Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Canis Incident

by srakowski - Compo Entry

"The Canis Incident"
by Shawn Rakowski

Description:

Dr. Adi Van Kovski, a leading bio-engineer at Vitae Dare labs, heads home after a long day of work, leaving her kitten at the office. Then the unthinkable happens... The lab explodes covering the area with an organic mush that, when combined with DNA from animals being tested on in the lab, shapeshifts into bizarre creatures. Dr. Van Kovski makes the courageous decision to save her kitten from these unthinkable creatures, but will she be too late?

In this top down shooter you'll fight your way through the halls of Vitae Dare labs... killing koala-bats, tortoise-hares, and narwhal-horses whom fire rainbow blasts in your direction... in hopes of saving a kitten.

----

Controls

W - move up
S - move down
A - move left
D - mover right
Q - toggle shotgun/rifle
mouse - aim
left-click mouse - fire

Press any of WASD to skip through story faster

----

Notes:

I didn't have time to put some indicators in the final stage of Story Mode (you'll know it when you see it). Interact with items in that spaces that seem a bit out of place and you should be able to finish the game.

There are 2 weapons, I didn't get time for an indicator. Q swaps between a shotgun and rifle.

Ugghh! I forgot to wire in the final boss' damage... that 48hr time limit :-(

Play for at least 8 levels in story mode to get to the final level.

----

The Direct X version seems to work the best.

The OpenGL version sometimes fails on me for no apparent reason. You'll probably need to install OpenAL for the OpenGL version as there is audio.

*** Used .NET 4.6.1 / MonoGame

**** IF WINDOWS DOESNT LET YOU RUN IT ***
Right-Click on the EXE, select properties, and click 'UNBLOCK'.

*** IF IT DOESN'T RUN IN WINDOWS ***
You may need to install directx 9... not sure why things don't get bundled. Try installing here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35

For the GL version you may need https://www.openal.org/



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#110Humor3.29
#450Audio2.74
#505Fun3.06
#611Mood2.70
#685Overall2.94
#725Graphics2.53
#798Theme2.74
#820Innovation2.45

Comments

Javabot says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:05am

I come up with an instant "stopped running" error, and I looked at details and system.dll cannot be found? Can't run it.

srakowski says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:12am

Which version? You may need DirectX or OpenAL installed

mf1214 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:23am

Great game! I had fun playing it.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:26am

High marks for humor! :) I like the sparse use of color (I giggled the first time I ran into a unicorn), and your character design for the main character.

The sad music playing as she worries about her kitten and blasts any who would threaten it amused me, too. Nice work :)

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:58am

A well-done shooter. It took me a few tries, since my instinct is to try to clear rooms, and the randomized levels added to the challenge.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:59am

Lol that was a lot more fun than I was expecting! The machinegun is awesome. The white flash and sound effect when you hit an enemy is both efficient and satisfying. Good variety of enemies and the way they swarm you makes the game pretty fun!

The hit detection on the bullets seem a bit inconsistent though. If there was some small effect to let me know that the bullet was hitting a wall I think the game would be even better.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:47am

Brilliant! So you've taken the Vlambeer design approach. Awesome. I laughed out loud at the narwhal unicorns. Very fun game, five stars. Nitpicks include the simplistic music, navigating narrow corridors and coins moving slower than the character, but overall I love it.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:59am

I had to return to the game to try and finish it. I enjoyed the boss, although it was a bit easy. Overall some status indication would be nice to show how far you have progressed in the game, it made me wonder whether there was an end to it.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:49am

At first I thought the spread and speed of the bullets were excessive, then I saw the horror swarming around. Fun game, but the music didn't feel right for what you are doing.

Itay2805 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:12am

From some reason it doesn't run... The openGL version doesn't do anything and the DirectX version just shows a white screen...

srakowski says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:30am

Sorry to hear that Itay, ugh... maybe I need to go back to JavaScript or try Unity >.<

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:48am

It was fun to play, and the ending was very funny. The firing noise was a bit annoying, but overall it was a fun little game :)

LRP says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:11pm

fun in a can

Paulgami says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Found it a little unplayable with the ton of enemies and (for me at least) pretty low framerate. Best part hands down was the newspaper pages.

NIGIC says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Solid, glitch-free gameplay. Interesting way to present the story.

You sort of fell into a lot of the trappings of this game type though. The shotgun gives way too much coverage vs the rifle's somewhat-higher fire speed and range; the only time I ever even wanted to switch was during the final level, where the rifle simply outranged the boss. Infinite ammo and ridiculously high (infinite) health regen means you can just hold the shot button and run around carelessly. And enemy placement feels, well, random, and aside from the first couple levels, you don't feel any progression in difficulty (or anything, for that matter) from one level to the next. All levels looking exactly the same didn't help on that front either.

Still enjoyed it though. Good job!

thedashdude says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:43am

I liked the game, but the ability to just run through levels without shooting anything made it a little pointless.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:54pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Jungle says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Nice entry. Fits theme very well. Good, sharp (and a bit difficult) shooter. Congratulations

TheCain says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 2:50am

What this game lacks, is character progression.
In Nuclear Throne, or Risk of Rain, as you go deeper, the game changes, and your character changes.
That is what this game is missing.
I just ran past all the enemy's to the exit, because I had no reason to kill them.
I did like that every enemy gave back a little health.
But other than that, it was nice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]