Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Three Body Problem

by sarge - Compo Entry

This is a simple platformer around the general theme of "shapeshifting." Play as a loose collection of three characters and traverse the map in search of coin and the exit. There are three types of whirling enemies bent on your destruction. Take care, your fire is only effective against enemies that are similar to your current form. Thanks for playing!

This is my first LD and the first time I've used the Phaser game engine. Overall I had a fun time, but there are quite a few things missing... like an ending. Collect the coins, kill enemies and prosper! I used Phaser, Tiled, Gimp, Audacity, http://www.bfxr.net/, FL Studio Mobile on Android, and a ton of the Phaser online and offline documentation and samples to figure out what I was doing. I'll add more details in the source readme soon.

I tested mainly on Chrome and very little on Firefox. Firefox seems to be very sluggish, but I didn't have time to dig into that. Quite possibly related to the obscene size of my tilemap. Maybe not.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#174Audio3.35
#256Theme3.68
#338Humor2.56
#580Mood2.75
#646Graphics2.68
#746Fun2.70
#762Overall2.83
#777Innovation2.57
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:39am

Neat tiny graphics. Playing it kind of reminds me of knytt somehow.

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:27pm

pretty simple concept, cool graphics, i would say tweak the collisions to respond better. I had a ton of issues when trying to slide down vertically

jessiexjquine says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:30am

The music, despite being repetitive, is pretty awesome and fitting! I love the different weird bug-like character sprites, and shapeshifting to fit into different places in a platformer is a great use of the theme! It seems a little useless to actually "Fire" when the enemies movement patterns and your horizontal fire arc are really hard to intersect?

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:48am

I like the pixel art and the music was fitting. Overall pretty fun.

urfbound says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:18am

Great game! Really polished for a compo entry. I liked the Lost Vikings kinda vibe. Platforming was fun and put together well. Controls felt good and intuitive to me. Nice combination of abilities and use of the theme as well. If I would make one recommendation I didn't see below it would be to make each form strong or weak against particular enemies - I thought the size of the form might play a part but if it was supposed to I couldn't tell for sure. Overall a great entry - good luck in the compo! Hope you had fun participating, I certainly enjoyed your game :D

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:02am

Cool idea. Reminds me of some games I used to play in the early 90's. Controls felt off somewhat, but some of that might be attributed to the tile collision.

Larzan says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Nice idea, but the controls and collisions are a bit frustrating...

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Not bad. The "red" form is a bit useless though.
The hero feels a bit underpowered. And it is frustrating that the hero is dead after one hit but can still walk for a few moments... :)
I liked the music

aeveis says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:32am

I got to the exit (and then fell out so I assume that's the end)! I liked how the different forms had different sizes.

The enemies were very fast, so mostly I avoided them. Once I realized the green guy could climb walls I mostly used that, and only switched to fit through certain places and got to the exit pretty quickly.

ogre says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:55am

Controls pretty well. Ran into minor (not game breaking) collision bugs when shifting. Graphics are functional but too dark. Characters don't stand out enough/environment is very low contrast.

Gord10 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Cool idea. But too hard, I got killed by randomly spawning enemies, there was nothing I could do.

deathray says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:54am

I like that bugs listed seem like super-powers. :)
The game amusing enough, but was lacking in the mood/backstory department.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]