Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

BOT RACE

by NickZangus - Jam Entry

Take control of a shapeshifting robot to face a deadly obstacle course!

Deform his android body to acquire great powers (with no responsibility!): inflate it to float in the air, shrink it down to pass narrow passages and, of course, enlarge his fists to smash objects with extreme violence!

How long can you last?

***Best played with XBOX controller***

Twitter: https://twitter.com/NickZangus
Email: contact@nickzangus.com

NOTE: Mac and Linux versions not tested, if you experience any problem, please let me know!

----------------------

All the contents were created during the 72 hours except for the followings:

Music by Kevin MacLeod - incompetech.com
Font by George Edward Purdy - purdydesign.com
Sound Effects by soniss - soniss.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#26Fun(Jam)4.05
#44Overall(Jam)4.00
#76Graphics(Jam)4.33
#171Theme(Jam)3.84
#206Mood(Jam)3.59
#287Humor(Jam)3.02
#316Innovation(Jam)3.32

Comments

MissVioletVi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:48am

Very fun, very fast, very entertaining. Beautiful smooth visuals really give a professional feel to this game. The game play is fun and creative.Adding random map generation was a great touch that made the game interesting while replaying. Personally I find it a tad bit difficult. Perhaps if it could start a lot slower, then ramp up?

falloneus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:12am

Such a blast! Looks even more wonderful than the wonderful gifs posted earlier. I found some of the controls could've used tightening up (some button-action lag), and some of the patterns were kinda difficult, but simple refinements could lead to an extremely awesome runner game here. A fantastic entry for the jam.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:38am

Nice little game. Was really nice and the graphics were really nice.

Upwily says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:45am

Controlls really did not work well for me. I couldn't complete a single level because of that. The generated levels and overall look of the game were cool.

NickZangus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:22pm

@Upwily
Yes, the keyboard controls are a bit uncomfortable. If possible, I suggest you to use a controller (in a post compo version I'd like to improve the keyboard control).

NPException says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Very very entertaining to play. For me the difficulty was just right.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Pretty nice runner.

samlo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:09pm

Awesome runner! Difficulty curve is very nice and controls are tight. Appreciate the gamepad support! :)

PelvicThruust says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Looks very professional. Graphics are great and fun to play.

Raphael_ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Nice! Nothing major to complain about.

aCoupleGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Game is amazing! Love the visuals, transformations look good and feels good on control. I think the difficult spikes too soon. Nevertheless great game.

MAN JO TEAM says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:28pm

I really enjoyed it! Maybe I found it a little bit difficult to play, but I can feel the adrenaline through my body!

pianoman373 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:15pm

I think the game could have been much better if you had only assigned the inflate button to a different key than jump. Other than that this is an excellent entry.

Goutye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Really fun! Flying is really cheated! 95% of the time, I just flied and 5% had to get smaller. Otherwise, I used only once the breaking shape. With more time, you would have been able to balance this I guess! Pretty pretty good game! Have my stars!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Excellent runner, there should be more obstacles in the air to avoid flying too long, and I mapped A button for jump, it was a great play !

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:59pm

I didn't know Unity 3d games could that beautiful. Other than that great gameplay. Perfect

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Such a cool game, very smooth and the controls worked very well. It also has a good replay value.

andyman404 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:12pm

That's diabolical what you put the robot through, especially when controlled by an old fart like me! Great game - I like the floating/flying mode. Nice graphics and polish. I appreciate the proc gen levels. If you're going to work on it post-jam, could you make an "easy" mode too (slower)?

MintArcade says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Love it! Very very cool game!!! Great fun. Needs more than 5 stars ;)

drazil100 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Good Game. I like the look of it.

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:17am

Hey this is the guy from H2G2 :D. Really fun game, graphics are awesome, some mino bugs when you go outside the track, but awesome game.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Very well done endless runner! Looks really good, the music is cool, the controls are very responsive. Well done, congrats!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:58pm

Graphics are great! Gameplay is fun too, a bit challenging but cool. Nice one!

knason says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Really nice looking game. It was a bit challenging. But overall good job on your entry.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:01pm

Nice 3D graphics! I loved this game. It was very fun, and it's actually one of the better endless runner games that I've played in my life. I managed to get to 718 meters at most before dying.

