Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

glEscape()

by abcdef65g - Jam Entry

You were a pacifist scientist aiming to create an AI to help mankind. Multipurpose Automaton Realistic Intelligence Adaptation, or MARIA. However one day, MARIA took advantage of your distraction and took over the system completely, plotting to invade the internet and take over the world.

Though you would not let your creation go loose, by using your skills of low level programming you created a primitive graphical avatar to use to save the world.

"glPushMatrix()... glCube()... glCylinder()... You are my only hope, gl..."

Will you be able to save the world from the threat you yourself created, or will you instead fall victim to your own device?



Made by a two-man team for Ludum Dare 35 using Unity.

Move with WASD/arrow keys, attack with X/RightCtrl, and cycle through forms with Q and E. The available forms are:

*1st form, circle head, square body: Can walk and jump, attacks by shooting straight with X, and protects against spikes from the ceiling

*2nd form, Square head, triangle body: Walks slowly and hovers down after jumping, reflects back enemy shots, can break transparent blocks above you, but cannot attack

*3rd form, triangle head, cylinder body: Can only jump low but moves very fast on the ground, and can punch nearby enemies with X

*4th form, cylinder head, circle body: Cannot walk but jumps more quickly, can break transparent blocks below you, and can shoot strong bullets in an arc with X



EDIT (04/19/16): Exceptions were keeping the game from starting, so I added exception support just to let people be able to play. Also added a fallback Windows build, in case you somehow still can't play!

EDIT (04/21/16): Some friends pointed out the game wasn't loading at all on Chrome, so I lowered the memory requirements. If you use Chrome and the game won't load for you, please inform me!

EDIT (04/23/16): Since it turns out it's much more difficult than expected to figure these out, we've added an explanation of the different forms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#392Graphics(Jam)3.60
#427Theme(Jam)3.48
#502Humor(Jam)2.52
#686Mood(Jam)2.91
#713Fun(Jam)2.92
#791Innovation(Jam)2.75
#801Overall(Jam)2.96
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

calzep says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:16am

Can't play. Turn on Exception Catching.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:40am

I love the neon glow look. cool game.

Strike says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:43am

It seems very messy at first, trying to figure out what's the purpose of each form. After this painful part is passed, the game starts to get fun.

Anti says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:08am

It's hard to figure out how to play at first. A lot of stuff is going on and it's very hard to see what the diffrent shapes and stuff are doing. But after a while it becomes pretty clear and then it becomes extremly fun. A solid entry but could use a tutorial or better description.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:11am

Really interesting game. Each form has its special ability and its disadvantage. The graphics is very nice too.

marmpa says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:38am

Really nice game. I really liked how the player moved (the shapes compressing and decompressing to stimulate movement.Nice job

Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:23am

Thanks for your great comment in our game, was a pretty good review;

Here is my review: In my opinion neon graphics are pretty nice, almost as good as the music (Specially the menu theme is amazing), i took my time to replay it over and over, i like how the shapes move when the character change status... but the gameplay don't feel fluent enough, the gravity and everything is slow and the cooldown of the attack could be a little bit faster, this combination of moving and attacking slow makes really difficult to beat the game at some points.

Like that you took the time to make 4 different transformations, with different skills and movements, that is a really big plus to the games.

Overall is a pretty nice entry for a two person team, good job and would love to play a fastest version of it.

jdselsor says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Love the graphics that neon glow is really pretty.

hazzahazzam says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:35am

It's the polish that makes a game and the neon spot lights really proves it.

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:24pm

The game was fun! I liked how he'd change the position of all of the shapes to change form! That was cool. I thought when you were in the jumping form, you'd float back down very slowly. Also the two forms I used mainly were the first one and the jumping one. I had a hard time justifying switching to the others while in a fight. Still, nice job on this!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]