Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Lycanthrope

by Nnnnneeeedddd - Compo Entry

LYCANTHROPE :D :D

I am so happy with this game. I hope you all enjoy playing it as much as I did making it. I am so happy that I actually completed this game.

For some reason it is in a retro - Wolf3D - Dungeon Crawling type style. I think this worked well with the theme.

All the enemies are werewolves. Lycanthrope is a fancy name for werewolf.

How to run------------------------------
1. Download .ZIP file.
2. Drag .Jar file onto desktop.
3. Ensure you have Java 8 (not sure if it works with 7).
4. Double click on .Jar file.

How to play----------------------------
Movement is: W: forward S: backward A, D: Strafe.
RightArrow: look right. Left Arrow: look left.

You press space to use items, including attack (which is using the knuckle duster) it is worth noting, that the only way to attack enemies is with the knuckle duster. Do not attack with a potion, or nothing, because that will do... Nothing.

Lastly, you press space WHILE walking into a secret block, and it will open up. Do not just press space next to the block, it will NOT work.

In regards to secrets. In level 4 there is a secret which allows you to skip the whole maze. See if you can find it.

Throughout the whole game, it is IMPERATIVE you look for secrets. If you don't find health, you WILL run out. Health does NOT regenerate between levels.

When you get a potion. Do not store it for later, this is because the inventory is a bit glitchy. Just drink it straight away. There is no health limit, so see if you can get to 200HP.


Obviously the most important thing is that you have fun!!!!

If someone is thinking of making a let's play of this game on You Tube, please do. That would be absolutely amazing.

Thanks,

Ned Boulter :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#125Mood3.55
#192Graphics3.65
#284Humor2.72
#394Audio2.86
#397Overall3.29
#606Theme3.14
#645Fun2.87
#695Innovation2.74
#1754Coolness33%

Comments

Crown Games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:09am

Looks a lot like Notch's Prelude of the Chambered, did you get any inspiration from that game? It was overall a great game, good job :)

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:31am

Yes, I really wanted to make something similar. That is why :D

hellojed says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:02am

Reminds me a little bit of Pathways Into Darkness

Daukan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:22am

I had problem running it on my macbook air. Errormessage:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
at org.lwjgl.glfw.GLFW.glfwCreateWindow(GLFW.java:1248)
at biz.boulter.lycanthrope.engine.DungeonCrawler.createWindow(DungeonCrawler.java:32)

Quique says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:27pm

I can't kill enemies :\

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Quique were you using a weapon?? You can't attack them with nothing.

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:31am

This was really fun, I enjoyed it a lot.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Cool game!

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:55pm

The graphics remind me of Prelude of the Chambered by Notch, which he made for ludum dare a couple years back.

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:22am

Nothing more to say than great game

TeamKuru says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:26am

Nice idea, but the camera moves eventually gave me a headach! But cool game ;)

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:26am

This is pretty good. But I felt like it could use a map or something. In level 5 I had no idea where I was going.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:28pm

@Sheepulution Well that wouldn't be in the correct style of old-fashioned dungeon crawlers, it would also defeat the point of the fact that this game is centred around mazes :P

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Getting a "Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: biz/boulter/lycanthrope/Game : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0" on Mac OS X 10.11 with the JRE 8.

SetArray says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:53pm

The game crashes instantly for me when trying to run it. Here's the stacktrace:

Error in shader: ERROR: 0:1: '' : Version number not supported by OGL driver
ERROR: 0:3: 'layout' : syntax error syntax error

ORECROS says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Wasn't obvious if you could kill enemies without being hit by them, so it was a grind to get through without dying rather than a challenge. some variation in floor tiles to help you see where you are going would have been great, and considering modern computers have the processing power to render more, a larger view distance would have been nice. art and sound fits well, good atmosphere.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:51pm

I always love these style games, it looks great and played well!

Gord10 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:56pm

I liked the mood you created. I don't have so much fun with mazes, though.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Gord10, Yea, I totally agree. The only reason I made it mazy, is because I didn't really have time to add enough mechanics to add a sufficient amount of gameplay :/

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:36pm

I like this kind of game . But there are problems with the attack.

Alphish says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:54pm

Uh-huh, I wasn't really fond of the controls; personally, I'd have preferred WSAD + mouse + LMB; in the game turning around etc. felt way too slow and didn't really leave room to work around the wolves. Also, I don't like the idea of gameplay relying on finding secrets, especially if the game gives no indication where these are, or even whether I'm hitting the wall or not (punching sound effect is same for both cases, so I can't be sure if I'm really hitting the wall or not). Made it to level 4 twice, but couldn't complete it; I didn't find the fabled secret, either.

From other things, I'd like to have more perspective and have different parts of the maze more distinct. Maybe it's the point of maze games to be easily lost, but in such case I wouldn't find plain mazes (or easy for losing-and-having-to-restart mazes, for that matter) particularly exciting. ^^'

The gameplay concept in general seems decent, and audiovisuals work well enough (though nothing mind-blowing here), but due to some details (mostly controls and having to restart every time I lose) I can't really find it truly enjoyable. Sorry. ^^'

Xanjos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Loved the retro graphics and the Doom/Wolfenstein style controls seems to fit the game very well (Those "werewolves" were pretty hard to hit though).

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Very cool game! Like the design variety of the maces.
Keep up the good work!

adam says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:51pm

You get a lot of value out of simple graphics and audio. I lie the way the enemies transform into wolves to attack although it would be nice to get some feedback when an enemy is defeated (sometimes I couldn't tell if I had killed them or just walked through). Controls were a little frustrating combined with the short draw distance - not sure cursors for turning and WASD for movement gives you the response time you want in a twitchy suspenseful game. Is it intentional that you can skip the knuckleduster?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]