Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Za bochok

by CAT_IN_THE_DARK_WOOD - Jam Entry

Rumors are that there is a creepy creature crawling at nights in this forest: half a man, half a wolf. Nearby villiagers find enourmously large traces of unknown beast time to time. Many hunters went into the forest, trying to track and kill the beast, but nobody came back alive.

Facts are that there is no calm place for peaceful werewolf in this formerly calm and quite forest. Loud peasants shouting for no reason, curious hunters tracking your traces in search of glory - all this makes you tired, angry and hungry.

So, okay, this is a network game, you can play as a werewolf or as a hunter. Game assumes that you have friend to play with over Internet.

Control: WASD - walking
Mouse - aiming
Left Mouse Button - shooting / biting
Spacebar - jump over tree (Werewolf feature ONLY)

To run game just do double click. If it's not working run from the console "java -jar za_bochok_ldjam-35-assembly-2.3.jar"

=====================================================================

Engine: libgdx
Language: scala
Platform: Cross platform, required java runtime environment(jre) http://www.java.com/en/download/

Update!!!!

Find players to play with!
We create telegram chat for everyone who wants to play our game. Special Bot notifies chat, when somebody starts playing game. Enjoy!
https://telegram.me/joinchat/BECxPgbnSIAUB3XsqAfHIg

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#181Mood(Jam)3.63
#269Audio(Jam)3.39
#329Graphics(Jam)3.72
#374Overall(Jam)3.41
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#423Innovation(Jam)3.20
#624Humor(Jam)2.28
#861Theme(Jam)2.85

Comments

kik0729 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:22pm

I was stuck on the pairing screen

marmpa says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:33am

Really nice game but i was stuck in the pairing screen for quite some time. I really liked how each person had different roles.Nice entry.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:38am

@marmpa, you can try this again, I'm online now and ready to play!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:04am

I really like this! The blocked view crated for some tense gameplay and an excellent mood. The differences in style are balanced. I can see this working very well as a small two player game. Very nice!

Henry00 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:09am

In case anyone gets stuck on the pairing screen you could also run the game twice to at least see it. I like that you got networking in the game in such short time!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:05pm

Sadly, there was no other players, so I had to open to instances and play solo.

Anyway this is a nice game, I really liked the mood that you've managed to make.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Also, I got that reference to a russian lullaby in the title.

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:42pm

I really like the idea of a network game, but maybe you could've added a solo game as well. It's kinda hard to find a opponent when not many people are playing your game.

blob says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Nice asymetry balanced with vision cone and long range. Pretty ambitious & risky to make an online game requiring pairing but it worked really well. :)
Very nice mood too!

Stechas says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:47am

Graphically well implemented game with a little bit of tense in possitive sense. Singleplayer would be also good addition to the game.

goost says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:17am

Nice, artstyle, cool online feature.
Getting to choose your partner (for playing with friend) would be awesome and also the ending is kinda abrupt.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:25pm

Looks really great and the music gives it a nice eerie touch!

oparisy says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Yay, scala!

Great mood (music, lighting), liked the clearly differenciated classes. I had no issue pairing, took some seconds at most.

The visual footprints were a nice touch, would have loved some audio hints too.

tentacode says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Multiplayer network games are always hard in jams but you did it! grats!

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Nice game with great graphics.I like the concept and the game mechanics

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:52pm

No players online I guess... I think making a multiplayer only game for LD is not so good idea. Gonna rate by video

Croze says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Only had a chance to view the gameplay video, that's the struggle with multiplayer games sometimes :( I'll rate what I feel comfortable rating from the video though! It looks like a really cool horror game :) Not too sure what it had to do with the theme though

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Cool idea. I always give a bonus point for multiplayer games and you did very well on this one! :D

Lee1121 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:30pm

This is a very enjoyable game

Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Excellent graphics and very catchy music. Loved the tenssion looking for the other player. Well done!

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:11am

Really atmospheric and uncomfortable... in a good way. :)
Neat concept for gameplay that lead to some really tense moments. Also, wonderful visuals.

02fc.exe says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:12am

Amazing game. Hello from Omsk!

neilcorre2k6 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Great game! :D

psychomonster says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Wow really nice idea... great artwork. Could not find other players so a single player would be really nice. But it is a good job. Well done!

TheCain says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:18am

With some audio I would have given it a 5/5 mood.

Seregy7 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:55pm

It was really fun to play, but it seems like werewolf is a little bit underpowered

zateamplay says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:56pm

Only siberian guys knows how to make atmospheric games about wolves! I don't try scala with libgdx, maybe some advices on it? Anyway good game and great job.
And hello from Novosibirsk :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]