Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Corvid

by Just Tom - Jam Entry

Move with WASD or arrows, space/tab/ctrl/enter/z/x/e to... well. All in the hunt.

Chloe arted and animated (@GenderTruckery) while Tom programmed (@TheTomTalks)
We run a gig together with some friends (@Hexdragonal). Might take a few seconds to load on WebGL! #LDJam

Run, live. Glean what you will from it. Controllers are supported. We got most of what we wanted in here and had fun making it :)

The Audio for Corvid was sourced from the Universal Sound FX Asset Pack, you can find them on the Unity Asset store and its. A. Mazing.
Run in browser with HTML5 or on Windows and made in Unity.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Mood(Jam)3.90
#134Fun(Jam)3.67
#229Overall(Jam)3.60
#257Innovation(Jam)3.44
#287Graphics(Jam)3.79
#367Theme(Jam)3.57
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:31am

this is pretty cool! i really like the style of pixel art you used, especially for the mossy bits of building and rock.
the game also feels really good to play, you really get the sense of being chased. and the things chasing you are pretty creepy with their shadowy effect...

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:33pm

LOVE the art and great choice of music/sound. This is a winner to me. Controls are intuitive, pacing is perfect, aaaah I'm going to stop typing and start playing again.

dvdfu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Movement was really slick and preying felt very satisfying. Love it!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Really cool game, i like the pixelart graphic.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Nice game, the movements are fluid and the concept is pretty good.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:02pm

It took me a handful of tries to 'get' what I had to do, but once I did (Ohhh I had to click to transform?), I was getting super into it!

The combination of the movement physics and the sound effects made getting around feel really graceful, contrasting a lot with the staccato feeling of attackin' dudes.

denycetm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Solid entry. Took me a second to figure out what to do when it said prey (hint for future people hit space bar).

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Oh yeah! I really enjoyed this one! Feels quite polished! I'm missing a soundtrack but at the same time I like how the lack of it makes it feel all silent and ghostly, like if you we're in some kind of limbo, speaking of which: Good graphics.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:03pm

Pretty fun, cool style, some good fx with the scarf and trails on baddies. Feels like to doesnt get harder though. Gameplay gets repetitive and doesn't push you- just keep running left and transform when you can.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Solid entry on all criterias, reminds me of ski free but cooler :)

mooncalf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:27pm

I liked it overall. One minor complaint was that when I first started the camera follow made me think the controls were reversed. Also took me a minute to figure out I was supposed to click to change form.

Jun & Pate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:39pm

that movement was lush, baby

tjxx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:55am

Nice game! I liked the graphics a lot. Well done!

fenwick says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:09am

Wow, beautiful! It reminded me of ski free a bit as well, lol. Except better. I wish the gameplay got harder though, it got repetitive kinda quick even though the gameplay was solid, if that makes sense.

ccollider says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:26am

Man, this game feels really well put together. Art looks great, controls handle well, and it's definitely got it's own vibe. A+

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:37am

this is really good! I kept playing it a bunch. the movement feels just right, enough to be challenging. reminiscent of mind-controlling people in Syndicate, in a good way. Great atmosphere too.

Just Tom says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:18am

Hey everyone, thanks for the feedback! I added the controls to the description as a quick go to, just in case. It's movement and then whatever key you prefer!

It's post jam now but we might tweak the difficulty curve if we do anything with it later, thank you so much!

Just Tom says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:19am

And feel free to be critical, controls wouldn't have gone up if no one critted'! Cheers;

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:57am

This game felt really cool! I loved the fast paced chase, and the art is great!

Malvern says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:10am

Web version doesn't seem to be loading up on either the embed or the linked site (Firefox/Windows 10)

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:14am

Really solid entry, the controls felt great and the art style is very nice

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Really cool hunter becomes the hunted thing going on here

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:30pm

A really interesting entry! Love the feel and mood of the game, running feels like peacefully skiing down a hill... although getting chased by a bunch oz monsters! The sound bits help to build up a gloomy yet pleasant mood, which works excellently with the art style. Great game!

