Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shift!

by StrayCat - Jam Entry

A conffuzed chameleon fails its aim when trying to catch a fly. Seek the golden fly while shifting back and fort!

Controls: arrows, awd
M toggles music
F toggles sound effects

Stomp an enemy to shift

Better description after submission hour is over!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#138Theme(Jam)3.92
#192Audio(Jam)3.57
#246Humor(Jam)3.11
#269Overall(Jam)3.54
#403Fun(Jam)3.29
#443Mood(Jam)3.23
#445Graphics(Jam)3.50
#542Innovation(Jam)3.06

Comments

norseware says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:26am

Clever ideas! The jumping was hard to get used to, and sometimes when I jumped on other animals, they'd go into the floor, and I couldn't get them again. I did like the art though! Nice job :)

Millefey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:51pm

That cover art drew me in for the amusing and very strange little platformer experience! I still don't know if chameleons eat mushrooms but I liked the game and also the music once I toggled it on. ;)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:49am

I'm still traveling with these crazy muchroons maann!! Haha

I liked the graphics, the story, with the crazy chameleon, is simple, but cool and the gameplay is nice.

Great game! :D

muraisama says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:43am

Fun little platformer, the graphics are nice. I needed to get used to the cat jumping so high, but other than that the controls are solid :)

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:44pm

Nice game

mar3k says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:03am

cool game

Geck0 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:09am

Funny :)

ThommazK says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:31pm

We all know what those shrooms are for, funny game! :)

Tripl3m says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Nice idea, I like the shifting concept between the 3 animals. I really like the music. And there are a ton of level which is nice to have fun ^^

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:29am

Good implementation of the theme, although I found that my playstyle didn't change very much based on my form. Clear graphics and fun soundtrack. Nice job.

d3garcia says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:43am

Excellent entry I really like the theme implementation, very responsive gameplay, this could be a great game with some extra work.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:44pm

Pretty fun and interesting entry. I really liked the art and animations.

rhastapunk says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:00am

Loved this entry, good job StrayCat!

pixelpotions says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Fantastic game! Good job!

Yumeito says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:07am

Nice little game:)

MementoGames says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:58am

A chameleon tripping the hell out of its mind? Ok... And it turned out a pretty fun platformer! Loved the music.
Nice job!

Sabina Lis says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:24am

This was nice to play, i liked the idea of changing animals by steping on them, the only thing i have to say about this is that in shifting many times, you sort of loose track of wich of the animals you are, specially when there are many togheter, really nice graphics!

Tselmek says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:42am

Nice concept, the platformer physics sometimes seemed a little out of place. Cool animations. The 3rd level seems to loop over, I don't know if that's supposed to be the end or if it's just a bug.

APantaloni says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:03pm

I expected it to be a little more puzzly with the different animal powers, but it's a nice platformer that controls well and is fun to play. Nice job :)

gelisam says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:18pm

The best shape-shifting design I've seen so far, and I've seen a lot!

Given the theme, it's not surprising that so many other entries also allow the player to shift between different forms. Some automatically shift you at predetermined times, making the result feel more like a juxtaposition of separate games than a game in which you can shape-shift. Others allow you to shift at will, making the result feel like your character has the abilities of all the shapes together and that only being able to use one ability at a time is an artificial restriction. Others still restrict the number of times you can shape shift, discouraging you from exploring the very part of the game which makes it unique.

This cleverly works around the pitfalls of the "shift at will" approach by making you find an enemy with the proper shape before you can shapeshift. This small moment of planning between deciding to shape shift and actually shape-shifting really focuses the game on shape-shifting itself rather than on using the abilities of each shape. And by immediately re-spawning a new enemy with the old shape as soon as the player shifts, the game makes it clear that shifting back is going to be easy, thereby avoiding the pitfalls of the "restricted shape-shifting" approach. Very well designed!

StrayCat says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:19am

Thank you everyone for your feed! We will keep working to improve this and our future games. Every comment and opinion helps us to improve. Thank for playing!

AngerFork says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:37am

Loved the idea behind this as well as the overall game play. Sometimes I wasn't sure why I hit my head on something, but that was the only issue I found. Would love to try this out with a controller!

kabel says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:09am

Nice, even though the controls were a bit unresponsive sometimes and some of the animations were too long or too short. Interesting mechanics, I like that there are NPC-enemy animals too. The music was ok, and the level design was well put together. The idea is kinda unoriginal but the setting makes the concept new.

Zeriver says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:47pm

Nice concept, i like how only other kind of animal hurts you, it's simple mechanic, but opens interesting options for level design and by the way levels are really fun and there is a lot of them (by LD standards). Overall really good game with fun gameplay and nice art + music

abuzreq says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Good work !, The game had a nice flow and I really like the graphics and the animation.
(I also learned a thing or two from your time-lapses :))

but in many times changing the shape was not clearly needed
and I didn't get when do I lose .The level seemed to be over populated with animals sometimes .

and just an idea that could take the game in a different direction:
you might consider trying to make the shape shifting controlled through a button press while introducing new challenges that require using the different shapes smartly.
This give the opportunity for more animal shapes and a wider variety of challenges (Jumping , Attacking,Camouflage,..etc )

Allorius says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Nice little game, played throught three levels. I think that bird is to OP, but its fine, its not like you have much time to bablnce stuff when you have only three days to work.

Mithreindeir says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:30am

Very interesting idea. I loved the chameleons walk animation, it was pretty funny.

curtamyth says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:35am

Unique platformer, and good use of theme! Nice graphics and sound too. Good job!

Brickkid512 says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:37am

The Art looks great. Nice Job

MegaBrutal says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:38am

Are the levels procedurally generated?
Great game, excellent sound and graphics.
I didn't play it to the end, because then I wouldn't have time to submit my rating. :P I hope you'll get the required number of ratings.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]