Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Block 1

by crazyrems - Compo Entry

You play as a cube made by unknown substance. Organic or not, you should get out of this place.
Quickly you learn how to use your shape shifting skills and try to reach the highest peaks. But it seems there's other things made in this place.

It's basically a 2D plateformer with a square that squeezes and makes you jump high and sneak into mouseholes.

Download links are Google Drive items. To download files, click on the pointing down arrow on the top bar.

Post compo version fixes a few gameplay elements: you can quit the game by pressing escape, I put a brighter background so the level is more visible when in performance graphic level, and I changed the end of level 2 for more clarity on the puzzle.

Software used:
* Unity
* Blender
* Gimp
* Sunvox

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Theme4.09
#81Overall3.82
#90Fun3.77
#121Innovation3.77
#148Graphics3.77
#401Mood3.00
#457Humor2.22
#571Audio2.25
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

XAND says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:16am

I envy this artstyle. Blows my compo entry out of the water. Very well done.

Broken Matrix says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Player movement is so bad to the point where it is impossible to play. Sorry I looks like a good game but my player just teleports and flys all over the place.

blinry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Wow! Really well done, and really polished! I absolutely love the block's bounciness. My favorite LD game so far! I'd play a longer version of this! 10/10

crazyrems says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:01pm

@Broken Matrix maybe the game runs too slowly, try to run the game in performance graphic quality.

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:01pm

The stretching looks cool

Blobo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Really cool mechanic. i would love to see more levels!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:41am

The mechanic is very simple but I was very surprised by how well you squeezed it (he, he) through the level design. Remind me of Portal, which uses the core mechanic in innovative ways and makes you think out of the box. Well done!

peter_sc says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:19am

I really enjoyed the mechanic, although it feels a bit too wobbly at time. The art style is great. Well done.

Strike says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:39am

So much personality into just a simple cube. I got stuck in front of the end of the second level. Looks like it's possible to reach there without bringing some other object to press the 2 switches. I believe it's something you have fixed in the postcompo build. Very good game !

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:05pm

I'm a complete dwarf, I didn't pass the second jump (just after the image with the up arrow). Didn't understand how to pass that thing.
But the game looks nice anyway, the bounces of the block are really cool.

rburema says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:24am

To the others struggling with this: It took me quite a few tries to understand as well (as this isn't really explained anywhere as far as I can see), but the jumping is /not/ the same as in any 'standard' platformer.

Instead, it's more like you're bouncing a ball or making a swing go higher and higher. Up and down aren't so much jump and crouch as emulating pushing and pulling the thing. Basically it behaves like a spring, so you have to press up (and down) at just the right time for the right amount of time to see any higher jumps.

That said, while this is a nice, innovative mechanic tying in to the theme, it still seemed frustrating to me at times. Haven't tried the post-compo (yet?) so maybe that tweaks it?

crazyrems says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:51am

@rburema yeah that's totally the point of the game mechanic. The second button with the instruction pane in the game was supposed to teach you that principle, but apparently it doesn't have the impact I want.

erikkire says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Great physics, really fun. Would like a restart from checkpoint button when I get stuck.

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:09pm

the minimalistic artstyle is neat. The secod level is too hard for the controls

crazyrems says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:26am

@WERT Studio use your shape shifting abilities! there's always an easier way to pass obstacles. The crouch movement makes you having more surface to land on small surfaces, when jumping makes you thin with less contact surface. I think I failed to teach people those simple principles T_T.

kumoi says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:17pm

This is extremely well designed! very well thought ought and movement is absolutely perfect. Had a bit of physics wonkyness when trying to hop up through a thin slot but still works. Sounds are satisfying and with a bit of music, this could be very solid! Kinda reminded me of Thomas was alone.

avinashd says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:07pm

I absolutely love the simplicity of the mechanics and they have been used to their full potential! Really love the Portal-like atmosphere as well.

managore says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:58pm

I'm amazed how good you made the simple graphics look. The cube's animations feel terrific! Near the end of the game I tried for far longer than I care to admit to push the loose electric panel over the square bump, so I could use it to press down one button while I stood on the other. Eventually I worked out what I was meant to do but I was sad that it didn't involve my unnecessarily complicated approach! Great game overall.

crazyrems says ...
Aug 24, 2016 @ 9:18am

@managore OMG didn't see you've rated my game. So glad to see it worked for you until the end which is a bit confusing, I have to admit… This comment from you is very encouraging and makes me want to continue making even more games :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]