Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Lumiania

by Yword - Jam Entry

Description:
Play as Lumi, a mystical creature, on the adventure to explore the Castle of the Ancients.

Credits:
- Music Castle Escape by AtomicAgeVampire138
https://soundcloud.com/greggorysamsa
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/584421

Controls:
- Key Z/Space : Jump, can DOUBLE jump when Lumi is in NORMAL form.
- Key X/J : When obtained the power of SWORD, hold down to attack.
- Key C/K : When obtained the power of ROCKET, press to dash.
- Key UP/L : Morph, switch to different form.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#5Graphics(Jam)4.69
#8Fun(Jam)4.29
#21Overall(Jam)4.19
#42Mood(Jam)4.09
#61Theme(Jam)4.08
#402Innovation(Jam)3.23

Comments

CMLSC says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:10am

The only thing wrong with this game is that there isn't a GUI. XD

VividReality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:34pm

This was great! I had so much fun playing it! I played the whole thing through. It took some time for me to learn all the skils. Which I think adds to the game experience because it was a bit of a challenge. Cool concept! Cute graphics. fitting sound design. Well done!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Uhhh WOW! Nice pixels everywhere... looks very polished... this is +1 for gfx in my eyes! Very cool game... feels good! Hope you had fun making it! You should add some more levels and add some UI elements to give more feedback to the player. The gameplay feld good. Nice Job!

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:14pm

That game is amazing! Graphics and concept are nice! Good job.

RanikoGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Really? This is awesome! with games like Lumiania others jammers like us don't have any chance! ¬¬

By the way, the controls are a bit confused

Lumicgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Awesome game! It was a ton of fun and it's extremely polished.

The only thing I had trouble with was the controls at times. I'd struggle to shift between my states to perform moves at the right times but apart from that great job =)

Ramayana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Really great game! It's fun to play, it has rythm and it has good sounds and graphics!

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Great game.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:34pm

I finished it! Absolutely amazing game with tons of polish. I love the pixel graphics and the effects when you slash an enemy. There's really nothing I can constructively criticize about the game, except maybe add a story to hook the player into knowing more about the main character.

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Polished but there wasnt any cool mechanics. All the special abilities are the usual generic platform skills felt like it was taken off a unity online tutorial.
Was fun to play though. Good job!

The M says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Overall an amazing game. It's super polished and feels great to play. My only critique is the lack of in-game controls (as in they're not shown) and that the ending was a bit abrupt.

Javabot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:21pm

Just about everything is good! Graphics, sound, level design, the mechanics, I just love it!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:29pm

Awesome work, and really beautiful. I wish there was more of a HUD or GUI, took me a while to learn how to use the forms and figure out what they did. Excellent design otherwise. I would love to see this expanded on.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Excellent little game, every power has a use, there's checkpoint and everything, very very good !

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:42pm

This was one awesome game. It wasn't super innovative or amazingly complex but it took a simple mechanics set and made it super fun. I really love the graphics and especially how much punch the combat had with all the visual flare. The music was really quite good as well which is not something a lot of LD games have going for them. The controls were tight and never felt bad at all and the level was fun and made use of all the powers. Overall, a classic entry, but one the inner platformer nerd in me absolutely adores!

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Really nicely executed and polished. Just need a reminder of inputs in game, I had to alt + tab to go back here to find them :)

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Great game! A complete experience with good level design and visuals. Love the animations!

David Cookie says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:14am

Not that original but it's very cool to play and really well polished! I love when everything has a feedback and you are the example of what it should be done :) Well done Yword!

Husky says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Nice entry!
It's going quite smoothly, and good challenging.
I'm not sure if that's only happening on me, but I guess I have some performance issues, FPS get pretty low sometimes.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Awesome :) the whole thing is very nicely put together!
The only thing I found was that I couldn't rocket trough blocks if I was right up against them.

Reiv says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:21pm

What a great and polished game. Loved the music and the vfx.

SengiG says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:55am

Well done, really polished entry. Love the camera shaking and particles effects overall. If you need some critique - the controlls are a bit to spread over the keyboard, other then that everything is nice!
Thumbs up

williambsm says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:21am

How dis you do this game in 72H? Amazing! This game is soooo nice!

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:30am

Very interesting. Remembered me of Super Metroid (SNES). Very good music and graphics. :D

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:20am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:02am

Such a beautiful game! Loved almost everything about it, only thing I didn't like is that is was over too soon haha, I want more! You did a fantastic job, be proud!

lyskaros says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Wait I have a problem with this entry ! This game is basically exactly the same thing that you did last LD ! You almost just changed the assets :(

lumscum says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:58pm

This game was a delight to play! The only problem I had was that the controls felt a little awkward at times. Also, I'm not sure if this is a glitch, but I could only destroy the O blocks with the rocket ability when I was in the ball form.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:10pm

So nice game. Art, audio and gameplay are excellent.
But controls are quite wired. May as well it's good enough for gamepad.

lanestp says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:42am

Cool game! A metroidvania style game in 72 hours is an amazing thing! Veery impressive!

TeamPoops says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:18am

WOW, I am so impressed! Game even has replay value! Best game I've played so far! A++++

Strike says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:25am

Avery polished and cute metroid ;)

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:31am

Great art and fx !

Seregy7 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Enjoyed the game, great style

siryakko says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Cute, fun, addictive, what else :)

El Cabaro says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Solid little platformer that has great graphics. I immediately got a Cave story vibe from the soap bar character, to the scrolling clouds, to the triangle powerups.

My only complaint is the music.

Ellian says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Awesome work!
It's very well made, works perfectly fine and plays great. The art style is really neat too, and the atmosphere is cool!

Kuupu says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:09pm

AWESOME!
WOW!

That juiceness, all the feedback, the particles, the colors!
everything absolutely polished, congratulation! really!

The only thing I disliked was the fact that spikes are instakill instead of taking health

scorched says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Enjoyable game, but ending was too sudden and didn't allow me to collect all the crystals :/
Also fighting with sword is a bit boring
Keep it up!

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Brilliant! :O The platforming mechanics in it are great! The concept is also really nice and brought me some nice memories of games I've played during the 90's and even some recent games, like Cave Story :P

Nice work on the tilesets, backgrounds and animations too, they're really well done! :) Level design and the shapeshifting concept on the game are really nice and cleverly done too.

Controls work perfectly and are pretty responsive. I just didn't know rocket needed some space before it can break blocks. :P

But great work, really! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]