Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Morph Brawl

by Seregy7 - Compo Entry

--Controls--
Mouse and 'Space'

--Instructions--
Press 'End turn' for characters to attack each other. Change your form using cards. Each form has its own values and duration.

--Description--
In this game you play as a wizard, who can change into animals. Select one of the cards and click on it to transform.
Each form has its own attack and defence values, as well as duration. When transformation expires, you will be transformed back into human form.
You won't receive new cards if you won't use any, but the amount of cards is limited to 10, so be wise.

--Versions--
1.01 - Fixed bug with wrong card duration, fixed music looping, fixed crash when unknown key was pressed
1.1(Post-jam) - Implemented mana system, added informational text, added two new enemies, added one more card, added hp and mp restoration for player after each turn, added configuration file for tweaking different parameters, changed default values for cards and enemies

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#308Theme3.61
#314Audio3.02
#358Graphics3.29
#448Mood2.96
#554Innovation2.96
#662Overall2.98
#742Fun2.71

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Liked the idea, but it feels kinda unfinished (as usual for game jams). Nice art!

The M says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:22pm

While not really a bad game, I feel it was too short and broken to reach it's full potential. There's only one level and the fact that you can make unlimited transformations until you get the strongest cards removes any challenge.

It's a cool concept and I'd love to see it expanded upon.

Inateno says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:16pm

I enjoyed the concept :) sadly there is only one enemy and it's done :( need more

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Cool game, however there is too little content/variation for the game to reach its potential.

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:20pm

There was a good idea here, but it was too limited to be any fun. Different enemies and levels, and different abilities to counter and defend against, and you could turn this into something good. Graphics were simplistic, but nice.

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:25am

Overall I liked this entry. Although I felt there was really very little here even for a compo.
Conceptually, I think something like this could make for a fun game if it was finished.

Pixelaborate says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:51am

Like everybody before me, my only complaint is lack of content. The music and art are good, it's just missing more enemies and transformations to make it feel more complete. Good work otherwise.

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:28pm

The game is a little bit short.

Falak says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:59pm

Cool idea but too short

Tselmek says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:07am

While being a very great idea, the game was sadly too short. I hope you get to work more on it.

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:28am

Cool idea :)

Griz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:30am

Doesn't want to start. The screen appears for a short moment, then closes without showing any messages. My specs are: Windows 8.1, JRE 8 update 91, G3258 CPU, GTX 750 GFX.

Seregy7 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:41pm

@Griz
Could you, please, try to launch the game from the command line and post the output it gives? You can do that by opening command line, moving to the directory with the game and executing "java -jar MorphBrawl.jar" command.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Short, but I liked the concept!

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Not bad but REALLY short!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:25am

The idea is really great.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:17pm

I love the idea but it was way too easy to beat the enemy. It seems as if I don't have to think much to win. Still, a pretty good idea and could make a good game when polished.

thunderklaus says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Unforunately the game does not start. Running on OS/X

➜ java -version
java version "1.8.0_60"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_60-b27)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 25.60-b23, mixed mode)

➜ java -jar ./MorphBrawl.jar
2016-05-05 22:58:54.515 java[21437:22168333] *** Assertion failure in +[NSUndoManager _endTopLevelGroupings], /Library/Caches/com.apple.xbs/Sources/Foundation/Foundation-1258/Misc.subproj/NSUndoManager.m:359
2016-05-05 22:58:54.515 java[21437:22168333] +[NSUndoManager(NSInternal) _endTopLevelGroupings] is only safe to invoke on the main thread.
2016-05-05 22:58:54.515 java[21437:22168333] (
0 CoreFoundation 0x00007fff873924f2 __exceptionPreprocess + 178
1 libobjc.A.dylib 0x00007fff95e0273c objc_exception_throw + 48
2 CoreFoundation 0x00007fff873971ca +[NSException raise:format:arguments:] + 106
3 Foundation 0x00007fff8edf77d6 -[NSAssertionHandler handleFailureInMethod:object:file:lineNumber:description:] + 198
4 Foundation 0x00007fff8ed7ca71 +[NSUndoManager(NSPrivate) _endTopLevelGroupings] + 170
5 AppKit 0x00007fff91e8af26 -[NSApplication run] + 844
6 libglfw.dylib 0x000000012b2a0bbe initializeAppKit + 1342
7 libglfw.dylib 0x000000012b2a0285 _glfwPlatformCreateWindow + 37
8 libglfw.dylib 0x000000012b29ba0a glfwCreateWindow + 522
9 ??? 0x000000010e79e954 0x0 + 4537837908
)

Using ➜ java -XstartOnFirstThread -jar ./MorphBrawl.jar
does not help.

Seregy7 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:08pm

@thunderklaus
Thanks for the information, but unfortunately I'm not sure how can I fix that. Though I'll try to get my hands on OS/X and experiment a bit

curtamyth says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:32pm

As others have said, too short :( I wanted to play more though so that says something!

Yazara says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Cool game, a bit short though.
The mechanic is really simple but can have a lot of depth if it's explored further.
You should really add some more enemies and maybe some more cards to the game :)

notime4games says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Pretty cool. You have a nice battle system set up, however as long as you're not stuck with just human form you're gonna win always, and you could just keep turning down cards to get a card that was the strongest

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]