Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShifterMaze

by drentsoft - Jam Entry

A quick puzzle maze game with 3 levels. Look for the green floor tile to win the level. Blue gates can only be passed by the cube. Red gates can only be passed by the sphere. Look for the colour coded plates on the floor to change shape. Hold shift to sprint.
The movement can be a bit buggy but generally speaking everything should work as expected. If the level restarts suddenly and you don't know why, you've probably fallen down a trap.

HOLD SHIFT TO MOVE FASTER

Levels are generated from an 8 colour png, each pixel corresponding to a tile.

This was meant to be a compo game but given the limited hours I had this weekend I couldn't get a running build in time for the deadline.

Continuations would be smoothing everything out, doing some actual maze design, adding sounds and textures and maybe adding more shapes.

Update: Fixed a small issue where the collider on the cube had turned round to make the levels completable. No other changes made.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#748Theme(Jam)3.05
#878Innovation(Jam)2.62
#1071Fun(Jam)2.29
#1145Overall(Jam)2.41
#1416Coolness44%

Comments

AGausmann says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:18am

(Running on Linux) I downloaded/extracted/ran the game and it complains that "there is no data folder".

AGausmann says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:38pm

UPDATE: I used the data folder from the Windows distribution, then it complained that it couldn't find mono. So I used the mono distributed with the game "Gerry Always Wins" with no errors, but no window.

drentsoft says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Thanks AGausmann, sorry about that, it's only tested on Windows and the download is as Unity output it so I'm not sure why that would be :(

thedashdude says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:58pm

I think if you moved faster this would be better, but it is a nice maze game.

drentsoft says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Thanks thedashdude, not sure if you found the shift sprint function. I chose a base speed that allowed easyish turning of corners but also added sprinting for faster movement.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Nice simple game. I do have a few suggestions though for future projects. It was a little confusing in the mazes to figure out the end goal; I know the panels for color changing were supposed to be hidden, but it might make more sense to call out the location of the end of the level so that players have an idea of their end goal.

Second, the controls were a little off, as you could free rotate the level but really needed to move along specific lines. I'm not sure how complex it would be in Unity (I've never used it), but it might be possible to limit movement along the lines of the mazes such that when a player presses a direction (say up) you would move along the axis that is most closely aligned with moving forward in the current perspective, rather than moving directly up and scraping the wall.

drentsoft says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:43am

Thanks for the suggestions dalbinblue :)

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:22am

Very nice, a maze game! We did one a few years back :-).

At first I missed the shift-speedup function and wanted to complain. That's what you get for playing first reading the description later.

Also I didn't notice any traps. There are some holes in the ground sometimes, but you can;t really fall into them.

I guess the levels are designed manually right now? Maybe you can look into generating some procedurally :-).

But I agree with dalbinblue that movement is a bit fiddly. So either try axis aligned movement as suggested or maybe you can remove the stickiness when moving along a wall.

I also agree on showing the goal position above the maze would be a nice incentive on where you'd have to go.

drentsoft says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Thanks BubuIIC. Yeah, the holes are supposed to be the traps but I could never get the gravity working quite right.

NuberuGames says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:01am

Nice idea. The gameplay is a little bit confusing without knowing where is the target goal. For me it got a little bit boring after a while, searching for the shapeshift zones to advance.
Good job!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:16am

Nice maze game! Could definitely do with a bit more polish but it's good enough as it is already. Design is clear and that's good! Good entry!

drentsoft says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Thanks Trasevol_Dog :)

May 3, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Decent game, nice use of the theme here. Tried hard but couldn't get out of the maze, there was a hole I found but after dropping into it, it just restarted the level.

Louspirit says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:37am

Some music would be nicer.

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:21am

I liked the take on the theme! Shapeshifting to go through a maze is a good idea. Nice job! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]