Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Warping Ninja

by Glockenspiel - Jam Entry

Shape shift through time and create a decoy to fool the enemy. Throw daggers and dash with your dual wielding swords.

How to play (Don't worry it's pretty easy to understand):
Step on the yellow portal, this will make you invulnerable and unable to attack for a few seconds. You will then return to the portal and a ghost will emulate the path you took during this shape shift. If your ghost is not visible to the enemy, the enemy will fire at you!

Follow my twitter for updates: https://twitter.com/Glockenspielz

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#262Innovation(Jam)3.43
#306Fun(Jam)3.39
#385Audio(Jam)3.17
#486Humor(Jam)2.55
#641Mood(Jam)2.97
#671Overall(Jam)3.10
#890Graphics(Jam)2.68
#1042Theme(Jam)2.38

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:05pm

I really enjoyed this concept! With a few tweaks and a bit more complexity (shadow to help open/unlock rooms, etc) this would make a fine full game.

Saiodin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:29pm

From the screens I wasn't expecting much, but I actually loved it. Sure, the graphics are simple, but the gameplay is really solid. I had fun and felt really invested. The warping mechanic sounded confusing, but when I used it the first time I instantly knew what was going on. The little tutorial pop-ups were a great addition. The movement was a tad bit floaty, but it felt right to me. The shadow makes it even a bit too easy to get through. I would suggest that your shadow doesn't block the enemy shots. Like that you can't just place the shadow in a room and kill everything instantly, but have to watch how the shots are ligned up. Nice music too, but not fitting for a stealth game.

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:51am

Fun game. A little confusing and hard to understand starting out. Maybe you can keep working on this and polish it more. Great entry!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:58am

I love DASHING :D

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

djfariel says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:04am

This was actually pretty fun. Like others have said, I like the concept.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:44am

Funny game. I don't see the theme, but has some cool mechanics.
The music is amazing!

Wan says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:18am

The core mechanic was surprisingly fun and interesting to play, nice job! The whole game was easy to pick up and using our shadow as decoy to then kill the turrets from behind was pretty satisfying.

On the down side I found the level design didn't to the gameplay justice, as some "warping zones" and checkpoints were placed in or close to plain sight of the turrets, making everything unnecessarily hard. Having to collect daggers was a cool idea, especially letting the shadow version collect them.

The graphics were good enough to make things fun, as everything was clear and intuitive.

Honestly, all this game really needs is some level design love.

(PS. I have a feeling the music wasn't made during the jam, maybe you should opt-out of Audio?)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:18am

A little clunky, and I was quite confused at first as to what was going on, but I really like the concept. Distracting enemies with my own shadow and pulling off little moves that would syngergise my shadow and normal form's movement felt badass, haha. I like it, though sometimes your cover was a bit harsh, so you ended up dying to a previous enemy while waiting for you shadow to move out the way.

kik0729 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:02am

It's a great concept
You can easily scale this to a full game!
It's awesome :D

ragnta says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:14am

It's awesome, but a little bit fast for me :)

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:19am

Liked the concept, though kinda a liberal interpretation of the theme =)

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Fun game, with this mechanic you can make really cool puzzles.
Great job!

Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Good and fun game !
Go vote mine ! :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90478

Gord10 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Ahah, I loved its idea! Very innovative.

kalth.streil says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Surprisingly fun! I didn't understand the 'warp' thing at first, but once you get to use it, it's quite convenient! Nice game :)

deathray says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:08am

I really enjoyed the shadow mechanic of this gameplay. It felt innovative yet remained challenging. good job balancing that!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:36am

good mechanics really

Tacohej says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Actually a lot of fun. Have a lot of potential, where enemys could be fooled to shoot obstacles or other enemys. Could even be more unforgiving, maybe skip all checkpoints or respawn enemys if killed. Anyway, great work, me like

May 2, 2016 @ 5:14pm

INTERESTING GAME WITH AN ENJOYABLE MAP. FELT IT TO BE CHALLENGING LIKE TRYING TO EAT POPCORN WITH CHOPSTICKS

marvalgames says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:13am

Fun game all around. Does everything pretty well. I was lost at 1st though but it may just be me :) Going to play some more

Xanjos says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:55am

The ghosting mechanic was actually pretty neat.

gurkenlabs says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 1:00am

fun little game with clever use of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]