Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SqueezeMeIn

by Zerkruemler - Jam Entry

This is an abstract puzzle game. Use the mouse to move a brush. When you click, the shape moves away from the brush. The goal is to fit the shape into the target shape.
Unfortunately it does not progress after the second level, and other ideas I had are not implemented...

Since I was occupied the weekend, I started 1 Day before end of Jam with the concept and 8 Hours before end to program. Therefore it has no sound, graphics is ugly, no polish etc. Don't hesitate to give low points, this entry is to show you the idea. I would appreciate any feedback, but I understand that it is also too few content to rate it properly.
Have some fun anyway.

I will continue working on the postjam version. Use the PostJam link when you want to test it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Theme(Jam)4.45
#13Innovation(Jam)4.35
#394Fun(Jam)3.30
#535Overall(Jam)3.25
#1070Graphics(Jam)1.95
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

varuns says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:07pm

A concept with potential! This is by far the most "shapeshifty" entry I've played. You could go somewhere with this. Rating 4/5 for theme and innovation!

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:30am

actually pretty fun to play :p
induces ragequitting though

f222 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:36am

Very good, it taka me some time to understand the game mechanism but after these few minutes nearly easily finish level 1 and level 2,
Great game

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Interesting concept. Still can't understand why in some cases pixels can teleport from one place to another. But I should admit that it was pleasant to experiment with this physics. Maybe you could even do different types of this blobs with a different physics behaviours. It has potential.

Insality says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:58am

The idea is perfect, ive suprised
But want more gameplay with this
Good job anyway)

Populous90 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Es geht gut:D

lilKriT says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Very cool idea:)

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:05am

Cool mechanic.

glitchu says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Very interesting concept, I enjoyed shaping the surroundings to match the goal. With a bit of polishing with the way you move the pixels inside the goal shape, this could really make a great game!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:03am

Interesting mechanics. First I tried to reach the goal, then I started just move pixels around like in some zen sandbox-like game. Pretty entertaining.

zugende says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Awesome mechanic! I love it!!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:22am

Super fun concept! Execution is clean and neat!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]