Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Monkey Bird Escape

by Daws - Compo Entry

Climb trees and catch drafts of air to escape the lava!

You play as a monkey who can shapeshift into a bird.
The monkey can move side to side on branches and jump from them.
The bird can moves side to side in the air and is only propelled upwards with drafts of air (white arrows)
Lighter colored branches will break and fall when the monkey touches them, so be careful!

Controls:
A and D: move left and right
W: jump from branch (monkey only)
SPACEBAR: swap between monkey and bird

I didn't quite have time to perfect the art, and I didn't have a chance to do music, but I hope you enjoy!

Post Compo Edit: I added controller support, but I don't know if it works outside of chrome. I used a PS3 controller to test it. Plug in your controller and go to http://html5gamepad.com/ to see if your controller can be used.

Joystick Controls:
left/right movement: axis 0 (left analog joystick)
jump: button 1 (Square on a PS3 controller)
swap between players: button 0 (X on a PS3 controller)
start game: button 9 (Start on a PS3 controller)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#505Humor2.10
#669Theme3.04
#782Mood2.10
#798Innovation2.52
#806Fun2.57
#911Overall2.43
#1854Coolness30%

Comments

vini60 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:08am

Fun little game. Couldn't tell at first what the bird did, now I know. Nice submit. Lacks audio though.

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:08am

Concept is cool, but the lava goes too fast!

Infraviolet says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:09am

Though the art was not the best, the gameplay worked and was fun as well as challenging

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:10am

The space key kept messing up for some reason.

urfbound says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:00am

Cool game! I like the shapeshifting mechanic, the branch and animal graphics are good. Good game fro keeping you on the edge of your seat! Thanks for your submission (also your review)!

fatsopanda says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:09am

It's a nice small game. A bit too difficult from the beginning.

makiki99 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:05am

Pretty difficult game, and it is unpolished, but it has potential.

domrein says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:56am

sooooo hard.

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:26am

humor enough and have good rhythm!~ just some distance is too long between two platforms.
bytheway,if there are some music,it could be more fun and interesting.

fin_nolimit says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:48am

Very hard game but it kept my interest and I KEPT ON PLAYING!!! WHICH IS AWESOME! Nice work!!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]