Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SandShifter

by nesis - Compo Entry

Shift sand shapes to find your way through a series of challenges in a mysterious desert temple.

===

If you're falling through the level, please make sure you've downloaded the latest version :)

Let me know if you think this game's mouse sensitivity needs changing!

If you run into any bugs, please let me know what version of the game you played so I can squash these bugs quickly for you :) (eg, "StandaloneLinuxUniversal_5.zip")

Feel free to tweet or DM me @llnesisll for bugs, too!

===

Edit:
- bugfix for HTML5, fixed mouse not being re-captured properly after hitting Escape to unlock it.
- bugfix for falling through the floor. So many people falling through the floor. I wanted this game to have sand, not quicksand! D:
- bugfix of a bugfix: mouse cursor is now instantly requested to be captured by the HTML5 version - previously required a click before mouse cursor capture occurred.
- bugfix: Collisions. Collisions what are you doing? Collisions stahp.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#104Innovation3.81
#164Overall3.63
#196Graphics3.63
#249Mood3.26
#276Theme3.66
#304Fun3.36
#2115Coolness17%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:27am

There's a lot of potential with this idea! It was particularly fun to increase the sizes of the stacked cubes in order to lift their edges to walk them around.

Maysickdev says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:36am

Very fun! Taking volume from the cubes was very satisfying. I wanted to clean out the entire level.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:11am

I had some problems on the Web version cause my mouse did not stay looked on the game screen, so I keep click out of the game.

The look of the sand is very nice and the game has some great puzzles.

nesis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:54am

@AustinSpafford and @Maysickdev

Thanks for playing! I'm glad you liked my game :D

@Hyoga-3D

Thanks for trying out the web version - I totally missed that I messed up my code for capturing the mouse! I'll make a small update when I get home tonight, so the mouse gets captured correctly :) Thanks for your patience despite that bug!

joemid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:56am

Great job. I had some problems with the camera, but amazing COMPO accomp!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:58am

This oozes with style and potential. Extremely well presented, progression with new doorways in a central hub was just so well done. Fantastic concept, really hope you expand on this one!

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Fun core mechanic (mine was similar, so maybe I'm a little in a conflict of interest XD), awesome aestetics.
Tried web version, at first it didn't lock the mouse, but then it did when I clicked on the middle of the play area.
Went through the floor on level 2 tho.

Skruffye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Interesting concept, I wasn't able to play more than one level though, because I fell out of the world every time I entered level 2 (HTML5 build).
I'm guessing that later you get to place sand as well as pick it up. Nice take on the theme, could have done with some ambient sound though.
Good job. :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Very good, though it could do with a lot more content. Most of the game was spent approaching those big doors.

It's a good platform for making some very nice puzzles.

purrpurr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:17pm

I enjoyed playing this, albeit a bit disappointed by the level count. But don't get me wrong, it's not criticism! Might just have wanted more time with the game. The mechanics do have potential. They might even be something worth playing around and tinkering with further.

Just Tom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:53pm

The web version on itch.io works but the ludum dare web version gives "500 Internal Server Error"

Regardless it looks lovely and it's fun to play; maybe speed up the sand giving and taking mechanic (big blocks can take a while)

Stellar!

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:44am

This is a great concept, playing the web game, the mouse capture seems to still be an issue, I'll come back for another go, though. Totally worth it!

adamprack says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:16am

Neat stuff! It was a cool mechanic (and it took me minute to figure out I was 'storing' volume.) The look of it was cool, though the physics could get a little wonky if you mess around at all.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:28am

Love the idea! Just needs more added to it, once being sounds/music.

doombrowski says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:42am

Before even starting this game, I put on Darude - Sandstorm. Conveniently, there was no sound to conflict with this. Was this on purpose? So people could play Sandstorm?

Malvern says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:06am

Wow! The shapeshifting mechanic is really awesome! I think you have something to expand on with that.

I did think the game was a little easy though, I wish there had been another level after the third one.

zillix says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:33am

a brief but well-made experience! I loved the aesthetic, and the gameplay mechanic was pretty neat. well done :)

ekx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:34pm

Wow! Amazing idea. The only complaint i can think of, is that it gets very hard to hit the cubes when they've shrunken beyond a certain point.

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:56pm

I liked the mechanic and how you introduce it to the player. It's a pity that there are only few levels.

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Awesome mechanic! Very addicting, would play this longer if there were more levels.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:54pm

This entry is purely awesome, the mechanic fits perfectly the theme and opens a lot of opportunities for great levels and the presentation is fantastic. Walking calmly through the sand kind of reminded me of journey ;)A truly impressive game for the compo, congratulations! Would love to see more of it!

I'd recommend download it to play, since I found some problems with the pointer in the web version (even after the fix I read in the edit, somehow it isn't working for me)

Congratulations!!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Interesting concept. Mouse sensivity is fine for me. Minor nitpick: maybe there's a little too much empty walking space at the end of the levels. I would love to see this developed into a full game!

cudabear says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:34pm

This is an awesome basis for a first-person puzzle game! I actually really wish there were more levels, since it seemed like the levels you developed barely cracked the surface as to what these mechanics you designed could do.

I loved the art style, really suited the idea of shifting sand.

My only complaint is that it took a long time to walk between levels, ideally that could take less time.

Well done, a great entry!

ezombort says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Very cool idea! I found myself trying to hold down the shift key all the time to run/sprint to the next portal :) Well done!

AlexLamarche says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Really enjoyed this game :) It needed a nice soothing background sound though.

