Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Slicer

by GoudaGames - Compo Entry

Slice shapes into other shapes, as simple as that!

This game was fun to make. It was the first proper 3D game I ever finished, and the first time ever I made a game in Unity. I believe it turned out rather good.

The game was meant to be hard, and I think it might be too hard. Tell me what you think! Good hard or too hard?

Enjoy!

DISCLAIMER: Linux and Mac OS X version untested, please tell me if they work or not.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Innovation3.71
#327Theme3.57
#523Graphics2.90
#532Overall3.14
#649Mood2.63
#762Fun2.67
#1902Coolness28%

Comments

TheCain says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:30am

Unique and interesting. Ridiculously hard though.

GoudaGames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:59am

Yeah, I wanted it to be hard. Might have overdone it though :P

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Very difficult indeed, but I like the idea. Took me a while to figure out the mechanics, and it would have been nice with a couple of more slow moving levels to begin with. But, still an interesting concept.

dsmeathers says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Really good take on the theme. It feels like there's a really, really good game hiding in there, but I had to give up on the second level because it's too hard.

If it was hard because you had to think about how to arrange the slicers to make it work then that would be really good. Unfortunately its hard because you don't have anywhere near enough time to place them, they get removed between each attempt, and they're kind of awkward to place (you have to click on the track rather than being able to click near it).

So yeah, I don't think it's too difficult, I think it's the wrong kind of difficulty. It should be logical difficulty not mechanical difficulty.

I'm honestly kind of gutted because it seems like this could be a really great game but as it stands right now, it's just too frustrating to play. Sorry!

GoudaGames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:01pm

@dsmeathers I'm really sorry to hear that! I definitely understand you, while I like the quick gameplay combined with fast thinking, but I know others don't.

I'm considering making a Post Compo version, and will definitely take you're thoughts into an account.

katorovitalo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:14pm

I like difficult games, I do not however like when the games are difficult due to control issues. It feels there is a good idea for a game here but the controls are stopping me from enjoying it. Still, that being said, I like the groundwork you got here. I like the minimalist design of everything and I haven't encountered any bugs, so nice work! You should continue tweaking this game and making it better because I would love to play a future version of this game! :)

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Interesting idea but the levels start way too quickly and it's rather complicated to position things. You can only increase the difficulty once people are used to the controls and concept.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:00pm

First of all, the idea is great! It was kinda hard, but I've completed a few levels and it was fun.

I really appreciate that you've made some some kind of learning curve, but the game was still hard.

Exceptional difficulty makes it less fun.
I understand that you made it interesting for yourself, but whenever you make a game, almost always your players will be surprisingly unskilled at it from your point of view.
You're the developer, you're always going to be one of the best players in your own game.

Let me tell you about my game as an example: I'm (almost) not hardcore platformer player, but I'm able to complete all 15 levels with 3-6 death with little efforts. On the other hand, my players were often unable to finish. One of them who actually did, said that he got ~80 deaths. And that's expected result, I think other players got similar scores.

This should give you an idea on how better you are at your game than your players.

This is some ideas on how you can make it more player-friendly: You can, for example, spawn multiple boxes and let players freely place and destroy machines; remove 1 box limit, but add time limit. But that may sound too easy. If you don't want it to be that easy, you can at least add few seconds of delay before the box starts moving; this would allow players to think and to start placing machines before the box moves.

But, don't worry about this too much. The game is still fun to play and pretty unique. Good job.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Very innovative game. It is hard, as many people mention, but I think if you implement some sort of start timer - that way you still have hard game as intended, but less frustrating with all the level restarts. Nice game, I'd definitely play more.

GoudaGames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Thank you all for your feedback! I'll keep them in mind if I decide to make a post compo version of the game.

kabel says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:47pm

I completed the first few levels, but it wasn't fun...
Don't get me wrong, this was a great take on the theme, graphics looked nice, only some SFX and music was missing.
Sadly, this was simply based on how fast you click, and for me that's not fun. It's not that I don't like difficult games, it's more about the terrible controls.
HolyBlackCat pointed out pretty well, that games like this need to be tested, and then tested again.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Interesting puzzle about box slicing.

LeftRight92 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:37am

A really good concept, but I feel the fact you went for a near reactions-based difficulty detracts from the game.

May 2, 2016 @ 11:11am

Way to unnecessarily hard. I understand wanting to make the puzzles difficult to figure out but I couldn't even move my mouse fast enough when I knew the answer. Just giving the player a chance to set the board before the conveyors started would change the whole feel.

Arvydas says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:45pm

The mechanics are really nice and innovative, but i don't like the fact that to achieve a shape you SHOULD put the slicers in a specific ways, and other ways that give you the same final shape don't count.

UncleChris says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:45pm

I feel it was very difficult to figure out, lots of reading that then would cause you to lose your place as the blocks started moving and level over.

Needed more time to get accustomed to the interface and instructions before the block started. Too much to read and then RESTART, at least restart was the level and not back to beginning. I had to figure out what I already knew and what was up, and the block was already moving.

I had to give up on the mirror placement level, cause it was impossible to click all the locations for me in time before the block started down the path.

Also the difference wasn't enough between the various machine buttons which were available and those not available. Maybe during your "tutorial" levels, you greyed out or didn't even display those. They added TOO much interface to look over. Crank up the difficulty after a player understands the basics.

I agree with others, mentally hard and physically hard are very different and tutorial levels shouldn't start out on hardcore/insane mode. Made me lose interest quickly in an interesting idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]