liked that sort of sparse melody in the background. kept me intrigued enough to play all the way through!

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:25pm

I like the quiet/introspective games just as much if not more than the action-based ones. Especially the ones that have really original takes on the theme given. Great entry.

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:02pm

Really nice story telling, loved the logic puzzle in the end too. well done.

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:01am

Really liked it

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Excellent mood. Bonus points for being bold enough to take the theme outside of game-space.

I lost mah pen, though.

Patomkin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:51am


in3orn says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:39pm

I like this game so much that I wrote a short review about it. Hope you like it:


miwuc says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Nice game with quite a lot of content, I was impressed. I particularly liked the little logic puzzle. Well done!

axoona says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:45pm

great mood!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Pretty good point and click. I found the puzzles to be very straight forward though.

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]