Mr MadCat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Interesting concept. I think it has some potential. Too bad there was only one real level to play with the mechanics, since the other had more of a tutorial character.
But all in all well done.

nk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:48pm

I really dug the aesthetic here - big blocky brutalist buildings in a desert tickles my fancy it seems. Mechanic felt solid enough to perhaps build something more substantial around too. Shame there wasn't time for any more demanding puzzles!

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Interesting concept but then feel out of the world in level 3 :(

tjxx says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:01am

Great concept, I really enjoyed playing through it. I was having some problems with collisions (weren't working), but I see the potential in it.

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:04pm

i want to take more volume out of things, nice idea!

tsedate says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:38am

This was fun! I would like to see this expanded into a whole game that really focuses on this mechanic.

guoboism says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:19am

Great art style! Mechanic is potential! Nice to first person view puzzle like this!

IvanFon says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:20am

Really fun mechanic and wonderfully made for the amount of time! I liked the style of graphics and adding some music could really set the theme. Good job!

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:24am

I'd love to see more of this!

Verz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:33am

Very nice take on the theme. I liked it a lot!

kik0729 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:52am

The visuals remind me of Journey, and the gameplay of those heat gun levels in Ratchet and Clank 2

PixelStuff says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Great concept, the only issue for me is the 10% time walking. maybe lower the size of the level a little bit.

toastedgames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Cool game... it's very short though...

Vantaug says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:13pm

It lacks sound, but that is about it. Amazing stuff for a comp!

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:15pm

rad. i like the mechanic in this. audio would have really helped the mood, but i really like how you setup going from one level to the next. the Twitter button in game didnt seem to work, fyi.

Hectigo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:05pm

It seems like you ran out of time with this one, but there's definitely potential with the mechanics. Interacting with the sand could be sped up.

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:27pm

This could potentially be a great idea! Maybe with a little bit more than just a tutorial, this could be a great game.

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:18pm

Fun game. Sometimes draining the cubes could be a pain. Needs some locking. Other than that it was great.

kleinzach says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:31pm

I was genuinely sad to see the end. Great mechanic, and would love to see you expand this in the future! Also neat how you put the twitter sharing icon into the actual game. Having menus and such around in the game world is a good idea!

Naca says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:07pm

A bit short, and it needs some ambience sound in my opinion, but the atmosphere looks great and your puzzle concept can be expanded so much! Good work!

Reiv says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Nice concept! It was fun to play. Too much walking to get to every level thought but overall is a great game!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Really cool idea, I hope you stick with and add more!

randomhuman says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Really great mechanic, and I love the way all the text is part of the world. I wish there were more levels, I was just getting into it (though I'm hardly one to talk in that regard :P)

Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Really meditative and interesting. I really enjoyed this.

tanjent says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:25pm

This is the best game I've played out of about 60 games so far. Super - awesome. Extra bonus for making it in 3D and it pulls it off so beautifully with the sand toned graphics and a streamline mechanics of working with up/down disappearance relative to the ground. Please make this a real game, make it happen! .... bonus idea for extra levels/world: make the world/level rotate around in 90 degrees. And get some nice music + polished GFX.. Sweet.

marmpa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Nice game.REally nice level design

blubberquark says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Native version hangs on my linux notebook (I half expected it to on sandy bridge integrated graphics), but the WebGL one worked.

Insality says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:50am

sweety graphics and game mechanics. Good job!
The mechanics and level design rly done well, but when i walking to exit or new portal level, i got a little boring (its take a lot of time ;))

Wan says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:55am

Nice job! The game is well polished, worked perfectly for me, and the core mechanic is really awesome. I found the level design underwhelming though: I couldn't wait to see how this mechanic would translate into puzzles, but the first 2 levels felt just like a tutorial, and level 3 was just more of level 2.

For 48 hours that's an impressive amount of work though, if you had only one more day to add interesting levels this would have made a top 25-worthy entry I think!

Uson Chen says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:17am

The idea is innovated and the graphic is comfort style, my favor.

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:21pm

very interesting sensation from changing the size of the cubes

Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Cool mechanic wish it had more puzzles.

okoto says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:14am

I fell into nothing when I entered the second level

kabel says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Interesting! Could be expanded!

Reis Mahnic says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:52am

Really neat game! Fun core mechanic, and BEAUTIFUL visuals!
It's too bad you couldn't get sound in, but this is INSANELY impressive for a compo entry and I think you made the right choice in focusing on the visuals and mechanics.

trulyvile says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Great concept! I'd love to see this idea taken further, it could probably result in some really challenging puzzles. The aesthetic of the whole thing was really neat too, sort of a similar mysterious vibe to Myst or other early 3d games.

I can't criticize for a lack of audio but I would like to mention that some ambient desert sounds or some faint music would make the atmosphere even more interesting.

ermrk says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:44pm

I really liked the menu. It is awesome.

Lucario12k says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:09am

Great idea for a game! Would've really liked a run button and some more levels, but whatever.

RockNRedPanda says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Amazing, really enjoyed the experience mate. I loved the art style. Please make this a full puzzle game.

syst3m_ERROR says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Lots of potential! I would have like to see more done with the idea!

Miziziziz says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 5:19am

very polished, but definitely could've used some audio. Reminds me of Scale a lot.

LeReveur says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:03pm

I disappeared into the floor, just before reaching the exit door of the third level (web version), but I saw enough of this game to say that's a fun, an innovative puzzle game, well done ! :)

May 6, 2016 @ 2:12pm

The touching story of a vacuum cleaner lost in the desert.

Aaranos says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:08am

Neat game. I think it really needed some kind of audio to add to the atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]