Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Bortman

by Rscar - Compo Entry

Some ask, "Is it a better life for a bird, or a man?" Bortman does not have time for questions such as these. Bortman answers, "Neither, when there are pigs on the loose."


**If you're having trouble with the difficulty, "P" will toggle invincibility mode.
Thank you so much for playing!

Twitter: @reidscarboro




Updates:
-Have had some issues with WebGL, if there are any issues please do try a standalone build!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#34Overall3.99
#47Graphics4.17
#50Fun3.92
#149Theme3.85
#164Mood3.42
#199Humor2.98
#422Audio2.79
#487Innovation3.08

Comments

ReactorScram says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:38am

This one looks like a winner

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:10am

Looks fantastic, and plays well, but often felt very trial-and-error. With some balancing tweaks, could be really great. As it is at the moment, it's a lot of fun and very polished for a jam game.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:10am

really nicely done. Played smoothly on my Mac. Combat was very fluid and unforgiving.. (i didnt play in god mode :P )

XAND says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:17am

I would love to play it, but the map disappears on me after moving. I wont rate it as I can't play it.

Rscar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:20am

@XAND any chance you could elaborate on the bug? I'd love to get it fixed for you and anyone else that might have an issue. Which platform were you running?

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:23am

A little frustrating, excellent graphics and gameplay.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:29am

Love the Joust feel to the bird flight, and transforming in mid air felt awesome! Really great result from so little time, and great use of the theme! -Kitty

Karl Schmidt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:31am

Nice work! Quite a bit of art for a compo entry! Some of the sound effects sounded like a speaker issue - not sure if that was intentional :) It's quite challenging, especially on a laptop with a trackpad. I really liked the gameplay choices with the shapeshifting. P.S. your first 2 screenshots are exactly the same :)

DowScope says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:32am

I like this one!

ragnta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:35am

nice concept cool game.

wtfrara says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:50am

Very solid! Polished and focused, and something you can really replay to see how far you can get. A simple interpretation of the theme but it lends itself very well to the gameplay. Well done.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:50am

Nice work, run smoothly on WebGL.
It was very fun flying as a bird morphing to human in mid-air throwing the arrow on the enemy!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:58am

Love it! I didn't hear any music, is that ok?

Khallane says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:06am

Good game, nice graphics, i would've loved a music with it. It's challenging to dodge!

rafaoliveira says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:08am

Very nice game! I love those pixelated graphics, one thing I didn't liked though: it skips the stage when you kill every monster, generally I like to be able to "explore" or just keep walking on a stage, not being 'forced' to proceed XD

sirtetris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:48am

Once you get the hang of quick RMB-LBM-RMB combos while flying it's *death from above* huahuahua. :)
Anyway: fantastic graphics, quickly understandable game mechanics and fun to play. The only thing I kind of missed was some background music.
Awesome submission!

Pent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:00am

Solid game! Wish the shapeshift was a keyboard binding though

terop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:26am

When it started, the player disappeared, and was kinda difficult to control.

rad1c says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:54am

LOVELY. On the other hand, I miss some cool music and I don't like I have to spam space to fly (instead of WASD or keep pressing it), even though it probably is intentional (arcade feeling?)

rad1c says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:24am

btw it's a minus for me the source code was not submitted...

rad1c says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:27am

oups, my bad, sorry! it's there just the folder structure was unfamiliar (can't delete prev. comment to remove spam so... adding another one :D)

SwedishCheese says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:41am

*Borat voice* Very nice!

mrnannings says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:08am

THis game is awsome on every level exept the audio. You could add also arrows to the controlls. Art is very nice but can use more life in the level design. For a jam entry its very good.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:23am

Great gameplay and graphics !

