Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Altered Bunny

by SteveSalmond - Jam Entry

SOMEWHERE DEEP UNDERGROUND, A TOP-SECRET EXPERIMENT HAS GONE AWRY...

Altered Bunny is a 2D puzzle platformer where you play a mutant human-bunny hybrid, trapped in a shape-shifting facility populated with robot guards intent on dissecting you. Rotate rooms to find your way down and out of the sprawling warren!

Works best with a controller (tested with XBox, others should work I hope)

Controls
- WSAD or arrow keys to move
- Space to jump
- Enter, F, or Left Ctrl to attack
- E to use / climb ladders

Controller (XBox)
- Left stick to move
- A to jump
- B or right trigger to attack
- Y to use / climb ladders

BONUS: Supports 2-player CO-OP (if you use controllers)! The co-op camera is super wonky though, apologies in advance.

PRESS ESCAPE IF YOU GET GLITCHED OUT :D

Known Issues
- Enemies sometimes get stuck outside the level (it's a feature)
- Some people have reported the player can get popped outside the level when rotating - oops.

Unknown Issues
- Innumerable!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#28Graphics(Jam)4.54
#78Overall(Jam)3.91
#126Audio(Jam)3.74
#160Fun(Jam)3.60
#181Mood(Jam)3.63
#277Innovation(Jam)3.40
#356Humor(Jam)2.79
#389Theme(Jam)3.53
#1201Coolness48%

Comments

lkr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Love the audio and visuals, and the platforming gameplay was quite good.
I somehow fell out of the level when rotating a room once, which made me fall endlessly. Didn't have any other issues besides that though :)

P.S: Unless it's just the font being funny, it looks like it says Ludum Dare 36 on the title screen.

dvdfu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:43am

One of my favourite entries so far. Very well polished, attacking effects also looked cool!

gillenew says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:56am

Very nice game
very smooth animations and the effects are amazing!!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:26am

I just have some issues with the keyboard controls, because you need to use "Enter, Space and E", maybe buttons near from each other would help the gameplay.

Very nice game, it fells very polished, good entry.

Paploum says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:38am

Nice game, the graphics are nice and the gameplay is simple and effective. Well done! :)

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:30am

lkr: thanks for spotting LD36 on the title screen - it was a typo, you were right! Also, the 'falling out of the level' issue should have been mostly resolved with my final submission (hope so!)

Hyoga-3D: Thanks, I added some alternate bindings for use/attack - hope that helps.

Thanks all for the kind words :)

AnaGF says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Great entry, very polished, awesome graphics and audio.
I just think that maybe it would have been better to focus only the puzzle part or the action part, I see two good ideas mixed that would have been awesome if developed apart. But it is just my opinion, and the game is great overall

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:36pm

smooth !

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Well polished and executed, enjoyed playing it a lot! Not many jam games manage to achieve this level of quality.

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Very well polished game, congrats!
I loved not only the graphics but also the visual feedback and sounds.

Idorrac says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Graphics and sound are amazing!

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:11pm

WOW! GREAT work!

Sean says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Very polished! The combat felt a little a little tacked on though; there wasn't really any connection between it and the rotation mechanic.
Having said that, the enemies' projectiles were actually pretty cool.

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Graphics, animation, title screen are so rad!! :o dongeon shaping is also nicely done, bravo!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Brilliant entry! Graphics and sound/music are tops, and gameplay was fun and felt polished as well. I really liked the levels rotating mechanic.

Awesome job! :)

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Good but it crashed after the second floor. Anyway i liekd the style and the gameplay.

hippy dave says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Great, very slick, and good fun. I couldn't figure out where to go on the third floor.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Hilarious with the crazed bunny character haha! Fun game with great mechanics, visuals, and sounds. I was hoping it would be as fast as the gif, but still solid gameplay xD Good job!

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:43pm

This is a good polished game! Mechanics are well explained and feel good, graphics and sound meet nicely and the main character is presented really badass and interesting.

There is a real challenge missing, since you have a lot of life and the enemies don't hit hard, while the riddles are pretty easy to solve. You manage to convince in mood, sound and graphics. Thank you!

Greetings, bruz

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Thanks guys!

FistBump: I was going to add a difficulty mode selector but ran out of time - sorry for making it too easy :) Really appreciate the feedback.

UltraRat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:07am

Good entry, Sfx and art was really strong. "Altered Bunny" sting at start set the tone well haha.

randomhuman says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Great entry! The art in particular is really impressive. My only criticism is that I think the zoom could have gone a bit further, it didn't really give me a sense of the room next door which I assume was the intention.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Thanks! Yeah, you're right, it should have pulled out and/or panned over to the next door more. Cheers for the feedback :)

mightymarcus says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:44am

Can't believe some people can make such good games in such a short time.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Pssst - You've been featured on todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hHOU0btz7g4

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Woot! xD

derr says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Wow impressive entry. I could really feel the heavy weight of the hulk bunny and it was a ton of fun navigating and rampaging through the levels. Amazing job. :)

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:19am

great game, simple and very well polished

ocarson says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Really great visuals, and the audio is also pretty gosh darn good too.

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:10am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]