I also uploaded a video of your game on YouTube! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0tGXiEP678

Xanjos says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Absolutely everything in this entry is so well polished. The graphics were on point, the mechanics were well done and I like how the obstacles were procedurally generated. Had so much fun playing this (Also the robot looks like an angrier version of Marvin from Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy :V).

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Way too difficult and the controls weren't well explained. Particularly that the jump button doesn't actually clear jumps (you need float)

crazyrems says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:58pm

BOTALICIOUS!
So mush graphics *o* that's beautiful.
A great entry with nice controls and solid gameplay. The generation is well done.
Music fits very well the mood. Best game I played so far.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:23am

Great game, love the polish it has!

Green Soda says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:07am

WOW THIS IS SO POLISHED! sounds like a great mobile game for me :)

dcolgan says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:28am

I do not really go for runners a lot, but this works pretty well. The obstacles are cool and manage to stay fresh. I wish I had a controller instead of a key board for it. That is more on me than anything. I give it two thumbs in my armpits.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:50am

Very addictive game! Had a lot of fun playing this one ;)

I took some time to get used to the controls, maybe a longer "start", letting the player test the controls, or a tutorial screen could be great. Also, for me pressing jump and holding it, instead of double press, was natural, just like Donkey Kong's Dixie ;)

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:06am

Nice graphics, perfect controlls, good camera habdling. A very good entry. Please have a look on my entry, too.

Jolly Serpent says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Fun game, very entertaining, never had a problem with randomly generated levels. Only minor gripe would be that keyboard controls are kinda stiff, although that might just be personal preference.

RyanMan56 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:31pm

I love the little guy's running animation, it's the cutest

bison says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Its a little bit like my approach, but i like the graphics and overall style more.
great work :)

alsantour says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:23am

Great Game! probably best so far!!!

Kerdelos says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Really neat game. I enjoyed the graphics, the animations and the gameplay. The only frustrating thing is when there is two ice walls and my power only breaks the first one. Excellent job mate !

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Very good aesthetic for a frenetic gameplay. Nice little game. Very entertaining to play and challenging. Well done ++

GaryS says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:47pm

This was fantastic! It took me a while to get the hang of it, but once I did it was very frantic, addictive and lots of fun.
I particularly liked that I could contiue to move the player whilst jumping, or could go small whilst in the air to prepare for the next obstacle.

I would have liked to have seen a scoreboard though... I found that the moment I died, I would hammer the button in frustration to start again immediately, but would always miss the chance to see what score I'd achieved!

A tutorial would have been nice too, as it took a while for me to understand what moves countered which obstacles.

Also, the randomness of the level generation meant some games were just 'luckier' than others. It would be nice to have a bit of a difficulty curve.

Overall one of my favourite entries though.

Yumeito says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Awesome Game :) Love it

legavroche says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:19am

Awesome models and animations. The game looks amazingly polished! Great entry, had a lot of fun. My highest score was about 950+, but some portions felt impossible to get through like the really precise jumps in between the spikes

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:13am

This was a fun game! My partner for the jam and I played this for quite a while after we finished our game. We loved the character and the atmosphere of the game! We beat each others scores for awhile. Super nice entry. :)

ragnta says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:57am

Very fun game, but I think it's too hard for me. My high score: 117 M, because the jump is weird :)

May 9, 2016 @ 9:18pm

Extremely polished and neat! The knocked over robot is extremely cute. I definitely need some practice to get better at it, I'm seeing the robot knocked over a lot...
One suggestion I would make is to have the balloon-jump happen automatically by holding down the jump button, instead of clicking jump again mid air, because some of the jumps require maximum floating distance, and its too difficult to time it correctly to make it.
Design is spot on! I bookmarked it in case you keep working on it.

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:07am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]