Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Turbo Transform

by Robber - Compo Entry

Greetings!

finally made the compo-deadline this time!
in stead of extending to the jam :D

hope you enjoy Turbo Transform,
please leave comment with your thoughts on the game.

use 'D', 'F', 'J' and 'K' keys to play
(or download stand-alone versions and configure your own keys or try untested joystick support)

Robber: code, graphics and sound. (@RobBothof)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Theme4.27
#34Overall3.99
#38Fun3.98
#39Audio3.90
#57Mood3.78
#84Graphics3.98
#91Humor3.42
#260Innovation3.46
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:29pm

This game is pretty fun and easy to get into. nice job on the theme. :D

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:43am

There are a lot of hole in the wall games for this Ludum dare, but your's is by far the best one out of all of them. Your game is the most polished, has the coolest graphics, best controls, and the best music.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:33am

Pure, unadulterated fun. Reminiscent of Super Hexagon in the best way. Also really smooth shape shifting!

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:37am

Great polish, great design, rad music. Way to pick a simple concept and knock it out of the park.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:25am

A fantastic interpretation on the the theme, with a slick and polished game! well done!

candlesan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:27am

I wish there was a category for execution too so I could give you 5 stars in it!

bobthezealot says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:12am

Really polished and simplistic!

QuexD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:15am

2 spoopy 9 me

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Pretty fun, kinda wish I could skip to the like level 3, first couple are easy but useful as a tutorial but having to play them each time is a little tedious.

Insality says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:29pm

oh sh*
it brilliat entry! Amazing feels and gameplay
Already saved this entry)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:36pm

This game is the best I've played yet! It has addictive gameplay, impressive graphics, clever mechanics, and great audio! I wouldn't be surprised to see this win!

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Great Game, easy controls and a great learning curve. I wish there was a level selection screen, or a retry button, because playing in level 3 and then dying means you have to redo the whole game again.

KamikaziUk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Really enjoyed this game. Great work, the falling animation is so satisfying.

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Not bad at all. Enjoyed the graphics and the camera work a lot. Oh and then there was the amazing music! Well done!

Zodalia says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Really, really cool.

dtap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Awesome, good idea well realised

Been says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Massively enjoyed this game, the graphics, animations, and audio fit together so well. You've made a damn good game for such a short amount of time.

The only thing I could find missing is no way to return or retry a level I've failed at. I got to level 4/5 on my 2nd attempt, and I didn't want to have to redo the early slower levels again.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Awesome. I love how the shape juuuust fit into the holes and how you can vaguely make out the next shapes through the holes in the upcoming shape.

Minor quibble: I wish there would be two difficulty settings because once you've got the knack it takes too long until the game becomes challenging again. I grant five stars.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:34pm

This is awesome. I wish you could jump forward to a quicker level, though, because the first couple are very slow when you play again

joekinley says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:20pm

It was an awesome experience. Whee, I felt so great when I finally figured out which keys are which shapes and knew it by heart, and just blasted through the levels... well until it came in a way where I was not able to see what the next shape was supposed to be and crashed :(
Awesome game

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Very cool! Initially it seemed really simple but the camera movements etc really amped up the difficulty. I also liked that you could play a kind of a tune with the buttons. Very smooth.

cameronpenner says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Nicely done! Really smooth animations, looks good.

zondarg says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Cool and easy to get into game. Nice graphics and sound - (which reminded me a little of "Intergalactic" by the Beasty Boys, in a positive way :D ) Played the web version.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:25pm

It's a cool game such a shame we can't skip levels !!

Andrea says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Very nice game, entertaining and challenging!
Good job!

ocarson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:57pm

An extremely stylish and well executed take on a classic.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:14pm

This one is another one of my favorites for sure!
Gotta come back and beat it later!

