Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Space Petting Zoo Crisis!

by monika - Jam Entry

Very incomplete (bad weekend), but I figured I'd post it since it's playable and has a win condition. It's basically a proof of concept.

It's a game designed for three players on one big shared monitor and three smartphones. You can play it single-player, but the map is kind of big and you have to walk around a lot. You can also now mirror the shared screen so you can play with remote friends.

As is, you control your little character by clicking on your phone screen while you search the map for yellow rectangles that are *totally* power generators. Each one can be turned on to face one or more other power generators, and you can cycle between them by clicking. You win the game if you manage to point them all at each other in such a way that all eight are connected in a loop. There is a single solution.

(If it has trouble generating puzzles, that's because it was tested for 6 generators and I changed it last minute. Let me know if it repeatedly fails.)

There are also both objects and monsters disguised as objects hiding around the world, but currently they don't actually attack you so you can ignore them. The original plan was to have each monster attack each type of character in a set pattern, with monsters avoiding groups of players, to make you decide between going fast by splitting up and staying safe by exploring together. But that didn't happen in time so just pretend the monsters you can just barely see out of the corner of your eye are attacking you.

The art is all free svg packs and super placeholdery, so if you art and like the concept, get in touch.

Update: Some UI fixes to make it easier to figure out where the generators are pointing, and figure out how close you are to finding the solution. A QR Code generator to speed up setting up the game over multiple devices. Mirroring. Optional easy modes and motion smoothing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#492Innovation(Jam)3.12
#570Humor(Jam)2.39
#817Overall(Jam)2.95
#892Mood(Jam)2.58
#967Fun(Jam)2.54

Comments

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Innovative, as always. When I tried it I only had one other player (not two). We couldn't quite figure out how to win, and that might be because we weren't three players, but a really interesting framework for sure!

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Waiting in room JZXR for a couple of people so we can rate this game :)

Millefey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:02pm

I managed to "win" on my second round (I didn't want to give up)! 8 posts might be a bit too much for a single player though, since it takes a while to get across the screen to tweak the directions. It's also very likely more fun with more players (as intended). But I do like the concept!

Arg410 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:03pm

Great I love it. I took about 30 mins trying to "win" (sadly i still haven't) But I will play this some more when im bored, maybe bring some friends!!

danbolt says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:37am

I love games that use smartphones as personal controllers, especially over web, so you're making me fall in love with you right now! The idea seems super cool to do with friends. I think I'll have to give it a go when I have some buddies over.

The only two things I found a bit hard was traversing across the map, especially just to switch two power generators, and the "janky" motion when moving. If there was some sort of animation smoothing, that would be really cool.

Otherwise, super idea. Thanks for sharing!

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:05pm

I played by myself and it was really difficult to visualize the whole map and point the arrows correctly, so I can imagine how playing with buddies would help. It definitely has potential!

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:43am

Wish I had more people to play this with!

Afendar says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:26am

great job, i like concept but I'm very sad that you have not finished. But is functional in first time.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:42am

Innovative idea. Nice artwork. A good entry!
Please have a look on my entry, too.

orukinawa says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:36am

I was really impressed by the system set up to host/join games. The qr code really made things easier. Gonna try the actual game later with friends.

marod says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:36am

Nice game!

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:43pm

hard to launch but nice game

nlbi21 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Nice game i like the concept good job.

Muel says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:47pm

The multiplayer concept is awesome!

Wertle says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Super props for tackling online multiplayer game for a jam (and getting it working!). I enjoy games that are easy for people to join in, as you could do with the QR. I feel like there's some things here that would be interesting to explore further, but it was difficult to get a feel for what the gameplay would be like. I did like the dichotomy in having a host with a large view and the individual players only having small views so that the host could have some sort of communicative role (though that might be difficult with remote players who aren't in the same room). Otherwise it was tricky to understand what the arrows indicated, like if touching the generator again would switch to that specific direction, or if it was indicating that a second connection could be made. Probably just needed some UI clarity. Nice job tackling the online portion, that stuff is super hard. If you continue this, it might be easier to prototype the rest of the game just on one screen first to flesh out the context, because that the moment I can't get a feel for what it's going to be like. Nice work!

MayankUnreal says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:20am

Nice innovative idea and great game design.

broknecho says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:27am

Super neat Idea! Definitely innovative. I liked how it was a co-op puzzle game. Pretty difficult tackling something like this on a weekend project. Kudos for getting some going!

Keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]