Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Fast Dungeon

by Andreas Brandt - Jam Entry

Game for the Ludum Dare 35 - Shapeshift
Graphics: Alfonso Elola
Programming: Andreas Brandt

We are a team from Caracas Venezuela, this is our second Gamejam together, the idea of the game is to beat the shapeshifter demon, the game itself was to ambitious for a 72h hours jam, even so we haven't finish all the ideas we got in mind, still pretty happy with the final result, the game was made in javascript using the html5 canvas (no game engines). Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#81Graphics(Jam)4.31
#296Audio(Jam)3.34
#598Overall(Jam)3.19
#600Mood(Jam)3.03
#663Humor(Jam)2.17
#693Fun(Jam)2.94
#1032Innovation(Jam)2.28
#1098Theme(Jam)2.10

Comments

hellojed says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Really great art and sprite work. Rather difficult controls, however.

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Controls feel a bit unpolished, but the art style is spot on; would be great to be able to control jump and attacks (and attacks while moving!).

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:56am

Looks really nice and the gameplay was fun, too.

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:35pm

very nice art and animation, especially for the playable character!
i agree with what others are saying about the controls, but i think this is really lovely.

LazyDaniPanda says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:40pm

As mentioned by others, the controls are off.
The level design was also rather simple in structure.
Art style and animation were great though.

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:11pm

really cool graphics! the drawings are amazing.

ployer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:36pm

controls are weird. the placement of some enemies make it almost impossible to not take damage. Art is amazing. well done!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Amazing artwork. Lack of control of jumping is a bit hard to deal with when you are platforming. I like the rogue-like element of progression.

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:40pm

The art and the music is great, otherwise i'm just echoing everyone else in terms of slightly off controls

Monklet80 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Gorgeous, but so hard! Very twitchy controls, and she does a weird double jump thing that's not helpful. Love the dead character portrait. Good work.

xclementx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Beautiful game !

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Nice graphics. Controls are a bit unresponsive. I do wish combat was a bit more deliberate, with slow moving enemies and telegraphed timings right at the start.

Holtenice says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Nice visuals, a bit difficult controls. Gameplay reminded me a lot of my old gameboy favourite "Fortress of Fear" :)

Llucile says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:21pm

I think something is wrong with the game. My character is stuck in the first level and always waving its sword in the air (despite the fact I had the time to give a look to the second level before I died jumping -jump control is not really smooth).
So I won't rate the whole game, just the mood and the graphics which were AWESOME.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Nice game, but very frustrating. When dying multiple times, it's easy to try to rush the level, to end up in spikes...

Note: you should opt out Audio as your game doesn't have any audio.

V4lesti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:31pm

As others mentionned, the controls need some work. For instance, when holding the spacebar down, the character keeps jumping. The controls seems a bit laggy in general.

Also, having to restart everything when falling into a trap seems very punishing (especially when the enemies don't always kill you in one hit).

Anyway the game looks great, unfortunately the music was not working for me (even in Chrome).

Improve the flow and controls and you get a really cool game :)

Been says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:32pm

I would've liked to play this more, but the controls were far to sensitive for my liking. Because you continue to jump while holding down the space bar I kept jumping immediately after landing on a platform and falling into the insta-death spikes.

I liked that your stats continued to grow through each life, made later tries a lot easier, but was still frustrating to play through the early levels again to get to where I stopped.

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:57pm

This game looks really good and the simple controls make it very appealing. I really wanted to get to see the final boss but some phases were just too difficult and deaths too punishing. Giving more space for the plyaer to take control (& more health maybe) can feel rewarding without making the game too simple.

arzi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Amazing art, I have to say! Quite ambitious game for LD too.

The platforms in the second room were quite hard to notice. I wondered for a long time what to do and then just decided to jump and was surprised I didn't die :D

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Cool game! The art and animation is amazing. Congrats!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Good looking, but I was feeling like playing dark soul; i started farming for a while, but spikes and big mob killed me in one shot !

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Good music and animations!

Jun & Pate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42pm

cool art, though the music ramp up effect was neat. reminded me of some old-skool arcade machines.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Amazing art. I couldn't make it past the second set of spikes though

Just Tom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Retain experience and see how far you get is a great idea for a mechanic!

Controls are a little slidey and the spikes are a little harsh, particularly when you hit them side on.