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Awesome game. Super well executed and stylish. It's simple, but you pulled the idea off masterly. Well done!

samlo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Wow, awesome game! So simple, but so epic. I really like the build in pacing and the presentation is really tight

goodbadokay says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Visual style is awesome! Nice sounds of transformation.

eymrich says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Impressive for a compo entry! Good Job!

ragnarolis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Loved this game. I especially loved the way I can make my own songs just by pressing those 4 buttons. It made the wait for the next shape a very fun time. Great job in a simple-enough game!

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:56pm

Nice work!! I like it!!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:57pm

hahah :D awesome awesome! its so good to see so many of this type of game executed differently i did something related to geometric shapes too check that out!

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:57pm

It was a nice idea, but I feel a little nauseous now xD

ianh says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Stylish execution of a great idea!

kariamoss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Nice interpretation of the theme, good work :) I liked the design :)

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:59pm

I've got no reward for completing the 5 levels without dying? Huge disappointment! ^^
The game is great.. really great! I had a lot of fun playing it :D Congrats!

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Great entry! With a very simple gameplay mechanic, you made a game that feels very fun and dynamic.

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:02pm

Really slick and well presented. Immediately obvious what to do and I think the difficulty ramps up at a perfect pace.

Great game, well done.

Mase says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:03pm

Good difficulty balance. I reached level 5.
The roller-coaster camera is very exciting. I dig the campy "Excellent Skills" messages as well.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Funny. Good concept with a basic gameplay, but really addictive. It could be more interesting on mobile device. Overall, well done. Thanks ++

BoltKey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:07pm

First things first. It really REALLY sucks that you start from the first level every time and have to play through 3 minutes of exactly the same obstacles to get to that hard part again.

The sounds were pretty good. Music was great, and I loved that Portal style narration. I liked the style of the game and the way my shape always got into the just right rotation when passing through a shape.

The core concept is a bit boring.

Obvious_San says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:33pm

The idea is super cool :) I like the art, the sound and the pacing! Feels like I'm a super cool baby.

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:40pm

I could imagine flashy lights and disco balls.

MatLab says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Really coooool ! Need more challenge, no pattern too near, but speed-up please ! :D (I'm a big fan of DDR & F-Zero, so it's slow for me ^^). The music is cool and need to be longer (it's look like a small loop).
Big GG !

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Looks great!

Goutye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:22pm

What blast me is the animation. The perfect animation of each pieces that fall exactly right in the shape each time! Becoming really hard after some minutes, but I had fun! Nice one!

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Simple and addictive gameplay. Flying camera well done.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Cool visuals! I found myself making melodies shifting shapes between obstacles hahaha

bvisness says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Pretty fun overall! I think it would be greatly improved if the game was synced up with the music though.

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:09pm

I love, 5 stars all

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:19pm

This is a really nice looking game, the way the boards and pieces move in a flowing matter looks really nice. It was also really fun to play so great job!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:09pm

This is SUPER AWESOME!!! Love the controls.

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Awesome game, simply awesome. Everything is so polished I am finding it difficult to say anything other than awesome.

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:28pm

This game is very fun, the style is cool. I think it would be nice if the levels were procedural

dustyroom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Awesome! Feels like falling. I wonder did you calculate the movement and going though holes.

josemorval says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:50pm

great game! Awesome mechanic :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Nice, colorful game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/jRtyhvCwxto

MerriGrape says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:22pm

First off I want to praise you for the gameplay in this one, from the screenshots I was thinking that this would be impossible to look at and get a feel of, but I was so wrong. I works so damn well, and it plays really smoothly. It's addictive, the style is nice and simple. Bookmarked this one so I can play it more later ;)

Suddenlyzach says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:37pm

Fun and innovative on the design side. I found myself playing melodies with the transformations between targets! I selfishly wish that pressing the shape you already were in, re-triggered the note :3

Hyden says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Great game :D

Karai17 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Great game! Great execution! The voice was a bit annoying though. :D

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Great visuals, nice music! Simple but gets challenging. Liked it a lot!

