Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Super Light Combat [custom hardware]

by Jakub Koziol - Jam Entry

Ludum Dare is not quite friendly for physical games. But we made one anyway!

From brains and fingers of Robin Baumgarten (@robin_b) and Jakub Koziol (@jakubkoziol), straight from the (almost) sunny Berlin, we're glad to present to you Super Light Combat, a 2-player, custom hardware, 1D fighting game.

That’s right! A fighting game in one dimension.

For very understandable reasons we can’t offer you a build of the game. But we have cool photos and a video!

Features include many colors, 2 custom controllers, 1 dimension, 100 frames per second and clicky buttons. Also included level editor, if you care enough to shift the shape of the LED strip. Possibilities are endless!

In the next few days we’ll try to have a slightly more specific write up on what we did. In the meantime we’ll try to answer some questions we’re already expecting.

If you want to know anything, such as which cars we use in Rocket League or what are our camera settings are, let us know in the comments!

Q: What tech did you use?
A: Teensy board, some arcade-style buttons, two dials and a ridiculously long (5 meters!) LED strip, the same as the one used in the Line Wobbler (http://aipanic.com/projects/wobbler)

Q: How many hours of Rocket League did you play during the jam?
A: Internet in the place we’re staying was pretty unstable so probably only around 7 hours.

Q: Will you play more Rocket League during the next Ludum Dare?
A: Yes. If possible we’ll try to make a game using only Rocket League.

Q: Can I play Super Light Combat?
A: If you’re currently at A MAZE festival in Berlin send us a tweet and we can try to arrange something! @robin_b @jakubkoziol

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Innovation(Jam)4.47
#276Overall(Jam)3.53
#2304Coolness0%

Comments

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:29am

Cool!Good idea!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:57am

The light footsies are real. Right side needs be oki options though.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:59am

Interesting idea! needs sounds haha

KodingNights says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:05am

Looks very cool!

Wefiends says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:05am

Not sure how this is shapeshifting, but who cares, this is really rad and totally impressive.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Interresting idea, good job.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Excellent stuff - props for doing something physical for the jam. Bonus points for the arcade controllers and the 1d twist . :)

aeveis says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:19am

very cool! Nice job working with the "led strip platform"!

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Woow!

Atridas says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Perfect game for cats as a 3rth players.

lanestp says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:09am

Beautiful! Now you just need a web interface onto the controls and you will have a world beater!

rjhelms says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Ordinarily I'd refrain from rating a game that I can't play, but this is seriously cool and impressive for something hacked together in a weekend. I love seeing when people take Ludum Dare in a totally unintended direction, so this put a huge smile on my face.

Knowledge says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:02pm

I don't get the mechanics so I can't really tell how fun game is or how innovative it is (I voted 3 stars for innovation but I'm not so sure!).
I also did hardware game last LD and I think you should either make instruction how to make a game or make more descriptions about game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]