Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Moveless Chess

by Beavl - Jam Entry

Play chess without moving your pieces!

***************************** NEWS *******************************
Version 0.5 of the post-compo version with 10 levels is already up!
*******************************************************************

CREDITS:
Art Design: @aikalen
Game Design & Game Development: @NicoSaraintaris

NOTE: There is only one level in the jam version, just to present the game mechanics. But we will make many more for a post-compo version!

NOTE2: We've decided to work on this and make it a full-fledged game. Expect some news, lots of new levels and some announcements in the near future!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation(Jam)4.54
#24Theme(Jam)4.29
#73Fun(Jam)3.84
#83Overall(Jam)3.89
#210Mood(Jam)3.58
#255Humor(Jam)3.08
#268Graphics(Jam)3.82
#555Audio(Jam)2.80
#1854Coolness30%

Comments

cabezotta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:31am

Great game! Is very smart twist for a long loved game!
I want more levels right noooow!! :D

FerraWare says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:41am

It reaaaaaally leaves you wanting more levels, it's a pretty good mechanic if you like chess.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:47am

Very cool idea! Great use of the theme.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:48am

Pretty cool, would have liked to see more levels.

dwhiffing says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:50am

Cool mechanic! More levels!

urfbound says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:52am

This one is a lot of fun. A really innovative (I've certainly not seen this) mechanic that incorporates the theme really well! I really like the justification for choosing the AP values for each piece too. Seems really thoughtfully designed (although I'm the first to admit I'm not a chess expert). The graphics are great, invoking a wicked retro vibe. Only thing I would say about them (and a problem I had too) is that some resources didn't scale well (for example, the 'restart' button didn't scale properly on my screen and looked blurry). More levels will certainly bring me back! I had a lot of fun playing this and hope you had fun making it! I bet multiplayer would be fun in a future iteration! Thanks for your submission!

The Vall says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:56am

Cool concept. Would be much better with more levels.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:32am

Nice idea and good graphics :)

kingpirux says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:35pm

nice and creative :D

CoRcHoX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Old theme, new shapeshift chees gameplay. Nive work!

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Very interesting idea. Good game. Congratulations :D

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:51am

I should learn to play chess first, but i like the idea

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Very nice game i like it, please more levels this game has potential.

Beavl says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Thanks you guys for all the amazing feedback.
***Good news! New levels are here!***
And we've decided to make a full-fledged mobile/web version of the game. Expect some news soon!

Dsnunes says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:22am

very well elaborate, I liked!

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:05am

Nice twist on chess!

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:10am

Great entry with an innovative gameplay. The font could be chosen better though.

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:35am

It's also a bit hard to distinguish some of the pieces.

Hectigo says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:12am

Pretty cool idea. If you take this further, make sure to change the small font. Also the pieces can be a bit hard to distinguish, the king should stand out more. Hilighting which areas each piece is threathening would make it more interesting also for chess novices I think.

matt beckett says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Perfect graphics, especially in the title screen. Well done!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:40pm

It is really a great idea for a puzzle game! Very original and interesting.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:14pm

Great use of the theme!

ooku says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:56pm

extremely clever :)

Beavl says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:34pm

Added game over screen when checked (as you cannot move your king nor your pieces, you cannot protect your king!) and a font easier to read. More levels coming soon! (And UI redesign and some neat surprises!)

Thanks all for playing the game!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:28am

Interesting use of the theme within the constraints of chess. Liked the way you had to think through the pieces you had available and the action points you had. Also nice graphics.

scorched says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Neat!
Wish king, queen and bishop visuals were more distinct, also would be nice to see current level number!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Brilliant! So glad you're making more levels!

scorched says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Also in this level: http://imgur.com/saRNdY5
I try to transform a right bottom bishop to rook, and the game says I'm exhausted!
I'm pretty sure I must be the winner in this situation! :D

Ithildin says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Very clever twist on chess and good execution. I miss some feedback when you run out of AP, but other than that the entry is very solid. Good job!!

Beavl says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:38pm

@scorched: Thanks for playing! No, It's not checkmate. If you transform the bottom bishop into a rook, AI could move his bishop to h2. Nonetheless, we'll improve transitions in the game, a pause before popping up a game status and some visual feedback :)

Still a lot of work to do, but really hyped!

Cheers!

ployer says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:22pm

very nicely done

TheBreakfast says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:48am

Solid idea, interesting puzzle concept! Graphics were very clean also

3rdChance says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Very smart game!

LeReveur says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:08pm

That's a very clever and intersting take of the theme, however, a more complicated "only-one-jam-level" would have been better. ;)

bazkur98 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Very well done indeed. I love Chess and this was an excellent twist! I would defiantly play a full game of it on my phone. You may already be considering this, but I'd suggest adding in not just levels but Daily Challenges. Maybe even allow your player base to submit challenges.

snowyowl says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Excellent game! It's hard to find new twists on chess, but you pulled it off.

Alphish says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:26pm

Somewhat hilarious take on the chess, one of the best uses of theme in the entire Jam, really interesting puzzle.

One thing I found annoying is that sometimes I don't feel like I can determine mechanics. As in, in level 2 I was doing some random moves which didn't lead to checking the enemy king, which would make an easy win for AI, but instead it randomly decided to beat the top-left rook instead (even though usually it made its checkmate right). I think it'd work better if it was clearly stated, that if you don't check the enemy king, be prepared for the opponent making checkmate on you instead.

Also, sometimes I couldn't quite see what move did the enemy make, nor could I tell how I've won or lost, because the final window completely covered the board. I think that requires fixing.

But that aside, it was very fine and interesting puzzle (of course, not too much fun with only one level). Certainly one of this LD's highlights.

May 1, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Loved it

HolyBlackCat says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:42pm

I really like the idea!

And you're already preparing for a commercial release...

randomhuman says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:09pm

I feel like I should go back over all my previous ratings and knock a star off "innovation", because this is kinda blowing my mind... It's a shame you didn't get more levels done for the jam version (I can relate!), but you definitely made a good start.

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:50am

Played both the original and postjam versions but I really like the concept (despite being a bit bad at chess :'D).

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:42am

Very Clever.
The tutorial seemed a little buggy for me, but the concept seems pretty solid.

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Like the concept of the game, thought it might have potencial. It would have been awesome if the jam version featured more content.

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:11am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]