Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Shift Runner

by Reyn - Jam Entry

Shift Shapes to get to the end of each level.

Keys: 1, 2, 3, Space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Theme(Jam)3.77
#344Mood(Jam)3.35
#402Overall(Jam)3.38
#492Innovation(Jam)3.12
#548Graphics(Jam)3.31
#575Fun(Jam)3.08
#1160Coolness49%

Comments

varuns says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Nice, you should display which number holds which shape though. And add a Web-GL build since you're using Unity. You'll get more ratings :D

Reyn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:09pm

@varuns Unfortunatelly webgl doesn't like my materials :( I'll keep that in mind next time. I tried to keep text as minimal as possible, figuring out the keys makes the game last 10 seconds longer, which it needed ;-P Thanks!

JNI says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:34am

Nice game, really minimalistic

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:41am

Runs perfect and smooth in firefox.
The camera movement is pretty good and the art too, simple and clean.
You could add a notification when you get a new shape to transform, I needed 3 or 4 tries to realize that i have the transformation when i pass through the shape.
Overall good job!:)

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:04pm

I like the minimalism, really nice visuals.
The doors are kind of awkward, and the whole left right movement being disabled some of the time doesn't communicate very well. Otherwise a good collection of concepts!

Allthebees says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Great stuff! I liked the minimalist graphics style you chose and the use of the angled camera made it feel very different from a typical 'hole in the wall obstacle course' type of game.

roman9 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Pretty cool! Need a little tutorial for changing shapes but besides that makes for an interesting game, Nice job!

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:20am

Found it quite hard but I am terrible at these games. The audio look and feel though simple are very nice. Very nicely done.

FanieG says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:53pm

I thought this was absolutely great. Loved how the pace changed to increase the difficulty. Really well done. Only crit would be that the music level was quite high. Was a bit jarring when the game started with headphones on. Ouch!! But great little game.

tppr2046 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:01am

Simple but fun! Like the music.

Reyn says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:36am

@FanieG - Thanks, sorry about the audio, wasn't aware that the audio could be too high, I'll keep that in mind.

@pogo - Yeah, when I sat and saw people playing the game some of them were confused as to if the player is moving or the obstacles. I could have made it more obvious somehow.

@teamross - I agree, after watching people play the game I realized they did not understand that taking a shape meant that you could now become it, some sort of HUD could have communicated that.

Thanks!

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:02am

Very nice runner you got there, but i think our both runners have the same problem: perhaps a little bit overly complicated mix of controls, hahaha.

Well done on teaching the user how to play, 6 LDs so far i guess and i didn't manage to do so yet :/

Ellian says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:48am

Well made, but sometimes the left/right movement didn't register, and I kept running into walls?
Good job otherwise. Nice music!

Steven Pinto says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Great game here :D You must check my game :p http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=86837
You will like it xD
Although... The difficulty increases too quickly, unless it was ur design goal :) another thing that i really think would help is - if the player can change shape by tapping one button instead of two, as it would be easier :). Overall its a great game good feed back with the shadows and GGWP xD
All the best :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]