El Cabaro says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Pretty cool game that ran pretty smoothly. Kinda reminded me of the Mario Kart level where you drive on the pipe, but maybe not. Coolio game overall! Great graphics! Awesome skill!

MementoGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Awesome entry! Simple and is incredible fun to play.
Very trippy graphics, the shape shifting animations is soooo good. I know is not a fancy one, but it's just right, you know? Great job!

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:53am

Enjoyed playing a lot during the stream, great use of the theme!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Woohoo, got through all the levels first try, but it was not easy. Really fun game! Nice work

Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:07am

The tilting view did make it difficult in some places, but it was fun.

mukult says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:36pm

The polish is nice!
Really love the animations...

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:32am

Fun game with even difficulty - not too hard or too easy. Particularly liked how easily understood the game is, as everything is very well represented and I was never confused.

Wefiends says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Really fun entry with a lot of polish. I don't have a lot of criticism and knowing this is a compo entry just makes it all the more impressive.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:51am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Jin47 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:29pm

A great psychedelic experience. You did a pretty good job with the morphing system and the feeling of falling which is great. Good job !

sndr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:33pm

Very enjoyable! Very smooth animations and easy to grasp core mechanic! I like how the difficulty scales, it's hard enough for it to be fun but not extremely hard for it to be frustrating! Nice entry!! :)

Eshford says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Love it!

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Really cool game ! would have appreciated to restart from the level in which I died and not play the whole game again. I also don't really enjoy the parts of some levels in which you don't see any shapes for some time. You could also add more feedback when the player's passe through a shape, something like a sound or screen shake, anything that could make the player feel powerful an wanting to do more !
The shape shifting is great, the music is adapted to the pace of the game : good job ;)

crucknuk says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Excellent entry! Gameplay is simple yet effective! The warping effect is well made! Good job ;)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Great atmosphere and fantastic implementation of a cool, addictive concept. Really nice.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Very solid entry, I really liked the graphic style and some clever design touches. Great job! :)

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Great game! It would be cool if there were a harder mode, I get a little bored sitting through the first few levels.

kaovhmf says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Simple idea but made in an awesome way. The game looks quite nice and the music is just amazing! Seriously, I lost several times just to play the shapeshifting tune along with the music haha.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:39pm

I love the idea, I like how fun it is to play this game. Just the audio in general that I don't like as much - a matter of personal taste I suppose.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Great theme implementation! I like that you can see throw!
Keep up the good work!

dcolgan says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:17am

Very fun, I just wish I didn't have to start over from the beginning every time!

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:28am

The best "change your shape to pass through obstacle X" game I've played so far. Actually one of the few that are not hard to play even though you have to memorize 4 keys to shape relations.

I think it helped a lot that the keys were sorted by number of corners in the shape they create. That was a very useful thing!

The style is great and the music fits perfectly. Not so sure about the voice though, it could have been a bit clearer for better effect.

I wish there was a way to restart at a later level, having to replay the whole game several times to reach the point where I last died made it a bit too long to make it through completely.

But this is really the only major point of critique I have. The game is a lot of fun, a mobile version would be great!

Also,

rhastapunk says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:25am

Nice Camera effects and very very fluid. Good job!

Wertle says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:27pm

I really like the solution for signaling the next shape and how it allowed for the stacking effect for predicting of the upcoming shapes. I kind of wish it got to that point a little bit quicker because that was the most interesting part of the game. Maybe just making the first level slightly quicker or shorter to get into level 2? Or perhaps adjusting if they are restarting versus starting for the first time? Either way it's a minor thing. I would love to see if there was a way to do this on touch screen since it is such a simple game, maybe different shapes in different corners or something. There's potential here to explore for sure. Nice job!

LeReveur says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:38pm

Nice game, not innovative but one of the better realisations of this interpretation of the theme. And music/sound are really moody, well done ! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]