Otherwise very pretty and readable; enemies look particularly good!

zondarg says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Wow, really, really nice graphics, and driving sound loop, liked the filter effect there. I fiddled with the controls though, in the second screen I got stuck several times. But fun nevertheless.

domrein says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:48pm

So hard. After a few attempts I figured out how to whack things pretty good. But I don't get how it relates to the theme at all.

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:24am

I agree with what most are saying, controls are a bit hard but the art is GREAT

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:01am

Thanks for all the comments, we were trying to imitate maplestory controls, but maybe wasn't the best idea, i'll need to work in this for the post jam version, @domrein the idea was that the boss had may more forms, but only 72 hours, as we say was to ambitious, right now the boss only have 3 forms, and the sprite of the third one was really complicated.

jordgubben says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:07pm

It took me an embarrassing amount of time to understand that the first room actually had a door to a second room. That said the pixel works, and especially the backgrounds, are very pretty. GJ

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:05am

A good game. Great sprites and not cloying music. Difficulty at the right level.
If possible, would you play the team's game in which I participated and give your opinions.

Hectigo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:48am

The controls could be improved by adding a bit of inertia, increasing jump height and requiring a new space bar press for each jump. Making the spikes not kill you from the side and less punishing restarts would also make the game less frustrating. I quit before the end after repeatedly getting back to the beginning.

Nice graphics and great music though.

Strike says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:03am

Nothing new to add. So I'll just give you a great "congratulations" ;)

fizzhog says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Nice graphics. Controls need some tweaking. Theme?

freeloader says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:08pm

The controls are a bit diffult, and the loop really annoys. But great art, the main character is really cute

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Audio and graphics are stunning. It is hard to see the theme, but good work!

t4u says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Top-notched music, sounds and graphic. Love the idea of exping. Ratehr weak connection to the theme.

Took me about 40 deaths, 20 of which are dedicated to second platform in 3rd room.

Overall: I throughtly enjoyed it.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Loved it. Great graphics and mechanics. Platforming aspect was pretty tough. If I could jump just a little higher...
music was decent but just a little repetitive. Wouldve liked a few more attack moves as well. Overall, a great entry!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Great sprites, the platforming was kinda hard and the arc of the sword swing felt very limited though.

egos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:22pm

so well polished
I agree with other the control are a bit strange and espacialy with the jump
I like the grind/farm xp option

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:51am

I really the like the level progression dynamic with each death, it makes death less frustrating. The game is great, though the controls could be better, and the floating eyeballs hit way too hard! Would have liked some more shapeshifting other than the boss, too.

Have to say though, the art is phenomenal, specially for a single artist's job. The two did well, but I have to give Mr. Alfonso Elola my regards for his backgrounds, platforms and animated sprites, all within 72 hours.

I think you guys should keep working on the game after the jam, add a lot more stages and enemies, and finish it!

wavertron says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:08am

Great art. Would have loved some sfx when attacking/hitting (even just some basic placeholder sounds) and as others have said... better controls. Did make it feel very rough tbh. Still an exceptional base to build upon post jam

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Wow. Great looking game! the Audio is stellar. I love the quieter music on the continue screen. Very nice level of polish!

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Great work with arts and sound.I wish there were more levels and variations.

samlo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Nice game! Beautiful art - other people have already talked about the controls so I won't go into that, but I do wish there was some more variation in gameplay/levels!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Wow on those graphics!!! I really don't know what to say!! Like if I could give you 10 stars then I would!!!!! Fantastic job!!!!!!!!!

eduardogacn says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Good Game :D

terryg says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:21pm

dose not fit with theam but it is fun and awesome

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:32am

I feel like the attack animation is a bit slow, keeps getting me into trouble. The art and audio are great. Love how the portrait changes based on health. Allowing the player to keep their current level after death is a great idea, considering the number of times i died. ><

nyaki says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:32am

Graphics and music are really good, but I found the difficulty a bit to high. There are some cases where it is always impossible to get through without taking damage for the first 2 tries.
Also I would disable input during the fading part as I died a lot because I kept pressing the right when entering the new room running into spikes instantly... :D

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Music sets a clear rhythm. Elegant graphics. Nice platformer, I've played for about 10 minutes until game let me go. Really want to know the story. The main character is very cute.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Nice graphics but the combat isn't fun

webadev says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Graphics
Pretty good, all designs super cool !
Audio
Nice music and sounds
Gameplay
Awful, the principal difficulty of this game was the controls. Fixed jump are awful. Also, general gameplay wasn't really interesting, it's impossible to avoid the final boss with these controls, so the principal strategy is to lvl up and bash him. And it takes time.

