Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

LycanQuest

by mactinite - Compo Entry

I added a fixed version to itch.io. It keeps your progress between deaths (just puts your character back at where he started physically, but all the monsters you killed will stay dead and the items you picked up stay picked up.) and also adds controller support. More details on the itch page.

LycanQuest: A metroidvania style mini-adventure. Take your wolfly shapeshifting powers and destroy the evil spirits residing in the cave system below.

Controls: (Controller Support soon....)

Arrows: Move and Jump
Z : Attack
C : Shapeshift (Once you have the item)
Esc: Pauses the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#84Graphics3.98
#107Fun3.72
#119Mood3.58
#126Overall3.72
#180Audio3.33
#183Theme3.79
#508Humor2.09
#603Innovation2.89

Comments

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:51am

Pretty cool platformer, but some checkpoints would be nice!

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:54am

I wish there was more of it. Love the animations.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:00am

nice game, reminds me of castlevania. i couldnt get the web versions to work, but the windows version works fine. in my opinion the combat is the only thing i had issues with. other then that nice game.

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:01am

Supercool platformer!
Love the level design too!! Animations are just perfect! :)

DieWithDustin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:01am

I'm not very good at these sorta games but this was great.

abaines says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:09am

Fun game with a nice presentation. Didn't complete it fully, I agree with the checkpoint suggestion.

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:23am

Really nice, pretty and atmospheric. As others have noted, some checkpoints would be nice, and longer levels would be nice.

Some of the sound effects are so loud they clip which doesn't sound too nice.

I could easily see this become a bigger game with actual story and stuff =)

Pent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:00am

I adore the shapeshift transition and damage screen-effects

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:19am

Nicely done! There are some good mechanics in there and a generally good sense of movement. Combat was decent enough, and the level was nicely put together. The damage effect was great. I would've liked a little smoother combat in human form, the music could use another pass to make it fit better, and the sound effects worked but could use improvement. It was still fun to play, though, even if I wanted more.

Syldarion says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:39am

Your shapeshifting is top-notch. As everyone else said, some sort of checkpoint system would be great for this.

Pietdagamer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:34am

Top notch graphics and audio!

akirassasin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:21pm

Cool shapeshift and damage/death effects!
Also like the fact that you can attack while running.

mactinite says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Thanks for all the awesome feedback so far guys. I really appreciate it! I love this community <3

JoseArias says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:38pm

It remembered mi a lot to Altered Beast. Very nice done!

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:05am

Animations are sick! love the transition morphing effect! Cool music, though some sound effects are a bit painful too "crisp"

Fumiko says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Nice graphics and solid platformer, the music reminded me on a game about robin hood i played on the nes back in the old days

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Nice game!
Graphics is pretty good. Despite being too simple, it definitely has some nice style in it. Also, that shader effect on taking damage was fancy.
Sound is ok, but it could be heavily improved. I think it would sound a lot better if you would remove all high-pitched noises from effects using equalizer in Audacity or something similar.
Also, as others have mentioned, some checkpoints would be nice.
Good job overall!

hpearson2 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Loved the damage animation of screen! You get the ability to shape shift into dogie right before platforming section :(

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:14pm

Love the look of this game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/KyB-5ZqWXwk

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:24am

Awesome graphics and use of the theme! Reminds me of Castlevania: Symphony of the Night.

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:48am

That is some fun! :-)

egos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:33am

very well polished fort a compo entri (Castlevania: Symphony of the Night)
because of the mob rush in some zone i think too checkpoint will be nice

neontropics says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:26am

Nice! Very satisfying attack as the wolf, good graphics and *amazing* effects

Green Soda says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:38am

ahhh brings back the good 'ole castlevania feels... love this game... pls add savepoints so that players won't put down the controller when they die after significant progress... :) Good one bruh

endel says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:46am

Very solid gameplay, the movement difference between characters allows you to create clever levels. Loved the transition effect. Congrats!

humble_ray says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Amazing platformer game!I like the animations!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Sober and simple but very effective ! Nice looking animations !

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:40pm

Neat game! I liked how the human form controlled. And the shapeshift effect was cool. Reminded me of Teleglich. Great work!

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:07am

I love this game! Fluid animation, cool music, neat hit effect on screen! Simply too good! :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:15am

this was a very well done game - great graphics and i loved the effect during shifting - i hope you included that in the source code :)

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:33pm

This was a good entry. The graphics style was quite intersting but simple. The screen effects did look really good and added a lot to the game feel. I enjoyed the music as well. The controls felt tight and the two forms were similar, yet different enough. The enemies were quite tough to defeat, but fun to do so, especially the wizard guys. Overall, solid entry!

Griz says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Great entry with sweet gameplay. Are you planning on updating it in the future?

mactinite says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:42pm

@everyone thanks for the feedback guys. Really love it.
@Griz I just recently patched it with bug fixes controller support and a former of a checkpoint system, but I might update it and expand it a bit in the future. Totally depends on the feedback I get here and other projects I happen to fall into.

LinealGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Fun with great graphics and animations!

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

mactinite says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:48am

@Freank Hey Thanks for checking it out! I just went through the process of putting my game up on your site. It was a little confusing at first. but here is the link:
http://www.indiexpo.net/en/games/lycanquest

Thanks!

MrMordem says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Nice game, i love the "low fi" sound effects like in old dos games, the graphics while simple were really nice and the music was good as well, a bit hard on the combat side with the "ghost" like ennemies but good game nonetheless.

I was able to play it and rate with the windows download, however in case you don't know I had this error while trying to play the web version on the LD page :

404 Not Found https://storage.googleapis.com/itchio/upload2/game/62188/190377

mactinite says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:22am

Hey MrMordem, thanks for playing! Unfortunately, looks like the error you got is related to how itch.io serves up their content. :/

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:57pm

404 storage error ...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]