Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Limber

by Wefiends - Jam Entry

*This game works best when you pump up the music!*

Hey ya'll! Welcome to our Ludum Dare 35 Submission, Limber. The theme this time around was "Shapeshift". Do some stretches and jump on the track to bust some moves.

Instructions:

Press and HOLD the correct key to contort your body to the shape of the oncoming panels.

Team:
Kevin Barrios - Art - @wefiends
Nick Barrios - Programming - @wefiends
Steph Fung - Music - @iammontaine
Brooke Greenberg - Additional Art & Writing - @thebgreenberg
- - - - - - -

We're really happy with what we ended up with. It's definitely not the kind of game we would normally make, and that's one of the awesome things about doing Ludum Dare.

Serious props to everyone that put something out, it was crazy challenging! Hope you guys enjoy our game, we know it's really weird.

We'll be streaming other people's games on and off, so give us a follow on Twitch to see when that's going on. We play the games of people that comment on our game, and we also take requests as they come. We love talking to other devs so drop on by: https://www.twitch.tv/wefiends

If you don't have time to hang out live, leave your Twitter handle along with your comment and we'll try and tweet you a highlight of us playing your game :)

Of course with the quick dev time there are always some issues, here are some of the ones we know about. (I'll keep updating this list as people bring stuff up):

Known Issues:

- We don't have any support for non-QWERTY keyboards. This is something we really wanted to support, but the time didn't allow for it.
- In the late rounds, the starting panel for each round is unfairly quick, still not sure what's causing this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.68
Coolness66%
#5Overall(Jam)4.42
#5Humor(Jam)4.38
#6Fun(Jam)4.30
#30Mood(Jam)4.15
#30Graphics(Jam)4.52
#39Theme(Jam)4.20
#158Innovation(Jam)3.64

Comments

graebor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:49am

Nice job! Love the music and character art. The dialogue made the tutorial very enjoyable. I was impressed with how many combinations of keys you got in there with their own animations and everything :)

Futilrevenge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:55am

Really enjoyed the game. Loved the visuals and the music!

luvShape says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:08am

I'm in love! Funny, well designed and the sound design is on point! Thank you for sharing a beautiful game!

fenwick says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:50am

Wow! Beautiful, clever, and fun, pretty much everything you can ask for.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:51am

this is a really great game! its really fun and charming-the art and humor is great!

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:54am

This was a lot of fun and I will be showing it to people at work tomorrow!

nickavv says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:56am

I seriously love this. The graphics and music are wonderful, the characters in the tutorial are funny and likeable. The gameplay is fun and difficult (I'm nvv on the high score table btw). Well done

tweedle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:21am

My favorite part was the animations, music a close second! -t

AsixJin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:27am

This is a really great entry! I loved everything about this! Especially the music!

megalukes says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44am

Loved the music. Reminded me of some old psx dance games. Nice visuals too.

huminaboz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:21am

Love it. Perfect score.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:49pm

The game is hilarious, very clever. Love the music and red elbow pads!

Sean says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:07am

Gameplay was fairly basic, but the artwork, music, and humour really sold it!

broknecho says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:09am

The animations, music, theme. All awesome! Great entry! Z+E always got me!

subpixel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:13am

Loved this. The music was super catchy, the tone of the tutorial was awesome, loved the graphic design. All round star.

Also, I'm in a slightly better mood now, after playing this game. There's some Kimmy Schmidt level peppiness going on in there.

I saw you play my game on the VOD of your Twitch stream. Thank you so much for visiting!

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:47pm

this was really fantastic!! i loved the art style and the funky music, the poses were super cute, and a great take on the theme. all in all, i really enjoyed it :)

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:49am

Nice art, music, tutorial, overall well done! I've seen a few other games with this similar theme but this is by far the most polished and easy to figure out and play.

I only wish the "combo counter" was closer to the character, like a little meter underneath him or next to him or something. A few times I wanted to look at it and it being up in the corner caused me to miss the upcoming shape.

Also for some reason, I kept wanting "X" to be the splits move, but I'm not sure why. Perhaps because it's similar to the "S" shape. Probably just a quirk of my brain.

Titangea says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:22am

Really funny, I only did 12 points xD (I try it but it was difficult, but I like it) I like the Animation, the humor, is interesting the use of the keys to do de positions, good work ^^

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Nice concept. The controls are intuitive, but not easy at all; something that used both halves of the keyboard would've been easier, IMO. The aesthetic is pretty cute too, especially the animations. Nice work!

Populous90 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:10pm

Didnt impress me. Its a direct copy of the show.
Anyway...IS GRAPHICS EVERYTHING?! think about it....?

SeaDads says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Love it! The tutorial was really nice, great dialog, and the difficulty balance was nice, had the potential to be frustrating but it was really fun! Top notch audio and art too!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Adore it. Brilliant music, hilarious characters and art, nice concept and implementation. Only nitpick is that Z and C are difficult to press simultaneously for me.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:46pm

You know, this might actually be my favourite entry ever. I just keep coming back. Best score I just achieved was 101! :D

joemid says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Yeah, I kept forgetting the S shape. Wow, really incredible achievement! This game seems really polished and slick. It does tend to get fast pretty quick, but entertaining tutorial- responsive gameplay, and fantastic character design! Would love if the "shifting" effected the main track more- but c'mon! Amazing work for 72 hours!!!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:04am

The music and graphics is great.

Strike says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:29am

Take 5 stars everywhere !
Wonderful game.

I always had trouble in the beginning because it was easy to accidentally shift my hand on the keyboard by mistake and get hit 3 times in a row because of that. So I decided to play with 2 hands. And here I am at the top of the high scores ;) (at least for now :D)

I just think that the X move (on the S key) should have been Q + Z + E + C, but now I'm wondering if all keyboard can support all these keys pressed together XD Anyway, that's also removing the only difficulty for people playing with 2 hands. So maybe it's better to keep it that way.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Pssst - you are featured in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9t0et_GLOeA

Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:44am

Caught wind of this from "Ludum Dare to Believe," it's so much harder than it looks, but so much fun! The music and art are on point, tons of replay value. Loved it!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Got only 7, but it was great fun. Mill play more after LD over. 5/5 game!

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Awesome! I totally got that Katamari-vibe. One of the rare cases I gave five stars for innovation. This one is exceptional. Great job!

GFM says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:56am

Is the leaderboard really online? I'll have to play again to try and get first... So far, my record was 128. :)

Great game!
Everything is so good in it... the art, the song, the mechanic...

It kinda reminded me of Osu's osu!mania mode.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:28am

That music was so awesomely peppy! I was just boppin' along to the beat :) Loved the whole thing, especially the way the guy does his little boogie in between shapes, and those tutorial characters were gold. Really well done!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:19pm

The art and music are fantastic. Out of all the fit the shape runners submitted this is probably the best.

Docjekyll says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:18am

Super stylish! Simple but well executed.
I could have that wah/formant/talkbox synth talk to me all day.

May 3, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Funny game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/8gYXle65h9c

Sabina Lis says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:44am

Really complete game, it was fun, the tutorial was entertaining, nice beats and animation, controls felt comfortable, great job!

BSODDevTeam says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Really nice game. I can play it all day!

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:01am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]