Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifty Funky Walls

by Satyre - Jam Entry

"I recommend to download the apps to get quality options and the best resolution."

Well, have fun with my small submission.

Unfortunately the game has no ending now and lacks some "wall" like game play elements that I couldn't create in time.

I think you'll get the mood and idea :)

Enter (Start screen) to start the dance
Left & Right arrow keys to change the "shape" move form

(Coming soon in the post jam version)
The "planned goal" was to attract the dance partner by finding the same moves. The girl will come nearer while the gameplay gets faster. When you match 10 times you'll be a nice couple.

Music: liquidspiral (newgrounds)
Music: saskid (newgrounds)
Sounds: berlinatmospheres (youtube)
Sounds: Fruiy Loops
Software: Unity 5, Photoshop CS3, Fruity Loops

Downloads and Links




Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:16am

Minecraft dance

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:23pm

Very different use of the theme, good job.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Groovy graphics.. :)

ramza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Groovy interpretation of the theme!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:11pm

It looks very good

mkghoster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Voxel dance ftw! :D funny

ketura says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Ah. So seems you should have focused on getting the gameplay to work, rather than the crowd and the dance floor. You've put dessert before dinner, and while it looks nice, this is essentially just a screensaver if there's no actual gameplay mechanics.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Very cool. Nice graphics. I like the voxel style!

serp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Looks good. Shame you didn't finish the ending.

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Looks great, sounds great! Shame you don't really feel like you're working towards anything but, as you say, time pressure sucks!

unit684 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Very nice looking game with some good music! The dance move idea is really cool but it'd be nice to have a score or something to see how well you are doing.

kleinzach says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Creative idea. If you expand on it, it would be nice to know what the next moves to the left and right are so I don't have to memorize. Great presentation.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:20pm

love the music, love the gameplay, though i wish the game would score me on getting the right move or not. other then that, pretty good.

ohmaigawd says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:23pm

That was unexpectedly hilarious :D Nice idea and great execution!

Funske says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:24pm

I liked your use of the theme. There was so much on the screen, and I couldn't tell what was going on, which I liked it was fun. The music was good too.

medidog says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:32pm

gave me an download error, maybe also include webgl?

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Fun graphics and setting!

kostasvs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:34pm

I quite liked this game, wish you had time to make it actually progress too. Some moves are pretty similar too, so it may confuse some people, but in general I liked the game's feeling... Congrats!

GaryS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:45pm

I really like the graphics and I can see how this might have panned out into something quite fun, but for the moment there's nothing much I can do!

ploerre says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:57am

i really like the graphics and the lighting but i dont get it, what the gameplay is.
ah and the mac version bundle is broken.

Satyre says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Thanks everyone for your feedback so far. I'll rate and play your games this weekend :)

The gameplay is not finished, yet. I meant that by saying the end is not finished. You will be able to see the shape you have to repeat by a "wall" that comes in your direction. You'll probably understand it, when I'm finished :p. I'll upload a post-jam version with a new link so the rating will not be affected for the LD Version.

I reuploaded the windows versions x86/x64 and also the mac one. Checking out the WebGL version now.

Let me know if there are any errors. Thanks!

jakass says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:34am

Remasterized Minecraft Disco! LOL Just kidding, Very good! Unique idea...

MintArcade says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Nice game - love the music. Awesome!

curtamyth says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Very nice looking, and I enjoy the music. However I noticed the music wasn't actually made during the 72 hours of the jam. You shouldn't be asking for ratings in audio when that's the case.

Blobby101 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:49pm

I enjoyed this a lot, despite it not really being a game! The graphics are really nice and the music was fantastic. As Ketura says though, maybe time would've been better spent on your gameplay :P

masterkrepta says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:07pm

the graphics and music is really cool.

Satyre says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:24pm

@curtamyth: Thanks for the hint about the music. I disabled it, forgot about that function :)

@all: Thanks for the comments :), I'll review your games and rate them as well.

charstar56 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:42pm

awesome game i really liked the graphics good job

rodobodolfo says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:25am

Grooovy! With a simple scoring system it would be perfect! Nice song selection also

lanestp says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:13am

Cool idea and graphics. Kind of lacking in the whole game thing. But cool none the less!

d3garcia says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:14am

Excellent idea but I didn't get if you need to follow the girl or not or if i was making progress or not.

zaywolfe says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:42am

I really like this game. Very innovated take on the theme. It would be could if the arrow keys corresponded better with the direction of the moves though.

Strike says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:10am

Very fun environment and groovy music. Still needs more polish on the game play. I'd love to play a next version of this game. Very good job !

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]