Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

princess, castle, etc

by Steve | tacospice - Compo Entry

A short little action adventure game.

Use the prepackaged binaries, or install LÖVE 0.10.1.
For source, unpack the LÖVE package.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Humor4.14
#44Audio3.86
#83Mood3.70
#141Theme3.86
#218Graphics3.59
#467Fun3.13
#542Overall3.13
#651Innovation2.82
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:18am

I liked the main mechanic, it's a shame you didn't explore it at all.

dvdfu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:59am

Loved the two different endings. Short and sweet! I like it a lot.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:39am

LOL, the ending(s), so much to love. There's a really solid foundation here, just a shame it's so short. Audio, mood, graphics, and humor are all top shelf.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Despite the basic hero visuals there is a lot to like here. The animation is really lovely and the sound effects super funny.

As was said before, it was very short and the controls could have been tighter (especially the hero acceleration was much too slow).

Overall I really enjoyed what little there was to see. Good job!

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Good sound. Cute platformer and a sudden ending.

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Lol we have the same mechanic. So, I am not objective ;) nice game.
Try out our game.
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:55pm

The game is nice, everything is cool, add jumping animation and more levels to it. And then it will be the greatest.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Very polished entry even though the physics feel a little odd. Too bad the mechanic is not exploited more, great job nonetheless.

marmpa says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:07pm

I really liked the animations and that you had a slow start.

bogdan.tana says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Short but worth it! Played both endings just to see what happens :D Cool art&graphics! Congrats

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:34pm

I was just starting to have fun, but then it already ended.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:16pm

The game is really too short. Loved the end :D

g12345 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Nice idea for a game. A bit short but it fits the theme well.

Nexus64 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Good graphics and Ideas, but the control need polish.
Specially the bat, take forever to stop.

Linver says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:00am

You should make a hero smaller, or do a X_movespeed faster.
Game is small, but dont have real troubles. Background and audio is great, but characters are not good in a different style. There is bit of oldschool nostalgy/
PS\ And thanks for a honest comment, man.

ratking says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:27am

Hey, this is much too short! Make it longer, because it's cool!

euske says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:51am

Uh, how can I kill the princess?

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:34pm

a bit short but fun to play

Tegu says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:03pm

The moonwalking barbarian. :P

The mechanic was interesting, I would gladly play a longer version of this. The graphics, sounds and animations are really cool and have probably taken quite significant time to make. The wind seems to only affect when moving horizontally. It doesn't do anything when moving just vertically. Not that this really affects anything, just happened to notice. I really like the hilarious end.

It turned out I couldn't die. I desperately tried to, though, but the bat just dodged me. I ended up jumping on top of it and kicking it to the wall.

Great base for an adventure game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]