Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Polyshift

by keyboardmonkey - Compo Entry

A simple polygon shape-shifting game. Two buttons, 8 shapes... Can you become the ultimate poly shifter?

The built-in quick-start tutorial gets you going. Try for yourself and see what rank you are given.

The Love file requires LÖVE 0.10.1

# Tools Used

- Code: Löve 0.10.1 (www.love2d.org)
- Inkscape: Shape Generation (https://inkscape.org)
- Sounds: Sfxr (http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html)
- Music: Milkytracker (http://milkytracker.org)

The song is called "polyshift" and created by me for this game entry.

# Other Credits

Fontdiner Swanky Font
https://www.google.com/fonts#QuickUsePlace:quickUse/Family:Fontdiner+Swanky

# Created by

Wesley "keyboard monkey" Werner

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#59Theme4.08
#168Overall3.62
#221Fun3.48
#228Graphics3.57
#271Audio3.13
#327Innovation3.35
#458Mood2.95
#512Humor2.08

Comments

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:46am

Woah, gets stressful fast. I like it.

IcyLava says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:30pm

I got 72%, not sure how good that is. It's simple but fun. It seems the shape detection is a bit more forgiving in the later levels, which is nice. Pretty cool game, good job :D

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Fun and great use of theme

treegemmer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Awesome animation between the symbols!

Mordokay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Nice game with cool graphics. Like a lot the transition between the shapes. Found one bug (feature?) where if you shift between the shapes very fast you get +1. Got to level 5 without having to look at the screen.

rupazero says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Simply beautiful graphics, very nicely animated

owyoow says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Nice game! I like the transitions between shapes.

wtfrara says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Great take on the theme.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Very cool idea!! Maybe it gets fast too fast though...
Graphics suit the shapeshifting really well!!!
Nice execution overall!

vootele says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Good job, made me play for a while :-)

blinry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:32pm

I also love the transitions! Found the gameplay a tad too simple. But fun, nevertheless!

TinyHugger says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Pretty neat!

knason says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:35pm

matched 140 skill 72% Awesome game, it was really hard at the end though :-) it was fun and good use of the theme. Good job!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Very literal use of the theme, I enjoyed it.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Loved the shift change animation! And the difficult scales really well! :D Sometimes i got the same shape four times in a row and became more tedious, but nice work here.

DifferentName says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Fun game. I felt like in the last level, it didn't really matter how fast I could think, as there wasn't enough time to push the button to get to the shape I needed. It could work that fast if I had a way to pick my shape faster without pushing a button several times, or if it went just a bit slower by the later levels. But I was expecting to lose at some point, not to keep going for the highest skill rating I could get.

glitchu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Nice and simple it was fun :) With a mouse it's pretty difficult since both clicks only moves the shape selected to the right I got a cheater rank on my first try because of that.Then tried it again on keyboard and felt it was alot better. Good audio and visuals too.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:31pm

I really liked the transformation animations

cossette says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:32am

simple, but well executed!

rjhelms says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:44am

Good stuff - I had some good fun with this. It felt like at the end things were going a bit too fast, in that the challenge was just mashing buttons fast enough rather than recognizing the shapes, but I can't think of an easy way around that.

Either way, I had a lot of fun playing this!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:13am

Wow, simple but so well done. not only were the graphics impressive, but the music added to make the game more stressful. I was worried the difficulty would ramp up too fast, but it didn't, and I got a chance to play!

Very nice job!

janiq says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:41am

Really intense, i am too nervous for these type of games :-D Shapeshifting was nice and the idea was good. The game looked simple at the beginning but after a while it required a skill. I liked the music and effect too. Good work.

Goutye says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Pretty good! Until the lvl 8 o/ Quite hard near the end obviously!

tompudding says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Very cool. I felt like it could have been a bit faster at the start, but it was a lot of fun! Great job. I recorded a video of myself playing : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FYFYF3MWiyU

AsixJin says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:20pm

This was fun! I got an 86%...Imma professional!!! I'd like to see this game with some scoreboards if it were worked on any further.

Tegu says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Matched 140 shapes, missed 35, skill 80 %. Rank: Greased Lightning. This got very hard in the end. I kept mostly missing the shapes. The current shape itself obscures the incoming shapes, which is even more significant on the faster levels. I feel like the two nearly-circular shapes were too similar to each other as they can be easily mistaken. Also, pounding bass action. :P An intense game!

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Fun game, would be good as a mobile app.

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:30pm

why i could not visit these link? it told me that Error-The requested URL could not be retrieved....orz is there other site link just like itch or some zone like dropbox? hope more link and to download ->play your game, your game's concept really attract me

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:08am

Pretty nice game! Pure fun. Gets hectic really fast, I like it - remind me of my own entry :)
I like how you made shapes, really nice, especially for the compo, impressive.

Per says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:46am

Nice morphing stuff! The game is fun and simple to understand.

Jin47 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 8:40am

Great Game. I found it a little too slow at the beginning though. Good music and great graphics Good job

WizzardMaker says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:29am

Funny little game, nice shifting effect, but it gets a little boring after some time.

May 4, 2016 @ 1:19pm

Great concept and execution!

May 4, 2016 @ 2:35pm

The shapes and the transitions are very cool. It's more fun than you'd expect for how simple it is. Sometimes at the end, it felt like there wasn't even enough time to press the arrow keys enough times to switch to the right shape. I got 89% though! Cool entry.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Very good game with a great concept. I cannot figure out how you manage all algorhythmes so as to create these forms. Cute aesthetic. It could be very fun on mobile device, but I don't know if it is possible on Löve. I like it. Well done. One of my favorites ++

3T3A says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:58pm

I liked how the game was pretty fast at the end. I very liked that arcade gameplay, the art style and the music is entertaining. Good job ;)

tomlum says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:51pm

The shapeshifting animation is out of this world.

Naca says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:52pm

The core idea is simple but very well developed. The game looks great and is fun to play. I got 74% :D But the last level is absolutely crazy!

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:05am

Woow! you really built so many shape symbol in it! and all have great design and enough reatures and identification.
to be honest,before i real play this game, i really not got the way about how play this game by read these scrrenshots,but when i real paly,there really have a great tutorial and nice rhythm curve.
but the most important thing is ,you build a great and so health checking method! let the game have more gameplay and also not too hard(i can feel that the check about shape,instead of a time of point,but a period time,i think this design is very great!)
finally,the wonderful ambient music help me to flow feel very much,also it fit the toatally ambient verymuch!(maybe if there are more emotional elements,this game will be more perfect)
all in all, great artwork, Congratulations!

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:47am

I got 83%, though at one point I had just given up, so I could have gotten higher.
This is quite fun, I like it.

curtamyth says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:09am

Nicely done! I've played a few games similar to this but this is the best implementation of this type of game I've seen. I like it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]