General
Good game on the form, but after 2min i got bored

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:50pm

The A and space bar keys are spread out just far enough to be uncomfortable. When going through a gate the character keeps moving so if you jump or move you usually move into spikes and having to grind for a few mins before you can play the game for real is a bit of a chore.

High quality animation and drawings.

If you didn't make the audio it's recommended to disable voting for it (no mention of audio author in your credits).

marmpa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Nice game.Good music and the gamed seemed really polished and hard worked.Good job!!!

fb_holzbaum says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:15pm

I think all of my critic points have already been mentioned before. So the positive aspects are that the game was fun to play and it is designed very nicely!
Great Job on the game overall =)

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Hi, nice game ! it's impossibile that you made it in only 74h O: We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:16pm

@zenmumbler we made the music, but is nothing special and Alfonso didn't want to get the credit, @Freank thanks for your comment, actually we did it in like 65h, i used some code from old jams like collisions and sound manager, but most of it was made in the jam :D, i'll but not today

Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Thanks everybody for all the good comments and the constructive critics, we know is a lot to polish there, but we didn't had the time to test it that good, we didn't even finish it, we planned to put some drops, doors, more boss transformations, and a lot more details... there are ton of small bugs, i lost like 10 hours (or more) just fixing bugs because the code base is so ugly that every bug was an odyssey.
Anyway i'm pretty happy with the result and will finish it probably with new code in the next month or two.

denycetm says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:07am

Controls were rough but it looked spectacular

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:27pm

the gameplay good be far better but the graphik are killing it !

May 1, 2016 @ 2:32am

Well, the graphics are great. Looks quite polished. The controls are finicky, particularly regarding the jumping mechanic. It was particularly frustrating when bats would fly underneath the reach of the sword swing. Also, please don't have the player start over at the first level every time...

Nice work, though!

kik0729 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 12:03pm

The art is really good!
But the attack barely did anything, as the enemies would not stop and still damage you

graebor says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Nice art! Found it very hard to attack + jump both with my left hand however. The spikes were also super unforgiving, which may have had to do with the feel of the jump.

3rdChance says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Beautiful graphics and I like the music. It's a bit hard to play =D

Insality says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:20pm

a solid game with very-very strong art!
grea job!

LeoM says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:54pm

Very hard !

I manage to reach the last room (the one with all the big monsters) 2 time in 30 try but after I missed a jump and rage quit. :)

randomhuman says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Amazing art and animation, and the gameplay is addictive despite a few issues with the controls. I also really like how the music goes tinny on the continue screen; just a small thing, but it feels really classy :)

Joror says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Very cool visuals, gameplay a tad straightforward - would have liked for the game 'continue' to actually set you back to the start of the current level.
A bigger 'strike' would have been cool to vary with (charge A?)

LeReveur says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Simple plateformer, not as polish on controls at it is well with graphics and music. But it's working, and that's good. :)

Uson Chen says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:54am

I like the art and great graphics

APantaloni says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:45am

Looks really good and I love the music. The fact that the character continues to jump if you keep spacebar pressed feels weird, and having to restart from the beginning can be a little frustrating. Sound effects of course would have been nice :) I don't want to seem overly critical, I really liked the game! Congrats and I'd love to see this developed further

May 3, 2016 @ 10:39pm

As many people mentioned before: very nice graphics, but the controls are a bit off. Also the level design needs some more attention. But overall, good job!

Yumeito says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Awesome Game :) Love it

danbolt says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:24am

Tough as nails, but really cool. I'd love to see it with gamepad support!

I really liked the shading with the sprites, and how your icon faded into a skeleton.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:19pm

This is absurdly difficult, the bats respawn too quickly and they shouldn't take more than one hit to kill, it's silly to have to grind for experience in a game like this. The controls are also too floaty for one-hit spike traps. I do love the graphics though, even if the attack feels over-animated.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]