Malvern says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:20pm

I love the art style, it really complements the feeling you're creating of being hunted. I think what you have is a good solid mechanic that you could build something around. I do wish you had been able to explore it further for Ludum Dare, since I found it a little repetitive after a while.

Udell Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:24pm

I liked the art style and you get a really great feel of speed. Movement was slick and responsive and things felt pretty intuitive. It wasn't particularly clear when the pray sections came into effect, was it timed? Music and sound worked fantastically and gave a very eery, somber, desolate mood.

MeritLeave says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:16pm

This is great!! Seriously I love this. The style is simple but effective and the gameplay flow is really satisfying. Genuinely scary to be chased, with constant close calls, and genuinely empowering to transform and rip everyone apart. Creepy atmosphere too!

nk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Really liked this! The whole mood of the game is really cool, the sound complementing the look super well. I really appreciated the way the player and camera move in particular.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:02pm

Digging the trailing scarf. Really dug the slidy snow sounds too.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:35pm

wow, the mood is really creepy and i like it totally, really great entry!

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:37pm

Good game, nice mood. :) Especially liked the graphics and the graphical effects.
Good job! :D

Arskiainen says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:34pm

I like the curve control. I'm left wanting some level up or upgrade mechanism or any kind of progression really. Potential.

tomlum says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:05am

Wow. Amazing. The art, sound, mechanic all work perfectly, and the theme is the mechanic, instead of feeling pigeon holed or forced in. Really really polished coherent fun game. Becoming the beast is outlandishly satisfying. 5 Stars.

ragnta says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:39am

Nice game! :)

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:46am

I played this game before I had my own game completed and I loved it!! Fantastic job!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:34pm

The core idea is extremely cool and the art style very fitting. Controls work well. As is I feel that it lacks a bit of a sense of purpose or progression, but it's already enjoyable. I'd love to see this expanded upon!

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

squigglez says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:59pm

couldnt run the windows version on my 32bit pc :(
played web version though (thanks for that)
good game

terryg says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:08pm

at 12:07pm 4/23 MDT the web page was just black on firefox.

terryg says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:13pm

ok. left the tab open for a while and came back and it loaded.

terryg says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:18pm

nice mood. i liked the fuzzy black that surrounds the screen. Great job.

okoto says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:55am

The game has a very good harmony between all the gameplay elements in general.

danieldsj says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:27am

The mechanics for this games feels a lot like my own submission. The graphics and story seems a bit more cohesive. Great mood.

RttStudio says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Really like the art style, cool game. :) would like to see more!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:49pm

The gameplay is really fluid, simple and satisfying.
Also loved the pixelart and the mood of it, good job!

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:12pm

1137, cool game ! first time i play it made think about a snowboard game ^^

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Realy liked the gameplay and movement felt good, nice entry.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Very dynamic game with nice graphic style.

Szabin says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Gorgeous game! Maybe a floor/grassy ground could fit the ruins a bit better.
I also it's fast pace! :D
A 32 bit release wouldn't hurt.
But bravo!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:44am

Very cool art style!

TheCain says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:21am

Beautiful game, but the shapeshift mechanic was not made clear.

Uson Chen says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:47am

Increase power by running is so creative ! Transform to attack just hits the theme. Good art.

May 4, 2016 @ 7:32pm

FUn little idea, and it felt really smooth

syst3m_ERROR says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Cute game! Though it gets a little repetitive, I wish there was more of a story as to what is going on in the game, though.

Larzan says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:50pm

I don't know what i am doing, but it looks great :)

abcdef65g says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:45am

Very smooth controls and camera work, and engrossing and satisfying gameplay. I really like it! Graphics were simple but well done too, loved the details and the animation. But it really, really lacks something that hints at progression, such as upgrade shops or leveling up, to make you feel like you're going somewhere by surviving longer. Still, excellent job!

As a side note, the WebGL build is very heavy. Surprisingly heavier than the one on our game glEscape(), which was already heavy in my book. I'd advise checking if you really need it to be so big or to allocate so much memory!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]