Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Xenosphere

by oxysoft - Jam Entry

Play as a paddle lost in an alien spaceship and take on the misson to defeat the hivemind CORE in this unconventional Arkanoid/Breakout inspired game!


When you break upgrade bricks, you ball breaks bricks in a bigger radius and your magnetization force is stronger!

HINT: In case it wasn't obvious, you can rotate around the boss by slamming your mouse to the far left/far right of the screen then quickly returning your mouse to the center!

Controls:
Z - Launch ball
X - Magnetized paddle shape (pull the angle of the ball towards you)
Left/Right Mouse Buttons - Switch to angled paddle shape
Mouse - Move around


Can you beat the developer time?!
Developer's time: 223.78 seconds



======= Post-jam =======
I have done a few fixes and tweaks and added it as a post-jam edition. Changes:
- Fixes lag issues completely
- Fixed boss AI and fight progression
- Player can now take damage and die during the boss fight




Team:
Oxysoft - Programming, Game design, 3D modeling & textures
Kyle Riley (Neonlare) - Game design, Sound Design (Music, Sound Effects) and 2D sprites

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#129Innovation(Jam)3.70
#133Mood(Jam)3.74
#148Overall(Jam)3.72
#170Audio(Jam)3.61
#184Fun(Jam)3.56
#308Graphics(Jam)3.75
#864Theme(Jam)2.84

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:28am

Really cool game! Both on the visuals and audio. The idea of exploring a maze through breakout gameplay is simple but works very well. Solid job on this!

olkeencole says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:31am

Nope! 592 seconds lol. But I DID beat it! Which is more than I can say for some other entries. I couldn't put this down! What a great spinoff of breakout! I really wonder how did you get the look? What kind of shader is that? Great job guys!

oxysoft says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:43am

Thanks. Initially it was just regular painted textures and then on saturday I found this on the Unity asset store https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/16314 and realized that this is what I needed to make this a memorable experience! Played with the colors a bit and got a style I really liked. I wanted more colors but didn't want to spend the time to modify the shaders to allow any number of colors. The author of has a "pro" version of his plugin that has this functionality so if you don't mind shelling out $10 instead of modifying the shaders you can get that.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:21am

Interesting art style and very upbeat music. Love it!

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:31am

Cool game! on my second run I down't know how but I teleported to the boss directly and was able to beat him. It feels a little bit like I cheated but I beat him fairly :)
Good job!

aCoupleGames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:18am

really nice work here :D love this retro visual and the game was pretty good too.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:05am

Excellent game. I've seen a few pinball dungeon explorer games and this is definitely just as good. The biggest aid is that magnetism. Lets you really control the boss fight so well.

Marc F. says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Post-jam version was still quite laggy, but cool take on an old classic. Shapeshifting aspect is present, though somewhat weak maybe. Over all quite fun tho, graphics and music are also good.

ShadowTemplar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Great idea to employ the simple mechanics of the original Pong, whcih most people are familiar with, and implement them along with level/maze exploration. I liked the concept very much and actually spent some good time plating. I experienced a bug at one point, where the ball just got stuck and I couldn't do anything to fix the situation. That's a minor thing tho, just thought I should mention it for you guys to fix it in the future. Overall, great job! :)

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:33am

Really fun take on the breakout genre with nice art and sound, and some great moody lighting! I'm willing to let the occasional lag issues go, since it's so hard to track that kind of stuff down with limited time, and it didn't really impact the gameplay that much.

My only real gripe is that the shapeshift theme usage seemed a little weak, but that's really minor.

Great job! Would love to see a version with paddle powerups or different balls, etc.

dvdfu says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:32pm

This is a great spin on classic breakout mechanics, very well done! The visuals and music are also very appealing.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:21pm

Love that lo-fi image effect. Very cool!

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:55am

I like how you used the theme. Too few people are really doing anything with the theme it seems.
Nice entry

Manou says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:07am

Genius rewriting of Arkanoid, just the controls are hard (trackpad here!), would be perfect with gamepad support.
5* innovation and mood.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:04am

Oh man I loved it ! Visuals and audio are super good, I liked the FX you put on it. I had a great time playing it, this was fun with a clever use and twist of familiar mechanics, which is what I love to do as a designer and to play as a player ! Great job overall :)

Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:50am

A fascinating idea! I was a little irked by how the paddle's different states had no overlap at all, but I really loved the visuals and the overall feel of dungeon crawling crossed with breakout.

For the boss fight, I often found myself unintentionally rotating when I tried to hit the ball at the very edge of the screen. Maybe having the boss arena be a continuous circle would help?

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:42am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:08pm

Perfect game. 5/5

dcolgan says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:43am

Hey Oxy! Thanks for rating our game. I really this this idea of almost an "adventure game" breakout game. Nice ideas.

May 4, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Hey! You have been featured in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYwIu8CE2Yk

wheerd says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Nice concept and cool graphics!

puppetmaster says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 3:49pm

Really love the graphics style. Game concept is also great. Congrats for your cool entry!

Ellian says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Shapeshifting is barely there but man, this was the smartest way of doing an arkanoid game I've ever seen, plus it has amazing graphics? Crazy good. The boss is super hard and I couldn't tell why sometimes I wasn't hitting him, but I had a lot of fun nonetheless. Grats!

May 8, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Nice graphics, really neat break out game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/sLxVMaXEMmg

MayankUnreal says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Great commercial game, nice concept

avinashd says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:19pm

I initially thought it was a decent Arkanoid clone until the ball moved to the next level! Really innovative! The boss battle was tense as well, although I didn't beat it :|

I really hope you'll flesh the mechanics out into a larger game after the jam, it's got a lot of potential!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]