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:25am

Fascinatingly

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:28am

10/10 would play again if it had some background music

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:57am

Very polished graphically and gameplay-wise. Nice to see how much you crammed in there: Graphics, parallax scrolling, physics. Music would have been nice and the sound effects sound very generic, but overall, a brilliant entry.

wheerd says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:29am

Great game, arrow sounds are a bit annoying, but really fun to play!

orukinawa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:45am

Insane amount of polish! Had a blast playing it and the boss battle felt epic! Great job!

wumpus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:48am

This felt really well rounded. I was getting a feel for the arc of my arrows and it was really satisfying to place a perfect, single arrow.

The changing into a bird felt a bit arbitrary but I enjoyed myself along the way so I don't think it matters that much.

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:04am

Really fun game that looks better than i'd expected. Very challenging since death seems to reset all the way back to act 1, but not really a complaint.

Genpaku says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:25am

Nice game ;)

norseware says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:53am

Brilliant! I liked nailing the "perfect" shot. Great physics! I love the art too. Even dying was satisfying with the sarcastic game over screen. Wonderful job :)

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:04am

Looks very cool! Controls work amazing. Permadeath is a bit of a bummer though, you get shot by accident quite quickly. Looks beatiful, altough transitioning between states is a bit rusty (keep walking after dying, etc.). Good job!

mennchen22 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:13am

Rly nice graphics. Liked to play it !

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:32am

Really nice for that short time.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:44am

Really great graphics and gameplay!! nice work.

FenyesJ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:38pm

10/10

Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:46pm

the graphics are excelent and crisp, and the random generation is cool too, the movement is also solid, and mastering the "jump just befor you turn into a bird to get more instant velocity" trick was fun too, i didn't finish it because it is a very unforgiving game, and there is no checkpoint inbetween level 2 and 3 (not including the tutorial level) and the camera shake when you go left or right is a littlebit ofputting. this game definately is good, and with some polish may be very very entertaing for a wide variety of people.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:09pm

a pretty neat game, Bortman is the boss! The bird was cool, I wish he had more special abilities though

redwizard says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Very good. Nice to play and very intuitive. Congratulations.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Really lovely little game, I'd totally play this, would love to see more animals to shift into :)

Props!

Solocov says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Real good and unforgiving game :P (Maybe dont reset to the last level :P)

CasualCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Wow that was really good, you're clearly a very good and experienced artist! The art was really cute and pretty, the animation was clean, and the parallax was of high quality! The gameplay is just as good as the art! The arrows felt a little underpowered but their trajectory curved beautifully and satisfactorily stuck onto walls and opponents. The bird glided down gracefully and flew like the flappy bird we all know and love. the shape shifting worked exceptionally! I spent a good 10 = 15 minutes having a blast!

monaarc says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Nice game, gameplay very efficient and I agree with some others comments, it could be funnier with some balncing tweaks :)

M2tias says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Great looking game that plays really well! Audio side is ok, but nothing amazing. Music would help or some ambient pig noises perhaps. It was so hard, but in a good way. Good idea, but not super innovative.

Mieeh says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:15pm

The graphics looks good! And it plays very well for a ludum dare game. Maybe the press any button direct after dying was a little annoying. Congrats on a great game!

doombrowski says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:28pm

Sweet game. Look very good.

MalyTimi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:05pm

MAN, THE BEST GAME I PLAYED HERE!

cameronpenner says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Great submission! Game feels really nice to play. Solid mechanics.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:33pm

Nice game :)

Blobo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Checkpoints would be a nice feature.

FixDisk_GB says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Amazing game. Definitely one of my favorites this year.

jdeuce says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:49pm

I was trying to run the web build. It didn't seem to work that well. The terrain kept disappearing so I'd just see the background and character sprites, and then eventually it would crash.

fooify says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Wow, this is amazing! Great work.

schw3de says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Gj! I like the trees graphic very much. :)

MrMegawatts says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:13pm

beautiful art!

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Really fun! Shame about the lack of death animation

blaclegi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:40pm

It looks great, although the audio gets a bit repetitive after a while, but apart from that great job!

