Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Radiant Core

by PixlWalkr - Compo Entry

// I Recommend to play the game in 1366x768 or 16:9 resolution ratio.
// I will upload the source code and a timelapse video shortly.

Controls:
Space: Conceal and blend with the environment.
Space (While controlling an enemy drone): Shoot
Left Mouse Button: Hijack near enemy drone.
RIght Mouse Button: Eject from enemy drone.

Initial game Idea and story:
Control a micro drone that is capable of hacking AI systems. Infiltrate a facility and destroy the brain core which controls the enemy drones.

The game is short as I have removed some planned features and levels because of the time constraint Still, I hope you guys will enjoy playing it. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Mood4.22
#13Graphics4.50
#28Audio4.00
#155Overall3.65
#212Innovation3.55
#241Fun3.45
#601Theme3.15
#1808Coolness32%

Comments

icefallgames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:57am

Love the look and feel and atmosphere of this!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Great mood, but I didn't understand the control, I reached the end of the game, without hijacking no one.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:55am

This was pretty fun! Loved the visuals.

Green Soda says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:16am

GREAT MOOD AND GRAPHICS! i like the stealthiness of gameplay with a mix of brute force action...

However, level design has lots of room for improvement as playing the game for a long time makes me feel that the environment gets repititive/ "nkakaumay"... variations and diversifiers would make this EXTRA FUN AND GREATER when it's already good as it is :D

I see nice potential in this game with more development time :) Great job bruh! cheers xD (ART IS REALLY DAYUM!)

Zayron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Nice job! It took me a while to figure out I could pass through some walls in stealth mode. A lot of fun!

Yword says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Really cool graphics and atmosphere, and the music is very good too! But I think it will be better to control the movement with directional keys. Well done!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:25pm

Really awesome graphics and sound. A little tricky to control with the mouse, but still loads of fun. Absolutely love the lighting and colour choices. Very nice job.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:09am

Gorgeous lighting and atmosphere! Feels really polished.

derr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:45am

The graphics and the mood are top notch! I was stuck a bit until I realised that some walls are pass-through (I would have figured it out sooner if I actually got close. There are enemies shooting at you, demonstrating that it's actually foreground).

Great job!

Takadimi says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Really cool little game! Controls felt rock solid and very intuitive. The only thing I could criticize is that it never felt very necessary to hijack the enemies, it was a lot easier to just dodge! That's a very minor point though, overall I loved it!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Graphics and sound are really well done. Really short, but fun. Nice, congrats!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:53pm

Wow this is awesome! Nice graphics and gameplay great job

Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:26pm

Great entry with stunning mood thanks to its stunning aesthetics and the gameplay is pretty good too. I had a great time playing it, congrats !

Gtron says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Very fun and looks beautiful. I don't think mouse control was the best option for control though. It wasn't precise enough for me to feel like I actually had control over my position.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Lovely graphics, great game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/_jtEhCyw5p8

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:46am

quite nice and well polished - loved the idea -reminded me of paradroid many moons ago

Sota says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:23pm

It's a much harder game when you hijack someone. Other than that, the foreground objects needs to be separated from the walls. Maybe blur them a bit to show their at a distance from the player?

Tselmek says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:59am

Awesomely polished game, unfortunately there were a huge load of visual glitches, I wonder if it is because of the resolution. Nonetheless I had fun and I really hope to see further development of it, it is very promising. The clean graphics make out a nice atmosphere.

pixelpotions says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:55am

That was super fun! Loved the graphics and the music. I had some trouble with the controls though, left mouse to take over an enemy sometimes didn't work. Also I could manage to glitch through the walls. Nonetheless a really enjoyable solid entry!

Xanjos says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Really enjoyed the visual style and the hijacking mechanic was pretty cool. My only gripe however is that there doesn't seem to be any way of recovering health (ideally I would have preferred gaining health from hijacking drones).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]