Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapey

by JALgames - Jam Entry

Sorry for the sound. It will hurt and you cannot disable it.

In this game, you control Shapey, a small geometric form, on his journey to the right. Shapey can transform into a triangle or a circle and pass through different doors, depending on his shape.

We understand that the level is quite short, but we were not really able to come up with a lot of interesting puzzles.

If you want to give feedback, we'd really appreciate to know what you liked and what not, because we consider expanding this version into a full game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#108Humor(Jam)3.58
#213Mood(Jam)3.57
#253Fun(Jam)3.46
#271Theme(Jam)3.68
#304Graphics(Jam)3.76
#381Overall(Jam)3.40
#459Audio(Jam)3.00
#555Innovation(Jam)3.04

Comments

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Thank you for the warning about the sound. It did indeed hurt me. But apart from that, this was really well made! Tight, responsive controls and a cool art style.

rahulparihar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Good game. Some adorable characters you have got there ! ^_^

jk5000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Okay sound is annoying, but also quite fun. The game is generalt good and the puzzles are not bad.

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Sound is great, it totally fits the visual style. Nice game!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Wow! Thanks!! I love the graphics! So beauty

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:08pm

I loved the game!! Funny sound and Art soo cuute!! =3

I was playing and showing to my parents. Everybody here think it is very cool! :D

Great job!

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:56pm

aye! Loved the art!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:00pm

When you started out apologizing about the sound I feared the worst, but in my opinion it really added a lot of value to the game.
I also really liked the graphics, they fit well together with the sound.
If you were to do a post compo version of this, it would be nice if the controls were more smooth, and maybe slightly slower- Furthermore a game mechanic could be to give the various shapes different abilities, like circle can jump higher, square can break certain tiles, and so forth.
All in all I found this to be a good game! Good job!

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Level design was actually pretty good. I enjoyed the childrens drawing illustration but if I didnt read your post about the sound then I would've said that part was annoying. The credits just looped the sound but the thing that was a bit nausiating with it's 'drunk' panning. Controls were good, the options made me giggle too. I also like the blurry spin animation for the transformation.

Mak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Haha! So fun game! I really liked the sounds, specially the jump ones (the squarey form was the fucking best), although the sheeps scared the shit out of me. The mechanics were interesting enough to keep you thinking, but never break the flow of the jumping. Also, the graphics are incredibly cute.

As a note of complain, the switch doors, it is not really clear wether they are closed or not.

Also loved the options for making sheep sound!

Big Cow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Cute graphical style and animations!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:58pm

I love the graphics, and the sounds are pretty funny! :D
It would be nice if the switches didn't flip when you tried to walk away from them.
Good job, and good luck on the next version!

apalade says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:09pm

You guys are crazy. Nuff said.

I really laughed though. Audio was hilarious but seriously, you guys are insane. Good job! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]