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:48pm

amazing art style! Really enjoyed a lot playing it!!! Seems that u work a lot for this LD35! cheers

MetalZebra says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:48pm

Nice work! The gameplay is so smooth and the pixelart is awesome. Really fun game!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Fun game and concept

rahulparihar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:12pm

This was fun to play ! Loved the visuals and 'juice' :)

locher2015 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:34pm

love it i like how it's hard

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:35pm

"'ware the invincible bluebird raining arrows of death from the sky!" - Porky the Prophet

Great idea, great execution.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Nice and polished game. Great pixel art!

jorori95 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Good concepts

Dsnunes says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:01pm

I loved it, very fun gameplay.

Eshford says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Needs some music, but it's kinda OK for compo solo-working. Don't like pixel-distortion in webgl build. Anyway, nice entry!

thatguyarch says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Really enjoyed it. The artwork was great, the gameplay was very fun and the random structure of the levels kept the game from feeling repetitive. This was a great experience overall, and it was very polished for a 48 hour game.

Headmade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Nice game but I don't understand the level progression. I was at the boss, died and then I was back at level 1? Was that a bug?

Raptorij says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:21pm

nice, man

Rscar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Thank you all for the feedback! @Headmade the levels loop, 1-3 over and over, though it does get harder with each iteration (more enemies, harder to kill). The sign at the beginning will actually read "Act 4" instead of "Act 1" after defeating the boss the first time :)

AlexLamarche says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:30pm

One of the best ive seen so far!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:50pm

I see I'm not the only one who went with the transforming into a different animal route :) I really enjoyed playing this. very fun indeed.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Very good entry with an interesting gameplay. I guess that it could be perfect with more features and something frenetic. However, the aesthetic is very pleasant. A solid entry. Well done ++

martymon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:09pm

loved the graphics and gameplay!

FatKarate says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Very slick. I like the tutorial method

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:47pm

One of the better games I've seen. I like the art style.

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Great artwork and gameplay was pretty fun! I had some cool moments when I would transform to human mid-air, shoot an arrow, and then transform back before touching the floor. Felt pretty good! Great job.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:59pm

Really amazing aaaaaaa such graphics audio smooth cameraaaa I LOVE IT

RockNRedPanda says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Holy shit this is a compo entry?! Dude this is a well done game. Loved it!

seanarooni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:12am

Very fun! One life was a little frustrating, but it did get me to play a lot longer than i probably would have otherwise! Loved the graphics, would like to see more variation in the sound effects. Had a lot of fun with mid-air shapeshift tactics.

The Vall says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:58am

Liked the shapeshift mechanic. Cool game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:25am

one life - cruel - this was really fun - i added to my play again list - nice job

Gtron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:58am

Those pigs are very accurate. Also, the birdperson reference was appreciated. Visuals were nice, and the sound was well balanced (bgm would have been nice though). I think the difficulty in Act 1 could have been toned down a little bit.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:09am

Needs some balance (other than invincibility mode :)), but a really fun experience nonetheless. Great work! :)

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Simple take on the concept but damn, challenging and fun!
Very nice done in the time for the compo.

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Great graphics, very playable.

josemorval says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Very nice concept and graphics! Good job :)

esayitch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Fantastic feel this game has. It was a blast to pull off sick maneuvers by flying up, switching to human form mid air, shooting pigs, and swapping to bird form right before hitting the ground and pulling back up xD

Suffice to say, great artwork as well. Could have used a good background tune I guess.

Good luck, wonderful entry!

Patomkin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:31pm

The first thing I did after spawning is successfully shooting myself in the head. Awesome :D

LostViking says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Best game I've played so far. Great aesthetics, fun and challenging gameplay. It also uses the shapeshifting theme very well.

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:36am

I liked switching between forms, but I feel like human movement could be tweaked to be more fluid. Also, would be nice if you didn't have to start at the first level every time you died

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:53pm

This is great, shifting from bird and shooting an arrow in midair feels super cool. Difficulty escalated a lot in the first level though, and dying in one hit is pretty brutal. Dying on level 2 respawned me on level 1, which i assume is a bug. I see a lot of potential here, nice work!

batmanasb says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:38am

This is my favorite game so far. It's not super innovative or creative with the theme, but the small innovation of using a bird form to help out an archer is the most fun idea so far! The arrow's feel real, and the impacts... have impact! You clearly have experience with 2D action platformers and it definitely shows by your use to 2 layers to make the combat for dynamic! I love this game, I love the art, and the intense mood it has, where one shot is the death of you! I also couldn't believe that this is a compo entry, how can one person be so good as both programming and art?! You really have the perfect 2D skill set! I'm definitely saving this game. I highly recommend that you expand this game and one day sell it on steam, it could be a great rougelike! Just add a death animation and more content variety.

PS: Could you please export to linux so that I can play this natively?

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:53am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Wefiends says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:35pm

I absolutely loved this game. It might actually be my favorite entry I've played so far. The feeling of turning into a bird, flying up, and raining arrows down on from the sky was fantastic.

scorched says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Fun and pretty easy to get used to controls, but I'd like to continue from the act where I died, not always from the first!

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:46am

i'm still waiting it :D

Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:35am

Really fun, well polished game. Graphics are really nice and game mechanics work well. Nice entry.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:27pm

What a Compo ! I'm really amazed by the amount of work you did in 2 days. The sound design is pretty good, the pixel art is awesome and the gameplay is totally spot one. Everything feels super polished, I enjoyed it a lot, this game is in my personal top 3 so far, no doubt !

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Excellent stuff indeed

Xanjos says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:36am

Kinda annoying that when you lose you start back at Act 1 but the overall concept was quite nice and I actually had a lot of fun playing this (plus I loved the humorous references in the act names).

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Really cool game, simple idea but well handled really fun to play and to try hard !!!

Steven Miller says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:43am

I rated this a while ago because I knew my rating wasn't going to change (you can't rate higher than five stars), but I've gone back to this quite a bit. After playing it for about two hours total, I finally beat it. I really only have one minor complaint, but other than that, this game is simply amazing. I would like an option to jump with W. Originally, I didn't really like that you had to restart from the beginning each time you died (especially when I realized that the boss shot five shots at a time in its final stage), but after beating the boss and seeing that the game loops around with a much higher difficulty, my opinion changed. That is actually a really cool mechanic, and I wish more people could see it (just looking at the comments, I haven't found anyone else who has beaten it yet). I will definitely by playing this more. Also, I didn't realize there was an invincibility mode, I will have to try that out to see how crazy the game gets.

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:22pm

This is pretty fun!
The controls can be a bit stiff, and it's a shame you restart at level 1, but it's really fun and well made. Good job!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/ZcRqGTT86gc

luckyy says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:39pm

This is the most fun game i've played in this ludum dare so far! The graphics are awesome, its fun to play and even the sounds are quite cool. Well done :)

stoarch says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:29am

Good game. I like it. But starting from beginning is harsh.
And if you make cooldown and stamina for transformation. I cheated jungle level - by flying to the right and sniping enemies from behind. (AI is pretty dumb, but good ai in two days is almost impossible to achieve).
And minimap will be good addition. Thank you for game.
Good luck

csanyk says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:27am

A bit slow paced, and I found the keyboard+mouse controls to be a bit awkward. Could be a lot better if these aspects were tightened up.

I liked the graphics and sounds though.

May 4, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Over all it is good game. The movement controls were little tricky when you are a bird. It is fun to switch between the archer and the bird forms, though.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:55pm

Really nice game, i love the characters and enemies , design and animation. The bird is really nice too and its a pleasure too use . But its really hard i cant go threw the second level because every time i die (no animation for it ) istart from the very begining. its quiet frustrating. Even if its never the same level :) Good game

MementoGames says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 2:49am

Who doesn't love archery?!
Pretty fun game! Lovely graphics too.

PS. The WebGL build turns all white after while.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]